在今天的VETgirl在线兽医继续教育 新闻,我们在一个由两部分组成的博客中回顾了猫尿道梗阻 (FUO)。 FUO 是一种常见于全科医生和急诊医生的疾病。 在今天的第 2 部分中,我们回顾了整体治疗,包括 FUO 患者的液体治疗、紧急药物治疗、镇静和疏通。

疗程
FUO 患者的治疗旨在积极的液体治疗,缓解 梗阻、紧急药物治疗(例如,用于治疗电解质异常)、对症支持治疗、镇痛、抗痉挛药(如有必要)、客户教育和监测。

液体疗法
在 FUO 患者中,需要积极的静脉 (IV) 液体治疗,因为许多患者通常有严重的梗阻后利尿(即 > 2 ml/kg/小时),并且可能出现脱水和氮质血症。 在一项研究中,发现几乎 50% 的猫在住院的前 6 小时内出现梗阻后利尿(Francis,2010); 这更可能发生在 pH < 7.35(例如,代谢性酸中毒)的患者中。 可以在第一个小时内给予具有平衡、缓冲等渗晶体(例如,Norm-R、LRS、Plasmalyte 等)* 的初始液体推注,剂量为 20-30 ml/kg,以帮助增加灌注并帮助纠正氮质血症和电解质异常。 这可以在镇静和解除阻塞过程中启动,并且不需要“等待”直到执行解除阻塞。 在尿路梗阻缓解后,液体应维持在 2.5-5X 维持。 作者通常对 FUO 患者使用 50-60 毫升/猫/小时,直到患者水合且尿液清澈为止。

*注意:使用 0.9% 生理盐水并未显示出改变这些危重患者高钾血症的结果或解决方案(Drobatz 2008); 由于这种流体不含缓冲液,作者更喜欢缓冲等渗溶液。

应仔细评估患者以确保不会发生容量超负荷,尤其是患有心肺疾病(如奔马、杂音等)的患者。 液体治疗应持续到氮质血症和临床症状消退(通常 2-4 天); 静脉输液应该慢慢减少,以确保氮质血症和多尿症已经解决,患者可以保持水合作用。 由于这些猫会发生严重的梗阻后利尿,因此应通过监测来龙去脉来仔细匹配液体疗法。 应仔细监测尿量 (UOP),尤其是在有 FUO 的氮质血症患者中。

紧急药物治疗(如高钾血症)
对于危重FUO患者(如心动过缓、迟钝、低血压),应优先治疗危及生命的高钾血症。 作者更喜欢使用 10% 葡萄糖酸钙(50-100 mg/kg,IV 缓慢超过 10-15 分钟),以帮助提高严重高钾血症的阈电位(因为高钾血症会降低阈电位)。 请注意,钙不能直接治疗高钾血症。 高钾血症会降低静息电位,使其负电位降低(最初使细胞过度兴奋)(Dibartola,参见下面的图 1)。 钙的给药通过增加正常阈值膜电位起作用,从而使两种电位之间的差异正常化并提供心脏保护作用。

Dibartola 关于电解质对动作电位影响的液体疗法图表

图 1. Dibartola 关于电解质对动作电位影响的液体疗法图表。 图片来自 Dibartola SP,钾障碍。 在小动物实践中的流体治疗,2000。

或者,对于严重的高钾血症和代谢性酸中毒,可以考虑使用碳酸氢钠(1-2 mEq/L,静脉注射缓慢超过 15-30 分钟)。 虽然可以考虑胰岛素:葡萄糖联合给药,但作者不常规使用这种方法,因为之后数小时内可以看到严重的持续性低血糖(和二次葡萄糖给药)(由于频繁监测血糖,间接增加了住院费用) )。 这是基于个体临床医生的偏好。 一旦开始这些治疗,临床医生应专注于缓解尿路梗阻。

镇静
镇静方案应基于患者的稳定性、电解质异常的严重程度和临床症状的严重程度(例如,心动过缓、昏迷、迟钝等)。 理想情况下,镇静方案应该是快速起效的、可逆的和心血管保护的。 在典型的、稳定的 FUO 病例中,作者倾向于使用镇静剂来解除阻塞(剂量按猫的总剂量列出):

