2016 Webinars

Veterinary CE 2016 VETgirl Webinars

Interested in veterinary online continuing education (CE)? Check out our preliminary 2016 VETgirl online CE webinars below. Our 2016 CE credits are RACE-approved for both veterinarians and veterinary technicians; some are still pending approval so stay tuned!*

If you’re a VETgirl ELITE member, you can get 100+ hours of RACE-approved, veterinary online continuing education each year. As a VETgirl ELITE member, know that you have flexibility to view these when you have time. All the online webinars are recorded and can be viewed after the release date for CE credit. Don’t forget to take the CE quiz with it when you’re done to get your CE certificate!

NOTE: If you watch the online webinar live at the time of original release, no need to take the CE quiz! This counts as interactive, active CE. If you watch the webinar as a recording, you do need to take the CE quiz to get your passive, non-interactive CE certificate.

January 2016
Topic: That Wild and Crazy Immune System… And How It Affects the Skin
Speaker: Dr. Amy Haarstad, DACVD
Date: Sunday, January 10, 2016
Time: 9-11 pm EDT (8-10 pm CDT, 7-9pm MDT)
Total RACE-approved CE credit hours: 2 hours
Program #: 785-15612
Cost: Complimentary (Value: $50)
Thanks to sponsorship from Elanco Animal Healthfree to all!

January 2016
Topic:
Cardiology 101: All you need to know about interpreting ECGs
Speaker: Dr. Marc Kraus, DACVIM (Internal Medicine, Cardiology)
Date: January 28, 2016
Time: 7 - 9pm EDT (6-8 pm CDT, 5-7pm MDT)
Total RACE-approved CE credit hours: 2 hours
Program #: 785-19066
Free for ELITE members; otherwise $40/2 hour webinar

February 2016
Topic
: How to minimize anesthestic complications
Speaker: Dr. Tamara Grubb, DACVAA
Date: February 3, 2016
Time: 7-8pm EDT AND 9 - 10 pm EDT
Total RACE-approved CE credit hours: 1 hour
Program #: 785-19066
Cost: Complimentary (Value: $40)
Thanks to sponsorship from Zoetisfree to all!

February 2016
Topic: 
Respiratory distress in the dog and cat made easy
Speaker: Dr. Deborah Silverstein, DACVECC
Date: February 21, 2016
Time: 8 – 10pm EST (7 – 9pm CST)
Total RACE-approved CE credit hours: 2 hours
Program #: 785-19066
Free for ELITE members; otherwise $40/2 hour webinar

March 2016
Topic: 
Pearls in Feline Emergency Medicine
Speaker: Kenneth Drobatz, MS, DACVIM, DACVECC
Date: Thursday, March 3, 2016
Time: 7-8:30pm EST (6-7:30pm CST) - Need time zone help? CLICK HERE
Total RACE-approved CE credit hour: 1.5 hours
Program #: 785-19247
Free for ELITE members; otherwise $30/1.5 hour webinar

March 2016
Topic: 
Fun with medical math!
SpeakerDavid Liss, RVT, VTS
Date: March 30, 2016
Time: 9 – 10pm EST (8 – 9pm CST) - Need time zone help? CLICK HERE
Total RACE-approved CE credit hour: 1 hour
Program #: 785-19066
Free for ELITE members; otherwise $20/1 hour webinar

April 2016
Topic: Canine Theriogenology: What the general practitioner needs to know
Speaker: Dr. Peggy Root Kustritz, DVM, PhD
Date: April 3, 2016
Time: 9-11 pm EST (8-10 pm CST, 7-9 pm MST, 6-8pm PST) - Need time zone help? CLICK HERE
Total RACE-approved CE credit hours: 2 hours
Program #: 785-19066
Free for ELITE members; otherwise $40/2 hour webinar

April 2016
Topic: Medicina de transfusion de sangre: principios y aspectos prácticos (Blood Transfusion Medicine: principles and practical aspects)
Speaker:
Dr. Alberto Fernandez, DACVECC
Date: April 7, 2016
Time:  9-11 pm EST (8-10 pm CDT)- Need time zone help? CLICK HERE
Total RACE-approved CE credit hours: 2 hours
Program #: 785-23824
Cost: Complimentary (Value: $50)
NOTE: This is VETgirl's first ever, complimentary Spanish VETgirl online veterinary continuing education webinar!

