JUNE 2021

改变世界的兽医客户服务要点

By 戴夫·特劳布, BS, AAS, 无级变速器
分流技术员/白天负责人 明尼苏达州动物急救和转诊中心

你最近有没有发现自己在谈论 Covid 之前和之后的术语? 期待客户可以回到大楼的美好时光。 没那么快。 我们可能需要先复习一些东西。

Covid-19(和路边护理)已经并将继续教给我们许多重要的教训。
过去 15-16 个月在客户(和患者)护理的许多方面为以下客户服务元素带来了新的亮点。

沟通仍然是王道

我有一位新闻学教授(前世)告诉我,如果你不能有效地进行口头和书面交流,那么你的职业选择就被限制了 30%。 这是在 70 年代中期,我可以根据经验说,由于自动化和我们对互联网(社交和专业)的依赖,这将接近今天的 60 - 70%。

客户服务的情感和人性因素无法数字化。 主人担心他们的宠物。 宠物承担主人的压力。 它仍然需要出色的沟通技巧来帮助使访问(无论是紧急情况还是健康护理)成为愉快和/或易于管理的体验。

与 Covid 的物理分离为我们曾经认为理所当然的事情带来了新的曙光,例如:

1) 肢体语言

业主在走进诊所的那一刻(即显得心慌、冲进门、为迟到而道歉等),更容易注意到他们今天的好坏。 通过看到这些提示,我们立即进行了调整,使客户(和他们的宠物)更加舒适。 我们必须不丢失此类标识符的事实。 在路边,我们对数字通信(电话和互联网)的依赖已成为曾经更为复杂的交互的一个维度。

在我们与客户交谈时,不要忘记看着他们的眼睛(希望不要戴口罩)。 请记住,我们的姿势可以告诉客户我们正在度过的一天。 站直或坐直,以对话的方式交谈(电话有时会让我们变得更加机器人)。 按比例使用你的耳朵和嘴巴。

2)说话好像这是你唯一的机会

有多少人戴着口罩打电话? 有罪。 对着喉舌说话时未能取下我们的面具会使我们对另一端的人的声音变得模糊。 变化和个性被静音。 成功的客户体验的所有关键要素。

路边后意味着永远不会有第二次机会给人留下第一印象。

清楚地通告并注意你说话的速度。 这样做可能会被表达为粗鲁和漠不关心(将客户赶出门)。 Covid 教会我们在更短的时间内做更多的事情,但并不总是最适合依靠面对面交流的面对面访问。

除非您是发起呼叫,否则电话沟通可能更具反应性,因此,在与客户面对面交谈时,请记住以下几点。 这些是有效沟通的简单、经过验证和真实的要素:

  • 说话之前先想一想:谁,什么,为什么。
  • 简洁明了:了解你的听众。 长期客户,新宠物主人等。
  • 自信地说话:这涉及积极的肢体语言和(见下一项)。
  • 改变你的语气:强调关键点,在谈到敏感问题时软化你的语气(在电话里可能会很严厉,但当面说是必要的)。
  • 做一个积极的倾听者:寻求反馈、问题。 一边听一边看着客户(请记住,在路边护理期间,我们正在看着我们的计算机和/或同事)。 我们养成的一些习惯必须改掉。

3)外部与内部客户服务

请记住,有两种类型的客户:外部客户和内部客户。 路边护理也影响了我们与同龄人的互动方式。 以下任何一项听起来很熟悉吗?

  • 在房间对面说话(好吧,大喊大叫)更新、订书机、信用卡读卡器、文件、电话通知等。
  • 让多个人同时从房间的各个角落回答针对一个人的问题。
  • 越来越愚蠢和/或大笑。
  • 可听见的沮丧和/或恼怒的叹息声(这是另一个博客的主题)。

我相信我们都同意上述内容并不意味着恶意或明显的粗鲁,而是一年多来没有客户进入大楼的症状。 该怎么办?

简单的。 是时候与您的同行会面并回顾哪些变化(我们已经学到了很多关于效率的知识)以及一旦我们的客户和他们的宠物返回大楼后哪些会消失。 此外,问问自己,这段时间我对自己了解了什么? 我在什么方面变得更强了? 我需要改进哪些方面? 不要害羞地向您的同事征求反馈意见。

生活中唯一不变的是变化,因此,在计划离开路边护理时,与您的经理或同事坐下来对个人和职业都有益。

离开路边护理是否意味着我们将恢复“正常”? 我不这么认为。 我相信它会教会我们记住商业和生活的基本知识,因为沟通为王。 同时让我们对适应能力有一个持久的看法,无论我们周围发生什么。

只有 VETgirl 成员可以发表评论。 登陆 or 加入VETgirl 现在!