• 布托啡诺:每只猫 IV 总量为 4 毫克
• 地西泮:每只猫静脉注射总量为 2.5 毫克
• 氯胺酮:每只猫静脉注射总量 10 毫克

在重病、迟钝的 FUO 病例中,可能需要很少的镇静剂(如果有的话)。 在需要最低限度镇静的危重病例中,作者更喜欢(剂量按猫总剂量列出):

• 布托啡诺:每只猫 IV 总量为 2 毫克
• 地西泮:每只猫静脉注射总量为 1.25 毫克

缓解尿路梗阻
尿路梗阻的缓解取决于临床医生的偏好。 作者最初更喜欢使用Tomcat无菌聚丙烯导管,其次是3.5至5法国红橡胶导管。 虽然有多种导管类型可供选择(例如,刚性橄榄尖、Slippery Sam、MILA 等),但作者建议使用柔软、柔韧且无创伤的导管。 应使用封闭的收集系统来防止上行感染。 应尽可能使用无菌技术。 为了减轻阻塞,润滑的导尿管应该很好地插入阴茎尖端,确保向尾部拉包皮以拉直阴茎弯曲并帮助通过导尿管。 应使用装有生理盐水的无菌注射器大量冲洗尿道,目的是去除尿道中的阻塞物质(例如,晶体、血块、细胞碎片、结石等)(或回到尿道中)。膀胱或顺行出尿道尖端)。 作者倾向于在移除临时导尿管时积极冲洗,然后立即放置更长的留置导尿管(例如,红色橡胶、Slippery Sam)。 应立即缝合导管(例如,中国手指陷阱等)并大量冲洗膀胱。

在此视频中,您可以查看我们放置 猫中的 MILA 导尿管.

镇痛
FUO 患者可以考虑使用尾骨块。 这将为会阴区域提供大约 1 小时的镇痛。 硬膜外麻醉和尾骨阻滞使我们能够在不影响运动功能的情况下提供镇痛。 有关如何执行尾骨阻滞的分步过程,请参阅以下读者:

https://vetgirlontherun.com/veterinary-continuing-education-coccygeal-epidurals-feline-urethral-obstruction-vetgirl-blog/

当导尿管就位时,应继续进行额外的镇痛治疗(例如,丁丙诺啡 11-22 mcg/kg,IV q 6 或 Simbadol™ 形式的长效丁丙诺啡)。 作者通常以瘦体重或标记剂量的一半(例如,每天一次 0.12 mg/kg SQ,连续 3 天)服用辛巴多。 乙酰丙嗪 (0.005-0.01 mg/kg, IV) 也可用作抗焦虑药和帮助治疗尿道痉挛(更多信息见下文“抗痉挛药”)。
对症支持治疗

FUO 的额外治疗包括:

• 护理
• 监控 UCS(例如,UOP,进出)
• 电子领放置
• 血压监测
• 水合状态评估
• 营养支持(例如,应随时提供水,作者更喜欢在住院期间喂食稀饭罐头以帮助增加水的摄入量)
• 对症支持治疗
• 每日肾脏检查(例如,电解质、BUN、肌酐、PCV/TS)

一旦患者不再有氮质血症,患者体内水分充足,并且尿液似乎变清了(例如,没有明显的凝块、碎片、晶体、红细胞等),就可以移除导尿管(通常为 24-72放置后数小时)。 作者通常在取出导尿管时冲洗导尿管以帮助清理尿道。 在 UCS 移除后应监测患者数小时,以确保在出院前有足够的排尿。

