在今天 职业女孩 在线兽医继续教育 新闻,我们讨论了犬免疫介导的血小板减少症 (ITP) 的治疗。 您治疗过原发性 ITP 患者吗? 您是单独使用类固醇,还是尝试与长春新碱或人静脉注射免疫球蛋白 (hIVIG) 联合治疗? 嗯,虽然用免疫抑制剂量的糖皮质激素治疗是 初始 选择治疗,大多数患者在开始治疗后 1-15 天内血小板会恢复,添加长春新碱或 hIVIG 治疗已被证明可缩短血小板恢复时间。 在一些同行评审的科学兽医前瞻性研究中,单独使用泼尼松与泼尼松和长春新碱相比,或单独使用泼尼松与泼尼松和 hIVIG 治疗患有严重 ITP 的狗,两种联合疗法都导致血小板数量增加更快,住院时间更短。 然而,迄今为止,还没有任何研究将长春新碱与 hIVIG 作为辅助治疗的疗效进行对比。 这很重要,因为 hIVIG 的价格要贵得多,而且将其提供给您的患者比给予长春新碱更耗时且更具挑战性。

所以 Balog 等人出 普渡大学佐治亚大学 想要查看除糖皮质激素标准治疗外,用长春新碱或 hIVIG 治疗的严重 ITP 犬的血小板恢复时间、住院时间、输血要求、不良反应和长期结果。 他们将严重 ITP 定义为血小板计数 < 16,000/uL 并且没有继发性 ITP 的潜在原因。 在这项针对患有原发性 ITP 的客户拥有的狗的前瞻性随机研究中,他们将 25 只狗纳入研究,但最终有 5 只被排除在外,因此每组总共随机分配 10 只狗。 所有的狗都用糖皮质激素治疗(例如,泼尼松 1.5-2 mg/kg PO Q12 或地塞米松 0.2-0.3 mg/kg SQ 或 IV q24); 然后他们随机接受 hIVIG(0.5 g/kg IV 作为 CRI 超过 6-12 小时)或长春新碱(0.02 mg/kg IV bolus)。 两组之间在年龄、性别、体重、初始血小板计数、BUN 或其他临床病理数据方面没有差异。 主诉包括瘀点/瘀斑(8 只狗)、黑便(6)、口腔出血(6)、嗜睡(4)、皮肤出血(3)、食欲下降(3)、鼻衄(2)、呕血(2)、便血(2)、血尿(1)、呕吐(1)、腹泻(1)、咳嗽(1)、前房积血引起的急性失明(1)。

入院时,所有狗的血小板计数中位数为 1000/uL(范围 0-16,000/uL)。 11 只狗在入院时也贫血。 两组的中位血小板恢复时间为 2.5 天,hIVIG 组的中位住院时间为 5 天,长春新碱组的中位住院时间为 4 天。 hIVIG 组中有 7/10 (70%) 的狗和长春新碱组中有 10/10 (100%) 的狗存活出院。 总体而言,hIVIG 组的平均治疗成本(4108 美元)显着高于长春新碱组(2426 美元)(P<0.001),这可能是由于 hIVIG 的成本。 hIVIG 组中 7/10 (70%) 的狗和长春新碱组中 6/10 (60%) 的狗接受了输血; 各组之间的输血需求没有显着差异。 如果 7 天后血小板计数没有改善或变化,则在本研究中启动救援方案,其中患者接受替代研究药物和硫唑嘌呤(2 mg/kg PO q24)——这对 2 只狗是必要的在 hIVIG 组中。 这两条狗都活了下来,出院了。 在 6 个月后的随访中,52.6% (10/19) 的狗死亡(hIVIG 组为 7/9,长春新碱组为 3/10)。 在 1 年的随访中,11 只狗死亡(例如,来自 hIVIG 组的 7/9 和来自长春新碱组的 4/10)。

那么,我们可以从这个 VETgirl 播客中学到什么? 这项研究表明,在患有严重 ITP 的狗中,除了糖皮质激素之外,用 hIVIG 或长春新碱作为辅助治疗时,结果没有差异。 由于长春新碱更便宜、更容易获得且更易于给药,因此应将其用作糖皮质激素的一线治疗,以治疗重度 ITP。 虽然这项研究是一项小型前瞻性研究,但效果很好,检测组间差异的能力很小,这可能就是为什么我们没有看到出院生存率或 1 年生存率存在统计学显着差异的原因。 然而,当查看这些狗的长期结果(1 年)时,令人沮丧——一定要教育你的宠物主人关于严重 ITP 的不良长期结果! 总之,当治疗患有严重 ITP 的狗并试图在长春新碱和 hIVIG 之间做出决定作为辅助治疗时,建议使用长春新碱,因为除了同样有效之外,它更容易给药、更便宜且更容易获得。

参考文献:
1. Balog K, Huang AA, Sum SO 等。 长春新碱与人静脉注射免疫球蛋白用于犬推定原发性免疫介导的血小板减少症的急性辅助治疗的前瞻性随机临床试验。 J 兽医国际医学 2013;27(3):536-541.

缩略语a:
ITP:免疫介导的血小板减少症
hIVIG:人静脉内免疫球蛋白

只有 VETgirl 成员可以发表评论。 登陆 or 加入VETgirl 现在!

