职业女孩 在线兽医 CE 博客,我们评估了一种新的疼痛管理技术的使用:尾骨硬膜外麻醉。 尾骨块通常易于在镇静下进行。 在本视频中,我们演示了如何对患有猫尿道梗阻的患者进行尾骨阻滞。

在这里,一个循序渐进的方法:

• 首先,使用 2% 不含防腐剂的利多卡因,剂量为 0.1-0.2 mL/kg。 这必须是一个无菌瓶。 O'Hearn 等人强烈建议使用不含防腐剂的利多卡因作为局部麻醉剂。 如果你没有这个,你可以使用含有防腐剂的利多卡因——前提是它是一个新的、未开封的、无菌的小瓶; 这是 b/c 我们只使用一个小体积和 b/c 我们在尾部位置管理它。

• 镇静您的猫。 镇静后,患者被置于腹侧卧位,骶尾部区域进行手术准备。 可以通过触诊骶骨和第一尾椎之间的空间来找到注射部位,当尾部移动时,可以触诊到尾椎的移动。 铺巾不是必需的,可能会干扰手术,但无菌技术是必要的!

AMCocc1

照片由 Alex Molldrem 博士

• 戴上无菌手套后,注射部位就在第一尾椎骨的头颅处。 或者,可以使用第一或第二尾骨椎间隙。 为了方便这一步,可以由助手操纵尾巴。

• 将一根 25 号、1 英寸的针以 30 到 45° 角插入骶尾骨间隙(用另一只手的食指标识)的中线。 在推进针时,可以感觉到特征性的“砰”声。 这发生在针穿透黄韧带时。

AMCocc2

照片由 Alex Molldrem 博士

• 进入硬膜外腔后,连接注射器并施加温和的负压。 如果获得血液或脑脊液,则需要重新开始手术。

• 如果没有吸出血液或任何其他液体,继续将计算出的体积注入硬膜外腔。 不应注意到注射阻力。 对皮下组织的不适当浸润可能会产生阻力。 瞧——一切都完成了! 注射后取出针头。

• 如果您注意到尾部和直肠松弛,您可以判断硬膜外麻醉是否有效; 此外,捏尾巴不应产生反应。 如果在第一次注射 5 分钟后引起疼痛反应,则可以尝试第二次注射。 由于并发症风险增加,建议尝试不超过 2 次。

• 可以在利多卡因阻滞生效后(几分钟内发生)进行尿道阻塞

然后,您刚刚执行了尾骨阻滞,为会阴区域提供了大约 1 小时的镇痛。 不要忘记进行额外的镇痛治疗(例如,丁丙诺啡 11-22 mcg/kg,IV q 6)。

欲了解更多信息,请查看我们的 VETgirl 播客 在此,我们将介绍您需要什么以及如何执行此程序的步骤(仅限 VETgirl 订阅者)。

有兴趣了解更多吗? 查看 职业女孩 ELITE,一种基于订阅的播客、网络研讨会和视频服务,您可以在其中获得超过 24 小时的 种族- 批准在线兽医 CE 一年!

参考文献:
OHearn AK,赖特 BD。 尾骨硬膜外局部麻醉导尿和镇痛治疗猫尿道梗阻. JVECC 2011;21(1):50-21.

只有 VETgirl 成员可以发表评论。 登陆 or 加入VETgirl 现在!

Vet Girl  VETgirl Blog

How to perform a Coccygeal Block | VETgirl Veterinary CE Video Blog

In this VETgirl online veterinary CE blog, we evaluate the use of a new pain management technique: coccygeal epidurals. Coccygeal blocks are generally easy to perform under sedation. In this video, we demonstrate how to perform a coccygeal block in a patient with feline urethral obstruction.

Here, a step-by-step approach:

• First, use a 2% preservative-free lidocaine at a dose of 0.1-0.2 mL/kg. This must be a sterile bottle. O’Hearn et al strongly suggested the use of preservative free lidocaine as the local anesthetic. If you don’t have this, you can use lidocaine that contains a preservative – provided it’s a new, unopened, sterile vial; this is b/c we’re only using a small volume and b/c we’re administering it in a caudal location.

• Sedate your cat. Once sedated, the patient is placed in ventral recumbency and the sacrococcygeal region surgically prepped. The injection site can be found by palpating the space between the sacrum and first coccygeal vertebra, which can be palpated as it moves when the tail is moved. Draping is not required and may interfere with the procedure, but aseptic technique is imperative!

AMCocc1

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Photo courtesy of Dr. Alex Molldrem

• After donning sterile gloves, the injection site is located just cranial to the first coccygeal vertebrae. Alternatively, the first or second coccygeal intervertebral space can be used. To facilitate this step, the tail can be manipulated by an assistant.

• A 25 gauge, 1 inch needle is inserted at a 30 to 45° angle at the midline of the sacro-coccygeal space (which is identified with the index finger of the other hand). While advancing the needle, a characteristic “pop” can be felt. This occurs as the needle penetrates the ligamentum flavum.

AMCocc2

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Photo courtesy of Dr. Alex Molldrem

• After entering the epidural space, a syringe is attached and gentle negative pressure applied. If blood or cerebrospinal fluid is obtained, the procedure needs to be started again.

• If no blood or any other fluid is aspirated, proceed to infuse the calculated volume into the epidural space. No resistance to injection should be noticed. Inappropriate infiltration into the subcutaneous tissue may create resistance. Voila – all done! The needle is removed after injection.

• You can tell if your epidural is working if you notice relaxation of the tail and rectum; also, pinching of the tail should not produce a response. If a pain response is elicited after 5 minutes of the first injection, a second injection can be attempted. Due to the increase risk of complications, no more than 2 attempts are recommended.

• Urethral de-obstruction can be performed after the lidocaine block has taken effect (which occurs within just minutes)

And with that, you just performed a coccygeal block, providing analgesia to the perineal region for approximately 1 hour. Don’t forget to follow up with additional analgesic therapy (e.g., buprenorphine 11-22 mcg/kg, IV q 6).

For more information, check out our VETgirl podcast on this, where we walk through the steps of what you need and how to perform this procedure (Limited to VETgirl subscribers).

Interested in learning more? Check out VETgirl ELITE, a subscription-based podcast, webinar & video service where you get over 24+ hours of RACE-approved online veterinary CE a year!

References:
OHearn AK, Wright BD. Coccygeal epidural with local anesthetic for catheterization and pain management in the treatment of feline urethral obstruction. JVECC 2011;21(1):50-21.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

From our Customers