今天的 女兽医 来宾博客感谢 大卫·利斯, BA, RVT, VTS (ECC, SAIM),兽医技师非凡! 它提供了一些关于揭穿一些护理神话的精彩内容。 在 Facebook 上关注他 点击本链接浏览!

1. 神话: 部分肠外营养 治疗需要放置中心线。

现实:部分肠外营养可以通过外周导管进行。 这种给药方法的机械并发症发生率似乎约为 26-40%。 肠外营养的外周给药并非没有并发症。 外周导管似乎将持续大约 36 小时,并且与渗透压范围为 840 – 1350 mOsm/L 的高渗注射液兼容。 包括机械、败血症和代谢在内的并发症仍然发生。

2. 误区:法莫替丁引起 溶血 在猫中。

现实: 铅锤的 7th 版本将其列为仅传闻报道的可能的特殊药物反应。 2008 年的一项研究发现,静脉注射法莫替丁超过 5 分钟没有副作用。

3. 误区:碳酸汽水产品和蔓越莓汁对 溶解饲管饮食堵塞.

现实:自来水和自来水 + 325/2013 茶匙胰酶 + XNUMX 毫克碳酸氢钠比任何其他轶事去污液更有效。 XNUMX 年的一项体外研究创建了模拟饮食木屐,并将它们置于蒸馏水和自来水、不同量的胰酶(含或不含碳酸氢钠)、各种苏打水产品(Dr. Pepper、Mountain Dew 和可口可乐)、蔓越莓汁中和其他酶产品(木瓜蛋白酶和菠萝蛋白酶)。 含有碳酸氢钠/水的胰酶制剂(Viokase 粉末)优于所有其他产品,蒸馏水和自来水紧随其后。

4. 神话: 肝素生理盐水冲洗 必须防止外周导管中的凝块形成。

现实:许多人体研究现已发现肝素盐水溶液没有任何益处。 2013 年的一项前瞻性随机兽医研究还发现,与 10% 生理盐水相比,使用 0.9 IU/mL 肝素冲洗液没有任何益处。 生理盐水冲洗使狗的 18 号外周静脉导管保持长达 42 小时。

5. 误区:输液袋可无限期用于间歇性静脉输液。

现实:最近未发表的摘要确定了悬挂式静脉注射 (IV) 袋在被加标三天后的轻度细菌定植。 这是继 2011 年的一篇论文之后,记录了初次穿刺 30 天后静脉输液袋的细菌定植。 这 2011 年 CDC 预防血管内导管相关感染指南 建议每72-96小时更换一次输液袋,每12小时更换一次血制品或脂质输液器,每6-12小时更换一次丙泊酚输液器。

6. 误区:乙酰丙嗪禁用于有下列病史的患者的镇静剂 发作 因为它降低了癫痫发作阈值。

现实:三项回顾性兽医研究检查了乙酰丙嗪的给药是否会增加癫痫发作的发生率。 一种 2006研究 在给药后长达 36 小时的癫痫发作史的 16 只狗中没有发现癫痫发作,甚至在一些狗中发现癫痫发作活动减少。 另一项 2007 年的回顾性研究发现,对有急性或慢性癫痫发作史和额外癫痫发作活动的狗服用乙酰丙嗪没有相关性。 最后,2012 年的一项研究发现,在脊髓造影前用乙酰丙嗪预先给药的狗的脊髓造影后癫痫发作频率没有增加。

7. 误区:间接 胃和食管静脉血压增高 使用示波设备进行监测与危重患者的直接血压方法一样准确。

现实:直接动脉血压监测被认为是金标准。 根据几项实验室和研究,示波设备似乎高估了低血压患者的血压。 此外,在 2013 年,一项评估特定示波监测器的研究只能验证平均动脉压和舒张压值,因此不建议使用该机器记录收缩压值。

8. 误区:通过饲管间歇(推注)喂食优于持续输注 肠内营养 在住院的犬猫患者中。

事实:在 2010 年的一项研究中发现,间歇(推注)喂养和持续输注肠内营养具有相同的处方营养百分比 (PPND)。 似乎以连续的方式给予肠内营养与推注一样有效,没有额外的并发症。