抗生素
对置管 FUO 患者使用预防性抗生素存在争议; 由于存在引起耐药性更强的尿路感染或导致肾盂肾炎的风险,作者不喜欢在患者留置 UCS 时使用抗生素。 也就是说,尽管我们尽最大努力使用无菌技术,但医源性感染仍可能是导管插入术的直接后果。 理想情况下,一旦导管被移除(或等待尿液或导管尖端培养),抗生素的使用应限制在患者身上。 也就是说,如果出现感染迹象(例如,发烧、脓尿、菌尿等)、肾痛或败血症,应采集尿液样本进行培养并立即启动抗生素(Lane 2012)。

抗痉挛药
使用平滑肌松弛剂[例如哌唑嗪(0.25-1 mg/cat PO q 8-12 X 3-10 天)或苯氧苯甲胺(2.5-7.5 mg/cat PO q 12-24 小时 X 3-10 天)]或横纹肌松弛剂(例如地西泮,0.1-0.2 mg/kg IV q. 8-12)可用于尿道痉挛的猫; 理想情况下,不应在猫中使用口服地西泮,因为给药时存在急性肝坏死的罕见风险(然而,静脉给药非常安全)。 注意:在作者看来,使用非常紧密的导尿管可能会导致尿道痉挛。

减压性膀胱穿刺术 (DC)
Copper 等人先前发表了使用减压膀胱穿刺术以及“无压力”环境(例如,暗室、镇静)作为治疗 FUO 患者的一种手段。 笔者认为,常规镇静、导尿和缓解梗阻仍是关键。 虽然 Hall 等人已经证明在 FUO 中使用 DC 是安全的,但随后应放置留置导尿管、住院和支持治疗。 理想情况下,由于存在尿腹膜和腹腔积血的风险,不应将 DC 用作单独治疗 FUO 的猫。

长期管理
应就复发风险、潜在手术或营养管理的必要性、垃圾箱管理(例如,n+1 垃圾箱、每日舀取、结块垃圾等)、手术矫正的可能性(例如,膀胱切开术、会阴尿道造口术等)、饮食改变(例如,罐头粥)和生活方式的改变(例如,最小压力等)。 应彻底评估患者是否存在尿石或晶体,并进行适当管理。

解锁提示:

• 确保在导管插入前适当镇静,因为足够的镇静将使您的疏通更顺利(并且创伤更小!)
• 如果患者难以解除阻塞,在极少数情况下,可能需要进行减压膀胱穿刺术。 这可能有助于缓解泌尿道的背压。
• 与FUO 进行适当的客户沟通是必要的。 在解除阻塞之前,应与主人讨论镇静风险、膀胱破裂风险或尿道撕裂或受伤风险。

版权所有 VETgirl,2016。

参考资料:

  • 李 JA,德罗巴茨 KJ。 尿道梗阻公猫的临床特征、电解质、酸碱度和肾脏参数的表征。 J Vet Emerg Crit Care 2003;13(4):227-33。
  • 雷内克 EL。 猫尿道梗阻:紧急治疗和稳定。 2013 年西方兽医会议,论文集。
  • 车道IF。 猫尿道梗阻的常见挑战。 2012 年西方兽医会议,论文集。
  • Francis BJ、Wells RJ、Rao S 等。 回顾性研究以表征患有尿道梗阻的猫的梗阻后利尿。 J Feline Med Surg 2010;12:606-608。
  • Drobatz KJ,Cole S。晶体类型对尿道梗阻猫酸碱和电解质状态的影响。 J Vet Emerg Crit Care 2008;18(4):355-61。
  • Cooper ES、Owens TJ、Chew DJ 等。 一种无需导尿的雄性猫尿道梗阻治疗方案。 JAVMA 2010;237(11):1261-1266。
  • Hall J、Hall K、Powell L、Lulich J。通过减压膀胱穿刺术和导尿管治疗尿道梗阻的雄性猫的结果:47 只猫。 JVECC 2015;25(2):256-262。

注意:如有疑问,应确认所有药物剂量并与参考指南(如 Plumb 的兽药手册)进行交叉参考。

只有 VETgirl 成员可以发表评论。 登陆 or 加入VETgirl 现在!