June 2021

Veterinary Customer Service Take-Aways from A Changed World

By Dave Traub, BS, AAS, CVT
Triage Technician/Daytime Lead at Animal Emergency & Referral Center of Minnesota

Have you found yourself talking in pre – and post – Covid terms lately? Looking forward to the good old days when clients can come back in the building. Not so fast. We may need to brush up on some things first.

Covid-19 (& curbside care) has and continues to teach us many important lessons.
The past 15-16 months have brought new light to the following elements of customer service in many aspects of client (and patient) care.

Communication is Still King

I had a journalism professor (in a prior life) tell me that if you cannot effectively communicate verbally and in writing, you have limited your career choices by 30%. This was back in the mid ‘70’s, I can say with experience that this would be closer to 60 – 70% today due to automation and our dependence on the Internet (both socially and professionally).

The emotional and human element of customer service cannot be digitized. Owners fear for their pets. Pet’s take on the stress of their owners. It still requires superior communication skills to help make the visit (no matter if it is an emergency or wellness care) a pleasant and/or manageable experience.

The physical separation from Covid has brought new light to things we once took for granted, such as:

1) Body Language

It is easier to notice an owner’s bad or good day the minute they walk in the clinic (i.e., appearing flustered, rushing in the door, apologizing for being late, etc.). By seeing these cues, we immediately adapted to make the client (and their pet) more comfortable. It is imperative that we not lose fact of such identifiers. During curbside, our reliance on digital communication (telephones and the internet) has become one dimensional in what once was a more complex interaction.

Do not forget to look clients in the eyes while we are talking to them (hopefully without a mask). Remember that our posture can tell clients about the day we are having. Stand or sit up straight, talk in a conversational manner (telephones can make us more robotic at times). Use your ears and mouth proportionately.

2) Speak As If It is Your One and Only Opportunity

How many of us talk on the phone with our masks on? Guilty. Failing to remove our mask while speaking into a mouthpiece muffles our voices to the person on the other end. Inflection and personality are muted. All key components to a successful customer experience.

Post curbside means never getting a second chance to make a first impression.

Annunciate clearly and be aware of the speed in which you are talking. Doing so can be conveyed as rude and uncaring (rushing clients out the door). Covid has taught us to do more in less time, not always best for in-person visits relying on face-to-face communication.

Telephone communication, unless you are initiating the call, can be more reactive, therefore, keep in mind the following when speaking in person with clients. These are simple, tried, and true elements to effective communication:

  • Think before you speak: Who, what, and why.
  • Be clear and concise: Know your audience. Long-term client, new pet owner, etc.
  • Speak with confidence: This goes to positive body language and (see next item).
  • Vary your vocal tone: Emphasize key points, soften your tone when speaking of sensitive issues (can be tough on the telephone, but imperative in person).
  • Be an active listener: Ask for feedback, questions. Look at the client while listening (remember, we are looking at our computer and/or co-workers during curbside care). Some habits we picked up will have to be done away with.

3) External vs. Internal Customer Service

Remember, there are two types of customers: External and Internal. Curbside care has also affected how we interact with our peers. Do any of the following sound familiar?

  • Speaking (okay, yelling) across the room for an update, stapler, credit card reader, file, phone call announcement, etc.
  • Having multiple people answer a question directed at one person – simultaneously from all corners of the room.
  • Increased silliness and/or laughing aloud.
  • Audible sighs of frustration and/or exasperation (this is a topic for another blog).

I am sure we all agree that the above is not meant with malice or overt rudeness but is a symptom of not having customers in the building for well over a year. What to do?

Simple. Time to meet with your peers and review what changes (we have learned a lot about efficiencies) are staying and what is going away once our clients and their pets return to the building. In addition, ask yourself, what have I learned about myself during this time? What have I become stronger at? What areas do I need to improve? Do not be bashful about asking your co-workers for feedback.

The only constant in life is change, thus, it can be both personally and professionally beneficial to have a sit down with your manager or co-workers when planning the move away from curbside care.

Will leaving curbside care mean we are going back to “normal”? I do not think so. I believe that it will have taught us to remember the basics of both business and life in that communication is king. While at the same time giving us a lasting perspective on the ability to adapt no matter what is going on around us.

  1. You absolutely nailed it!! Thank you for pointing out key factors for a successful client-professional relationship.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.