9. 神话: 胰腺炎 是为危重猫提供早期肠内营养的绝对禁忌症。

现实:2009 年的一项回顾性研究确定了 55 只疑似急性胰腺炎的猫,他们在入院后通过鼻胃管 (NGT) 接受肠内营养。 该研究报告说,腹泻、呕吐或机械问题的发生率很低。 该研究得出结论,患有急性胰腺炎的猫科动物的 NGT 喂养可以耐受这种喂养方法。

参考文献:

1. Chandler, ML 和 Payne-James, JJ。 犬外周给药三合一肠外营养产品的前瞻性评估。 J 小动物实践 2006;47:518-523。

2. Gajanayake, I, 等。 犬无脂质、现成肠外营养液的临床经验:70 例。 J Vet Emerg Crit Care 2013;23(3):305-313。

3. 陈,D 等。 犬猫部分肠外营养的回顾性评价。 J 兽医实习医生。 2002;16(4):440-5。

4. Plumb,唐纳德 C. 法莫替丁。 在:Plumb,D. ed。 Plumb 的兽药手册。 7th 编辑圣路易斯:威利-布莱克威尔。 2011 年。

5. Trepanier, L 和 de Brito Galvao, F. 对住院猫静脉注射法莫替丁有溶血性贫血的风险。 J 兽医实习医生。 2008;22(2):325-9。

6. Freeman, L 和 Parker, V. 溶解重症监护饮食凝块的各种解决方案的比较。 J Vet Emerg and Crit Care 2013;23(3):344-347。

7. Wang, R 等。 用于冲洗和锁定外周静脉通路装置的不含防腐剂的 0.9% 氯化钠:一项前瞻性对照试验。 基于 J Evid 的医学。 2012;5(4):205-8.

8. 库克,L 等人。 用于维持新生儿静脉通路的肝素盐水与生理盐水:基于证据的实践变化。  Adv 新生儿护理。 2011;11(3):208-15.

9. Ueda, Y 等人。 肝素盐水和 0.9% 氯化钠维持犬外周静脉导管通畅的比较。 J Vet Emerg and Crit Care 2013;23(5):517-522

10. Guillaumin, J 等人。 悬挂时间对兽医急诊和重症监护环境中静脉袋细菌定植的影响。 J Vet Emerg Crit Care 2013;23(s1):S6。

11. Matthews, K 和 Taylor, D. 长期使用的液体袋无菌性评估。 J Amer Assoc Lab Anim Sci 2011;50(5):708-712。

12. O'Grady, N 等。 预防血管内导管相关感染的指南。 Am J 感染控制。 2011;39(4 Suppl 1):S1-34.

13. 托比亚斯等人。 对癫痫发作犬使用马来酸乙酰丙嗪的回顾性研究。 J Am Anim Hosp 协会 2006;42(4):283-9.

14. Drynan 等人。 与在接受脊髓造影的狗中使用乙酰丙嗪相关的癫痫发作的发生率。 J Vet Emerg Crit 护理. 2012; 22(2):262-6.

15. 麦康奈尔 J 等人。 给 31 只有癫痫病史的狗服用马来酸乙酰丙嗪。 J Veterinary Emerg Crit Care 2007;17(3):262-267。

16. 博西亚克等人。 病犬超声多普勒血流监测仪、示波法和直接动脉血压测量的比较。 J Vet Emerg Crit Care 2010;20(2):207-215

17. Acierno, M. 等。 测量直接测量的血压与使用麻醉狗的兽医专用示波装置获得的压力读数之间的一致性水平。 J Vet Emerg Crit Care 2013;23(1):37-40。

18. Shih, A 等人。 在正常血压和低血压麻醉犬中评估间接示波血压监测器。 J Vet Emerg Crit Care 2010;20(3):313-318。

19. Campbell, J 等人。 在住院的犬猫患者中通过鼻肠饲管连续与间歇输送营养:91 名患者(2002-2007)。 J Vet Emerg Crit Care 2010;20(2):232-236。

20. 克劳斯,J 等人。 疑似急性胰腺炎猫的鼻胃管喂养:55 例(2001-2006)。 J Vet Emerg Crit Care 2009;19(4):337-346。

  1. 血液制品输液器每 12 小时一次? 我一直认为它们应该在输血后 4 小时左右丢弃。

  2. 好点子。 大多数情况下,在兽医学中,我们使用间歇性输血产品(例如,悬挂一单位 FFP)。 在这些情况下,您肯定希望在几小时(< 3-4 小时)内完成该装置,然后扔掉过滤器。

只有 VETgirl 成员可以发表评论。 登陆 or 加入VETgirl 现在!