Vet Girl  VETgirl Blog

Feline urethral obstruction: Part 2 | VETgirl Veterinary Continuing Education Blog

In today's VETgirl online veterinary continuing education blog, we review feline urethral obstruction (FUO) in a 2-part blog. FUO is a common disorder presenting to both the general practitioner and the emergency clinician. In Part 2 today, we review overall treatment, including fluid therapy, emergency drug therapy, sedation and unblocking of the FUO patient.

Treatment
Treatment of the FUO patient is aimed towards aggressive fluid therapy, alleviation of obstruction, emergency drug therapy (e.g., for treatment of electrolyte abnormalities), symptomatic supportive care, analgesia, anti-spasmotics (if necessary), client education, and monitoring.

Fluid therapy
In the FUO patient, aggressive intravenous (IV) fluid therapy is indicated as many patients often have a profound post-obstructive diuresis (i.e., > 2 ml/kg/hour) and may present dehydrated and azotemic. In one study, almost 50% of cats were found to have a post-obstructive diuresis within the first 6 hours of hospitalization (Francis, 2010); this was more likely to develop in patients with a pH < 7.35 (e.g., metabolic acidosis). An initial fluid bolus with a balanced, buffered isotonic crystalloid (e.g., Norm-R, LRS, Plasmalyte, etc.)* at 20-30 ml/kg can be administered over the first hour to help increase perfusion and aid in correction of azotemia and electrolyte abnormalities. This can be initiated during the sedation and unblocking process, and does not need to “wait” until the unblocking has been performed. Following alleviation of the urinary obstruction, fluids should be maintained at 2.5-5X maintenance. The author typically uses 50-60 mls/cat/hour for the FUO patient until the patient is hydrated and the urine is clear.

*NOTE: The use of 0.9% saline has not been shown change the outcome or resolution of hyperkalemia in these critically ill patients (Drobatz 2008); as this fluid does not contain a buffer, the author prefers a buffered isotonic solution instead.

The patient should be assessed carefully to ensure that volume overload does not occur, particularly in patients with cardiopulmonary disease (e.g., gallop, murmur, etc.). Fluid therapy should be continued until azotemia and clinical signs resolve (typically 2-4 days); IV fluids should then be slowly tapered to ensure that the azotemia and polyuria has resolved and the patient can maintain hydration. Due to the severe post-obstructive diuresis that occurs in these cats, fluid therapy should be carefully matched by monitoring ins and outs. Urine output (UOP) should be monitored carefully, particularly in azotemic patients with FUO.

Emergency drug therapy (e.g., hyperkalemia)
For the critically ill FUO patient (e.g., bradycardiac, obtunded, hypotensive), priority should be aimed at treating the life-threatening hyperkalemia. The author prefers the use of calcium gluconate 10% (50-100 mg/kg, IV slow over 10-15 minutes) to help increase the threshold potential (as hyperkalemia lowers the threshold potential) for severe hyperkalemia. Note that calcium does not directly treat the hyperkalemia. Hyperkalemia decreases the resting potential, making it less negative (initially making the cells more hyperexcitable) (Dibartola, see Figure 1 below). The administration of calcium works by increasing the normal threshold membrane potential, thereby normalizing the difference between the two potentials and providing a cardioprotective effect.

Dibartola's Fluid Therapy chart on the effect of electrolytes on the action potential

Figure 1. Dibartola's Fluid Therapy chart on the effect of electrolytes on the action potential. Image from Dibartola SP, Disorders of potassium. In Fluid Therapy in Small Animal Practice, 2000.

Alternatively, the use of sodium bicarbonate (1-2 mEq/L, IV slow over 15-30 minutes) can be considered for severe hyperkalemia and metabolic acidosis. While the combined administration of insulin:dextrose can be considered, the author does not routinely use this method, as profound persistent hypoglycemia (and secondary dextrose administration) can be seen for hours afterwards (which indirectly increases cost of hospitalization due to frequent blood glucose monitoring). This is based on individual clinician preference. Once these treatments have been initiated, the clinician should focus on relieving the urinary obstruction.