April 2016
Topic: Tick-transmitted pathogens
Speaker:  Dr. Leah Cohn, DACVIM, PhD
Date: Thursday, April 14, 2016
Time: 8 – 10pm EST (7 – 9pm CST) - Need time zone help? CLICK HERE
Total RACE-approved CE credit hours: 2 hours
Program #: 785-19066
Cost: Complimentary (Value: $50)
Thanks to sponsorship from Elanco Animal Health, free to all veterinary professionals!

May 2016
Topic: A surgeon's guide to abdominal surgery
Speaker: Dr. Steve Mehler, DACVS
Date: Sunday, May 1, 2016
Time: 9-11 pm EDT (8-10 pm CDT, 7-9pm MDT)
Total RACE-approved CE credit hours: 2 hours
Program #: 785-19247
Free for ELITE members; otherwise $50/2 hour webinar

May 2016
Topic: Talking to owners about the big 3: FIP, FeLV, and FIV
SpeakerDr. Susan Little
Date: Wednesday, May 4, 2016
Time: 9-11 pm EST (8-10 pm CDT, 7-9 pm MDT)- Need time zone help? CLICK HERE
Total RACE-approved CE credit hours: 2 hours
Program #: 785-23824
Cost: Complimentary (Value: $50)
Thanks to sponsorship from Merck Animal Healthfree to all!

May 2016
Topic: Psychotropic medications: How they work and how to use them in clinical practice
Speaker: Dr. Lisa Radosta, DACVB
Date: Tuesday, May 24, 2016
Time: 9-11 pm EST (8-10 pm CDT, 7-9 pm MDT)- Need time zone help? CLICK HERE
Total RACE-approved CE credit hours: 2 hours
Program #: 785-30646
Free for ELITE members; otherwise $50/2 hour webinar

June 2016
Topic: 
50 Shades of Haze: Canine Corneal Diseases
Speaker:  Dr. Shelby Reinstein, DACVO
Date: Wednesday, June 1, 2016
Time: 9-11pm EDT (8-10pm CDT, 7-9pm MDT)
Total RACE-approved CE credit hours: 2 hours
Program #: 785-17646
Free for ELITE members; otherwise $50/2 hour webinar

June 2016
Topic: 
Essential Supervision Skills for Veterinary Teams:  What You Need to Know
Speaker: Jeannine Moga, MA, MSW, LCSW
Date: Sunday, June 26, 2016
Time: 9-10pm EDT (8-9pm CDT, 7-8pm MDT)
Total RACE-approved CE credit hour: 1 hour
Program #: 785-19066
Free for ELITE members; otherwise $40/1 hour webinar

July 2016
Topic: Trauma without the Drama: Evidence Based Trauma Medicine
Speaker: Dr. Garret Pachtinger, DACVECC
Date: Wednesday, July 6, 2016
Time: 9 - 11pm EDT (8-10 pm CDT, 7-9pm MDT)
Total RACE-approved CE credit hours: 2 hours
Program #: 785-30646
Free for ELITE members; otherwise $50/2 hour webinar

July 2016
Topic: Top 5 things I wish the shelter veterinarian told me about emergencies
Speakers: Dr. Justine Lee, DACVECC, DABT; Dr. Graham Brayshaw, DVM
Date: Monday, July 25, 2016
Time: 7 - 8:30pm EDT (6-7:30 pm CDT, 5-6:30pm MDT)
Total RACE-approved CE credit hours: 1.5 hours
Program #: 785-30646
Free for ELITE members; otherwise $40/1.5 hour webinar

August 2016
Topic: Pulmonary Hypertension: The Cardiopulmonary Great Pretender
Speaker: Dr. Gordon Peddle, VMD, DACVIM - Cardiology
Date: Wednesday August 3, 2016
Time: 7pm – 8:30pm EDT (6pm - 7:30pm CDT)
Total RACE-approved CE credit hours: 1.5 hours
Program #: 785-30646
Free for ELITE members; otherwise $40/1.5 hour webinar