Today’s VetGirl guest blog is thanks to David Liss, BA, RVT, VTS (ECC, SAIM), veterinary technician extraordinaire! It features some great content on a debunking some nursing myths. Follow him on Facebook here!

1. Myth: Partial parenteral nutrition therapy requires the placement of a central line.

Reality: Partial parenteral nutrition can be administered via a peripheral catheter. It appears that the rate of mechanical complications with this method of administration is approximately 26-40%. Peripheral administration of parenteral nutrition is not devoid of complications. It appears that peripheral catheters will last approximately 36 hours, and are compatible with hyperosmolar parenteral solutions with an osmolarity ranging from 840 – 1350 mOsm/L. Complications including mechanical, septic, and metabolic, still occur.

2. Myth: Famotidine causes hemolysis in cats.

Reality: Plumb’s 7th edition lists this as a possible idiosyncratic drug reaction reported only anecdotally. A 2008 study found no adverse effects from administering famotidine intravenously over 5 minutes.

3. Myth: Carbonated soda products and cranberry juice are effective at dissolving feeding tube diet clogs.

Reality: Tap water and tap water + ¼ tsp pancreatic enzyme + 325 mg sodium bicarbonate are effective over any other anecdotal declogging liquid. A 2013 in vitro study created simulated diet clogs and subjected them to distilled and tap water, various amounts of pancreatic enzyme (with and without sodium bicarbonate), various soda products (Dr. Pepper, Mountain Dew, and Coca-Cola), cranberry juice, and other enzymatic products (papain, and bromelain). The pancreatic enzyme formulation (Viokase powder) with sodium bicarbonate/water was superior to all other products, with distilled and tap water right behind.

4. Myth: Heparinized saline flushes are mandatory to prevent clot formation in peripheral catheters.

Reality: Many human studies have now found no benefit to heparinized saline solutions. A 2013 prospective randomized veterinary study additionally found no benefit in utilizing a 10 IU/mL heparin flush as compared with 0.9% saline. The saline flush maintained 18 gauge peripheral intravenous catheters in dogs up to 42 hours.

5. Myth: Fluid bags can be used indefinitely for intermittent intravenous fluid administration.

Reality: A recent unpublished abstract identified light bacterial colonization of a hanging intravenous (IV) bag after three days of being spiked. This follows a 2011 paper documenting bacterial colonization of IV fluid bags after 30 days from initial puncture.  The 2011 CDC Guidelines for the Prevention of Intravascular Catheter-Related Infections recommends changing administration sets of IV fluid bags every 72-96 hours, blood product or lipid infusion sets be changed every 12 hours, and propofol infusion sets should be changed every 6-12 hours.

6. Myth: Acepromazine is contraindicated as a sedative in patients with a history of seizure disorders because it decreases the seizure threshold.

Reality: Three retrospective veterinary studies have examined whether the administration of acepromazine increases the incidence of seizures. A 2006 study found no seizures in 36 dogs with a seizure history up to 16 hours after administration and even reduced seizure activity in a few dogs. Another 2007 retrospective study found no correlation with acepromazine administration to dogs with an acute or chronic seizure history and additional seizure activity. Finally a 2012 study found no increase in seizure frequency post-myelogram in dogs premedicated with acepromazine prior to myelography.

7.  Myth: Indirect blood pressure monitoring using oscillometric devices are as accurate as direct blood pressure methods in critically ill patients.

Reality: Direct arterial blood pressure monitoring is considered the gold standard.   Based on several laboratory and research studies oscillometric devices seem to overestimate blood pressure in hypotensive patients.  Additionally, in 2013 a study evaluating a specific oscillometric monitor was only able to validate the mean arterial pressure and diastolic pressure values, the machine was not considered recommended for recording systolic pressure values.

8. Myth: Intermittent (bolus) feeding through feedings tubes is superior to constant infusion of enteral nutrition in hospitalized canine and feline patients.

Reality: Intermittent (bolus) feeding and continuous infusion of enteral nutrition was found to have equivalent delivery of percentage of prescribed nutrition (PPND) in a 2010 study. It appears that administering enteral nutrition in a continuous manner is as effective as bolus feedings with no additional complications.