Sedation
Sedation protocols should be based on the stability of the patient, the severity of electrolyte abnormalities, and the severity of clinical signs (e.g., bradycardiac, comatosed, obtunded, etc.). Ideally, sedation protocols should be quick acting, reversible, and cardiovascularly-sparing. The author’s preference for sedation for unblocking in a typical, stable FUO case is (Dosages are listed as total cat doses):

• Butorphanol: 4 mg IV total per cat
• Diazepam: 2.5 mg IV total per cat
• Ketamine: 10 mg IV total per cat

In the critically ill, obtunded FUO case, very little sedation – if any at all – may be necessary. In critically ill cases requiring minimal sedation, the author prefers (Dosages are listed as total cat doses):

• Butorphanol: 2 mg IV total per cat
• Diazepam: 1.25 mg IV total per cat

Alleviation of urinary obstruction
Alleviation of the urinary obstruction is dependent on clinician preference. The author prefers using a Tomcat sterile polypropylene catheter initially, followed by a 3.5 to 5 French red rubber catheter. While a variety of catheter types are available (e.g., rigid olive tip, Slippery Sam, MILA, etc.), the author recommends using ones are soft, pliable, and atraumatic. A closed collection system should be used to prevent ascending infection. Aseptic technique should be used as best as possible. In order to alleviate the obstruction, the lubricated urinary catheter should be well seated into the tip of the penis, making sure to pull the prepuce caudally to straighten the penile flexure and aid in passing the urinary catheter. A sterile syringe with saline should be used to copiously flush the urethra, with the goal to dislodge and flush the obstructing materials (e.g., crystals, blood clots, cellular debris, calculi, etc.) out of the urethra (either back into the urinary bladder or antegrade out of the tip of the urethra). The author prefers to flush aggressively as the temporary catheter is removed, followed by immediate placement of a longer indwelling urinary catheter (e.g., red rubber, Slippery Sam). The catheter should be sutured in immediately (e.g., Chinese finger trap, etc.) and the bladder copiously flushed.

In this video here, you can view us placing a MILA urinary catheter in a cat.

Analgesia
The use of coccygeal blocks can be considered for the FUO patient. This will provide analgesia to the perineal region for approximately 1 hour. Epidurals and coccygeal blocks allow us to provide analgesia without affecting motor function. For a step-by-step procedure of how to perform a coccygeal block, the readers are referred to:

http://vetgirlontherun.com/veterinary-continuing-education-coccygeal-epidurals-feline-urethral-obstruction-vetgirl-blog/

Additional analgesic therapy (e.g., buprenorphine 11-22 mcg/kg, IV q 6 OR long-acting buprenorphine in the form of Simbadol™) should be continued while the urinary catheter is in place. The author typically doses Simbadol on lean body weight or at half the labeled dose (e.g., 0.12 mg/kg SQ once a day for 3 days). The use of acepromazine (0.005-0.01 mg/kg, IV) can also be used as an anxiolytic and to aid with urethral spasms (See “anti-spasmotics” below for more information).
Symptomatic supportive care

Additional treatment of the FUO includes:

• Nursing care
• Monitoring of the UCS (e.g., UOP, ins and outs)
• E-collar placement
• Blood pressure monitoring
• Evaluation of hydration status
• Nutritional support (e.g., water should be available at all times, and the author prefers to feed a grueled canned food while hospitalized to help increase water intake)
• Symptomatic supportive care
• Daily renal panel (e.g., electrolytes, BUN, creatinine, PCV/TS)

Once the patient is no longer azotemic, the patient is hydrated, and the urine appears to be clearing up (e.g., free of gross clots, debris, crystals, RBC, etc.), the urinary catheter can be removed (typically 24-72 hours after placement). The author typically flushes the urinary catheter while removing it to help clear the urethra. The patient should be monitored for several hours after UCS removal to ensure adequate urination prior to discharge.

