2017 Real-Life Rounds

2017 VETgirl Real-Life Rounds

Looking for more veterinary continuing education?

VETgirl understands that ivory tower medicine is not available to most, and not necessary for many. We practice real-life medicine. We offer no heroic proclamations, drama, or even a fancy PowerPoint with animation. Practicing real life medicine is tough and we understand that we are all in the trenches together. For VETgirl ELITE members only, we present VETgirl Real-Life Rounds, an online veterinary rounds review with board-certified veterinary specialists.

Real-Life rounds will be a webcam-based, interactive session where VETgirl ELITE members will have the opportunity to interact with specialists during an informal, "cage-side" 30-60 minute rounds on specific topics.

Justine_Lee_Rounding_Kilimanjaro

Dr. Justine Lee rounding with a group of veterinarians at the base of Kilimanjaro with International Veterinary Seminars

While these rounds aren't quite as casual as above (e.g., at the base of Kilimanjaro in camping gear), it's a great way of being able to learn! NOTE: We just got RACE-approved for these sessions, so make sure to take your CE quiz and get your CE certificate (NON-INTERACTIVE) under "My Account."

This is only available VETgirl ELITE members. Simply follow these instructions to attend the LIVE rounds (they will be archived for viewing later as well):

  • Click on the title of the rounds below, which will take you to the specific rounds page.
  • Once on the rounds page, click on the ("CLICK HERE") to register. 
  • Once you are registered, you'll get a confirmation email from GoToWebinar for the rounds.

The #1 Veterinary CE resource for busy veterinarians...

January 2017
Topic: Interventional Radiology: How do we apply it to real-life veterinary medicine?
Speaker: Dr. Dana Clark, DACVECC
Date: Tuesday, January 17, 2017
Time: 8pm EST (7pm EST, 6pm MST)
Total RACE-approved hours: 0.5 hours
Program #: 785-27952

February 2017
Topic: Calculating CRI's in the ICU
Speaker: Dr. Garret Pachtinger, DACVECC
Date: Sunday, February 19, 2017
Time: 9pm EST (8pm CST, 7 pm MST)
Total RACE-approved hours: 0.5 hours
Program #: 785-27952

March 2017
Topic: All you need to know about activated charcoal
Speaker: Dr. Justine Lee, DACVECC, DABT
Date: Sunday, March 19, 2017
Time: 7pm EST (6 pm CST, 5 pm MST)
Total RACE-approved hours: 0.5 hours
Program #: 785-27952

May 2017
Topic: Advanced Vascular Access - Intraosseous Catheters
Speaker: Kenichiro Yagi, BS, RVT, VTS (ECC & SAIM)
Date: Sunday, May 28, 2017
Time: 9-9:30pm EST (8-8:30pm CST, 7-7:30pm MST, 6-6:30pm PST)
Total RACE-approved hours: 0.5 hours
Program #: 785-29030

June 2017
Topic: Marijuana toxicosis
Speaker: Dr. Justine Lee, DACVECC, DABT
Date: Sunday, June 11, 2017
Time: 9-9:30pm EST (8-8:30pm CST, 7-7:30pm MST, 6-6:30pm PST)
Total RACE-approved hours: 0.5 hours
Program #: 785-29030

July 2017
Topic: Advanced Vascular Access - Central Lines and Sampling Catheters
Speaker: Kenichiro Yagi, BS, RVT, VTS (ECC & SAIM)
Date: Sunday, July 30, 2017
Time: 9-9:30pm EST (8-8:30pm CST, 7-7:30pm MST, 6-6:30pm PST)
Total RACE-approved hours: 0.5 hours
Program #: 785-29030

August 2017
Topic: Caring for the Hospitalized Senior Pet
Speaker: Amy Newfield, CVT, VTS (ECC)
Date: Tuesday, August 8, 2017
Time: 9-9:30pm EST (8-8:30pm CST, 7-7:30pm MST, 6-6:30pm PST)
Total RACE-approved hours: 0.5 hours
Program #: 785-29984

September 2017
Topic: Approach to the HBC patient
Speaker: Dr. Justine Lee, DACVECC, DABT
Date: Sunday, September 3, 2017
Time: 9-9:30pm (8-8:30pm CST, 7-7:30pm EMT, 6-6:30pm PST)
Total RACE-approved hours: 0.5 hours
Program #: 785-29984

October 2017
Topic: Triage For Technicians: How to handle the surprise visit
Speaker: Amy Newfield, CVT, VTS (ECC)
Date: Sunday, October 22, 2017
Time: 9-9:30pm EST (8-8:30pm CST, 7-7:30pm MST, 6-6:30pm PST)
Total RACE-approved hours: 0.5 hours
Program #: 785-29984

November 2017
Topic: Down and dirty of dystocia
Speaker: Dr. Garret Pachtinger, DACVECC
Date: Wednesday, November 22, 2017
Time: 8-8:30pm EST (7-7:30pm CST, 6-6:30pm MST, 5-5:30pm PST)
Total RACE-approved hours: 0.5 hours
Program #: 785-29984

December 2017
Topic: Tinsel, the vomiting cat: Approach to the linear foreign body
Speaker: Dr. Garret Pachtinger, DACVECC
Date: Wednesday, December 13, 2017
Time: 8-8:30pm EST (7-7:30pm CST, 6-6:30pm MST, 5-5:30pm PST)
Total RACE-approved hours: 0.5 hours
Program #: 785-29984

Stay tuned for the rest of our upcoming 2016 Real-Life Rounds Schedule here! If you have any suggestions for topics, contact us with ideas!

While VETgirl Real-Life rounds our still pending RACE-approval, VETgirl webinars are RACE-approved (or pending RACE-approval!) for both veterinarians and veterinary technicians for continuing education credit in jurisdictions which recognize AAVSB RACE approval; however participants should be aware that some boards have limitations on the number of hours accepted in certain categories and/or restrictions on certain methods of delivery of continuing education. Call VETgirl (858.859.1838) for further questions.

Legal mumbo-jumbo:
Please note that the views and medical opinions expressed in VETgirl Real-Life Rounds are the expressed opinion of the speakers. Unless expressly stated otherwise, the findings, interpretations and conclusions expressed by each presenter are their respective opinions and do not necessarily represent the views of VETgirl, LLC. Medical information here should be referenced by the practitioner prior to use. Under no circumstances shall VETgirl, LLC. be liable for any loss, damage, liability or expense incurred or suffered that is claimed to have resulted from the use of the information provided including, without limitation, any fault, error, omission, interruption or delay with respect thereto. If you have any questions regarding the information provided, please contact info@vetgirlontherun.com

 

From our Customers