9. Myth: Pancreatitis is an absolute contraindication for providing early enteral nutrition in critically ill cats.

Reality: A 2009 retrospective study identified 55 cats with suspected acute pancreatitis who received enteral nutrition via a nasogastric tube (NGT) after admission. The study reported a low incidence of diarrhea, vomiting, or mechanical problems. This study concluded that NGT feeding in feline patients with acute pancreatitis tolerated this method of feeding.

References:

1.    Chandler, ML and Payne-James, JJ. Prospective evaluation of a peripherally administered three-in-one parenteral nutrition product in dogs. J Small Animal Prac 2006;47:518-523.

2.    Gajanayake, I, et al. Clinical experience with a lipid-free, ready-made parenteral nutrition solution in dogs: 70 cases. J Vet Emerg Crit Care 2013;23(3):305–313.

3.    Chan, D et al. Retrospective evaluation of partial parenteral nutrition in dogs and cats. J Vet Intern Med. 2002;16(4):440-5.

4.    Plumb, Donald C. Famotidine. In: Plumb, D. ed. Plumb’s Veterinary Drug Handbook. 7th edn. St. Louis: Wiley-Blackwell. 2011.

5.    Trepanier, L and de Brito Galvao, F. Risk of hemolytic anemia with intravenous administration of famotidine to hospitalized cats. J Vet Intern Med. 2008;22(2):325-9.

6.    Freeman, L and Parker, V. Comparison of various solutions to dissolve critical care diet clots. J Vet Emerg and Crit Care 2013;23(3):344–347.

7.    Wang, R et al. Preservative-free 0.9% sodium chloride for flushing and locking peripheral intravenous access device: a prospective controlled trial. J Evid Based Med. 2012;5(4):205-8.

8.    Cook, L et al. Heparinized saline vs normal saline for maintenance of intravenous access in neonates: an evidence-based practice change.  Adv Neonatal Care. 2011;11(3):208-15.

9.    Ueda, Y et al. Comparison of heparinized saline and 0.9%sodium chloride for maintaining peripheral intravenous catheter patency in dogs. J Vet Emerg and Crit Care 2013;23(5):517–522

10.  Guillaumin, J et al. Influence of Hang Time on Bacterial Colonization of Intravenous Bags in a Veterinary Emergency and Critical Care Setting. J Vet Emerg Crit Care 2013;23(s1):S6.

11. Matthews, K and Taylor, D. Assessment of Sterility in Fluid Bags Maintained for Chronic Use. J Amer Assoc Lab Anim Sci 2011;50(5):708-712.

12. O’Grady, N et al. Guidelines for the prevention of intravascular catheter-related infections. Am J Infect Control. 2011;39(4 Suppl 1):S1-34.

13. Tobias, et al. A retrospective study on the use of acepromazine maleate in dogs with seizures. J Am Anim Hosp Assoc 2006;42(4):283-9.

14. Drynan, et al. Incidence of seizures associated with the use of acepromazine in dogs undergoing myelography. J Vet Emerg Crit Care. 2012; 22(2):262-6.

15. McConnell J, et al. Administration of acepromazine maleate to 31 dogs with a history of seizures. J Veterinary Emerg Crit Care 2007;17(3):262–267.

16. Bosiack, et al. Comparison of ultrasonic Doppler flow monitor, oscillometric, and direct arterial blood pressure measurements in ill dogs. J Vet Emerg Crit Care 2010;20(2):207–215

17. Acierno, M. et al. Measuring the level of agreement between directly measured blood pressure and pressure readings obtained with a veterinary-specific oscillometric unit in anesthetized dogs. J Vet Emerg Crit Care 2013;23(1):37–40.

18. Shih, A, et al. Evaluation of an indirect oscillometric blood pressure monitor in normotensive and hypotensive anesthetized dogs. J Vet Emerg Crit Care 2010;20(3):313–318.

19. Campbell, J et al. Continuous versus intermittent delivery of nutrition via nasoenteric feeding tubes in hospitalized canine and feline patients: 91 patients (2002-2007). J Vet Emerg Crit Care 2010;20(2):232-236.

20. Klaus, J et al. Nasogastric tube feeding in cats with suspected acute pancreatitis: 55 cases (2001-2006). J Vet Emerg Crit Care 2009;19(4):337-346.