August 2016
TopicCompassion Fatigue Resilience:  When Working Harder Doesn't Work
SpeakerJeannine Moga, MA, MSW, LCSW
Date: Wednesday, August 17, 2016
Time: 8-9pm EDT (7-8pm CDT)
Total RACE-approved CE credit hours: 1 hour
Program #: 785-19066
Free for ELITE members; otherwise $40/1 hour webinar

September 2016
Topic: Emotional Intelligence
Speaker: Dr. Bob Murtaugh, MS, DACVIM, DACVECC, FCCM
Date: Sunday, September 18, 2016
Time: 9-10pm EST (8-9pm CST)
Total RACE-approved CE hours: 1 hour
Program #: 785-25675
Free for ELITE members; otherwise $40/1 hour webinar

September 2016
Topic: Derailing the Pain Train: Pearls of Emergency Room Analgesia
Speaker: Dr. Garret Pachtinger, DACVECC
Date: Wednesday, September 28, 2016
Time: 8pm – 10pm EDT (7pm - 9pm CDT)
Total RACE-approved credit hours: 2 hours
Program #: 785-17646
Cost: Complimentary (Value: $50)
Thanks to sponsorship from Zoetisfree to all!

October 2016
TopicCanine Lymphoma: Can we start using the word "Cure"
Speaker: Dr. Craig Clifford, DACVIM - Oncology
Date: Thursday, October 13, 2016
Time: 7 - 8pm EDT (6-7 pm CDT, 5-6pm MDT)
Total RACE-approved CE credit hour: 1 hour
Program #: 785-30646
Free for ELITE members; otherwise $40/1 hour webinar

October 2016
Topic: Emergency management of the gastric dilatation-volvulus patient
Speaker: Dr. Justine Lee, DACVECC, DABT; Dr. Garret Pachtinger, DACVECC; Dr. Steve Mehler, DACVS
Date: Tuesday, October 25, 2016
Time: 8-10pm EDT (7-9pm CDT, 6-8pm MDT)
Total RACE-approved CE credit hours: 2 hours
Program #: 785-19066
Free for ELITE members; otherwise $50/2 hour webinar

November 2016
TopicChronic diarrhea: Approach to the canine patient
Speaker: Dr. Peter Chapman, BVetMed(Hons), DECVIM-CA, DACVIM, MRCVS
Date: November 13, 2016
Time: 9-11pm EDT (8-10pm CDT)
Pending RACE-approved hours: 2 hours
Program #: 785-19247
Free for ELITE members; otherwise $50/2 hour webinar

November 2016
TopicAll you need to know about cytology and hematology
Speakers: Dr. Tracy Stokol, BVSc, PhD, DACVCP; Dr. Ashleigh Newman, VMD, DACVCP
Date: Wednesday, November 16, 2016
Time: 8pm – 10pm EDT (7pm - 9pm CDT)
Total RACE-approved credit hours: 2 hours
Program #: 785-19247
Thanks to sponsorship from SAFE-TEC, free to all!

December 2016
Topic: Approach to the proteinuric canine patient
Speaker: Dr. David Polzin, PhD, DACVIM (Internal Medicine)
Date: Wednesday, December 21, 2016
Time: 9-10:30pm EDT (8-9:30pm CDT)
Pending RACE-approved hours: 1.5 hours
Program #: 785-23824
Free for ELITE members; otherwise $50/1.5 hour webinar

RACE-CE provider name: VETgirl, LLC
RACE Provider number: 785

Our veterinary online continuing education is RACE-approved (or pending RACE-approval!) for both veterinarians and veterinary technicians for continuing education credit in jurisdictions which recognize AAVSB RACE approval; however participants should be aware that some boards have limitations on the number of hours accepted in certain categories and/or restrictions on certain methods of delivery of continuing education. Call VETgirl (858.859.1838) for further questions.

Interested in different topics - comment below or ping us via email with your topic suggestions!

From our Customers