Antibiotics
The use of prophylactic antibiotics for the catheterized FUO patient is debated; the author prefers not to antibiotics while the patient has an indwelling UCS due to the risk of causing a more resistant urinary tract infection or contributing to pyelonephritis. That said, iatrogenic infection can develop as a direct consequence of catheterization, despite our best attempts to use aseptic technique. Ideally, the use of antibiotics should be limited for use in the patient once the catheter has been removed (or pending urine or catheter tip culture). That said, if signs of infection (e.g., fever, pyruria, bacteriuria, etc.), renal pain, or sepsis are present, a urine sample should be obtained for culture and antibiotics initiated promptly (Lane 2012).

Anti-spasmotics
The use of smooth muscle relaxants [such as prazosin (0.25-1 mg/cat PO q 8-12 X 3-10 days) or phenoxybenzamine (2.5-7.5 mg/cat PO q 12-24 hours X 3-10 days)] or striated muscle relaxants (e.g., diazepam, 0.1-0.2 mg/kg IV q. 8-12) can be used in cats with urethral spasming; ideally, oral diazepam should not be used in cats due to the rare risks of acute hepatic necrosis with dosing (intravenous administration is very safe, however). NOTE: The use of very tight-fitting urinary catheters may result in urethral spasming, in the author’s opinion.

Decompressive cystocentesis (DC)
Copper et al have previously published the use of decompressive cystocentesis, along with a “stress-free” environment (e.g., dark room, sedation) as a means of treating the FUO patient. In the author’s opinion, routine sedation, catheterization and alleviation of the obstruction is still key. While Hall et al have shown that the use of DC is safe in the FUO, it should be followed by placement of an indwelling urinary catheter, hospitalization and supportive care. Ideally, the use of DC should not be used as a solitary treatment for cats with FUO due to risk of uroperitoneum and hemoperitoneum.

Long-term management
Owners should be educated on the risk of reoccurrence, the need for potential surgery or nutritional management, litter box husbandry (e.g., n+1 litter boxes, daily scooping, clumping litter, etc.), potential for surgical correction (e.g., cystotomy, perineal urethrostomy, etc.), dietary changes (e.g., to grueled canned food) and lifestyle changes (e.g., minimal stress, etc.). Patients should be thoroughly evaluated for presence of uroliths or crystals, and managed appropriately.

Tips on unblocking:

• Make sure to appropriately sedate prior to catheterization, as adequate sedation will make your unblocking go more smoothly (and less traumatically!)
• Rarely, decompressive cystocentesis may be necessary if the patient is difficult to unblock. This may help relieve backpressure in the urinary tract.
• Appropriate client communication is imperative with FUO. Risks of sedation, risk of bladder rupture, or risk of urethral tear or injury should be discussed with the owner prior to unblocking.

Copyright Justine Lee Veterinary Consulting, LLC, 2016.

References:

  • Lee JA, Drobatz KJ. Characterization of the clinical characteristics, electrolytes, acid-base and renal parameters in male cats with urethral obstruction. J Vet Emerg Crit Care 2003;13(4): 227–33.
  • Reineke EL. Feline urethral obstruction: Emergency treatment and stabilization. Western Veterinary Conference 2013, Proceedings.
  • Lane IF. Common challenges in feline urethral obstruction. Western Veterinary Conference 2012, Proceedings.
  • Francis BJ, Wells RJ, Rao S, et al. Retrospective study to characterize postobstructive diuresis in cats with urethral obstruction. J Feline Med Surg 2010;12:606-608.
  • Drobatz KJ, Cole S. The influence of crystalloid type on acid-base and electrolyte status of cats with urethral obstruction. J Vet Emerg Crit Care 2008;18(4): 355–61.
  • Cooper ES, Owens TJ, Chew DJ et al. A protocol for managing urethral obstruction in male cats without urethral catheterization. JAVMA 2010;237(11):1261-1266.
  • Hall J, Hall K, Powell L, Lulich J. Outcome of male cats managed for urethral obstruction with decompressive cystocentesis and urinary catheterization: 47 cats. JVECC 2015;25(2):256-262.

NOTE: When in doubt, all drug dosages should be confirmed and cross-referenced with a reference guide such as Plumb’s Veterinary Drug Handbook.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

From our Customers