Vet Girl  VETgirl Blog

Treating the ITP patient with vincristine versus human IVIG | VETgirl Veterinary Continuing Education Blog

In today's VETgirl online veterinary continuing education blog, we discuss treatment for immune-mediated thrombocytopenia (ITP) in dogs. Have you treated a patient with primary ITP? Did you use steroids alone, or did you try combination therapy with vincristine or human intravenous immunoglobulin (hIVIG)? Well, while treatment with immunosuppressive doses of glucocorticoids is the initial treatment of choice, and most patients will have platelet recovery within 1-15 days of starting treatment, adding treatment with vincristine or hIVIG has been shown to shorten platelet recovery time. In some peer-reviewed, scientific veterinary prospective studies, dogs with severe ITP treated with prednisone alone versus prednisone and vincristine, or prednisone alone versus prednisone and hIVIG, both combination therapies resulted in faster increases in platelet numbers and shorter durations of hospitalization. To date, though, there haven’t been any studies looking at the efficacy of vincristine versus hIVIG as adjunctive treatments. This is important because hIVIG is much more expensive, and giving it to your patient is more time consuming and challenging that giving vincristine.

So Balog et al out of Purdue University and University of Georgia wanted to look at platelet recovery time, duration of hospitalization, transfusion requirements, adverse effects and long-term outcome in dogs with severe ITP treated with either vincristine or hIVIG in addition to standard therapy with glucocorticoids. They defined severe ITP as a platelet count < 16,000/uL and no potential causes of secondary ITP. In this prospective, randomized study of client-owned dogs with primary ITP, they enrolled 25 dogs into the study, but 5 ended up being excluded, so a total of 10 dogs were randomly assigned to each group. All of the dogs were treated with glucocorticoids (e.g., prednisone at 1.5-2 mg/kg PO Q12 or dexamethasone 0.2-0.3 mg/kg SQ or IV q24); they were then randomized to receive either hIVIG (0.5 g/kg IV as a CRI over 6-12 hours) or vincristine (0.02 mg/kg IV bolus). There were no differences in age, sex, weight, initial platelet count, BUN or other clinicopathologic data between the two groups. Presenting complaints included petechiae/ecchymoses (8 dogs), melena (6), oral bleeding (6), lethargy (4), cutaneous bleeding (3), decreased appetite (3), epistaxis (2), hematemesis (2), hematochezia (2), hematuria (1), vomiting (1), diarrhea (1), coughing (1) and acute blindness due to hyphema (1).

On admission, the median platelet count for all dogs was 1000/uL (range 0-16,000/uL). 11 dogs were also anemic on admission. The median platelet recovery time was 2.5 days for both groups, with a median hospitalization time of 5 days for the hIVIG group and 4 days for the vincristine group of dogs. 7/10 (70%) of dogs in the hIVIG group and 10/10 (100%) dogs in the vincristine group survived to discharge. Overall, the mean cost of treatment was significantly higher in the hIVIG group ($4108) as compared to the vincristine group ($2426) (P<0.001), which may be due to the cost of hIVIG. 7/10 (70%) of the dogs in the hIVIG group and 6/10 (60%) of the dogs in the vincristine group received transfusions; transfusion requirements were not significantly different between groups. Rescue protocol was initiated in this study if there was no improvement or change in the platelet count after 7 days, of which patients were given the alternative study drug and azathioprine (2 mg/kg PO q24) - this was necessary in 2 dogs that were in the hIVIG group. Both of these dogs survived to discharge. At follow up 6 months later, 52.6% (10/19) of the dogs had died (7/9 from hIVIG group and 3/10 from the vincristine group). At 1 year follow up, 11 dogs had died (e.g., 7/9 from hIVIG group, and 4/10 from the vincristine group).

So, what can we take away from this VETgirl podcast? This study suggests that in dogs with severe ITP, there is no difference in outcome when they are treated with either hIVIG or vincristine as an adjunctive treatment in addition to glucocorticoids. Since vincristine is less expensive, more readily available and easier to administer, it should be used as first line therapy with glucocorticoids for the management of severe ITP. While this study was a small prospective, it was well, and the power to detect a difference among the groups was small, which might be why we didn’t see statistically significant differences in survival to discharge or 1-year survival. However, when looking at the long term outcome in these dogs (1 year out), it's depressing - make sure to educate your pet owners on the poor long term outcome with severe ITP! In conclusion, when treating a dog with severe ITP and trying to decide between vincristine and hIVIG as an adjunctive treatment, vincristine is recommended because in addition to being just as effective, it is easier to give, less expensive and more readily available.

References:
1. Balog K, Huang AA, Sum SO et al. A prospective randomized clinical trial of vincristine versus human intravenous immunoglobulin for acute adjunctive management of presumptive primary immune-mediated thrombocytopenia in dogs. J Vet Int Med 2013;27(3):536-541.

Abbreviationsa:
ITP: immune-mediated thrombocytopenia
hIVIG: human intravenous immunoglobulin

One thought on “Treating the ITP patient with vincristine versus human IVIG | VETgirl Veterinary Continuing Education Blog

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

From our Customers