本篇 职业女孩 在线兽医 CE 新闻 演示如何解除阻塞和处理 猫尿道梗阻 (福)。 虽然有许多关于解锁的技巧或技巧,但请记住,我们的最终目标是:

  • 稳定病人
  • 治疗电解质异常(例如,严重的 高钾血症)
  • 疏通以缓解尿路梗阻
  • 提供积极的静脉输液治疗,以利尿患者,解决肾后氮质血症,纠正电解质异常,并为梗阻后继发性利尿的患者补充水分
  • 冲洗膀胱
  • 疼痛控制

治疗包括静脉导管放置、开始液体治疗(不,如果您还没有解除阻塞也没关系!)、镇静和疏通。 对于继发于高钾血症(包括 T 波增宽、缓慢性心律失常等)的危及生命的心律失常的猫科动物,立即使用碳酸氢钠(以推动细胞内钾)或葡萄糖酸钙(以稳定心脏并改变阈电位)是至关重要的。 VetGirl 批评家并不是胰岛素的忠实拥护者:根据我们的经验,葡萄糖组合治疗高钾血症的速度不够快。

VETgirl 最喜欢的镇静剂:每只猫总共 4 毫克布托啡诺、2.5 毫克地西泮和 10 毫克氯胺酮 IV。 有时,每只猫的丙泊酚总量需要达到 10-20 毫克。 最终,选择可以保护心血管并让您安全地疏通患者的镇静剂。

至于减压性膀胱。 VETgirl 通常不会这样做,除非患者病情危重和即将被捕。 我们在这里的解锁速度非常快,因此可以轻松稳定和解锁,而无需执行此操作。 我们接触减压性膀胱的唯一时间是患者即将被捕或我们无法解除阻塞(因为它可以减轻膀胱的背压)。 由于膀胱壁严重坏死和缺血,我们很少看到膀胱因此而破裂。

解锁时,请务必警告所有者 3 个主要风险:

  • 镇静并发症
  • 膀胱破裂
  • 导尿继发尿道损伤

最重要的是,积极使用 IV 液体利尿。 这是必要的,因为一些患者有严重的梗阻后利尿。 如有疑问,请监控来龙去脉。 有些猫需要 40-60 毫升/小时的静脉输液来帮助解决氮质血症、利尿、冲洗导尿管(这样您可以更快地拔出导尿管并让猫回家),

值得庆幸的是,大多数猫都做得很好,但有再次阻塞的风险!

有兴趣了解更多吗? 查看 职业女孩 ELITE,一种基于订阅的播客、网络研讨会和视频服务,您可以在其中获得超过 24 小时的 种族- 批准在线兽医 CE 一年!

  1. 嗨,维特女孩!

    伟大的视频!
    我在临床环境中无法做的是一旦插入导管,就可以将封闭的收集系统连接到它! 一个小的赫伯特连接器和一个输液伸长装置和一个尿袋(或空的静脉输液瓶)都在,但它不适合! 无论您以哪种方式扭转局面,“目的”之一就是错误的方式。

    也许是因为我是一名金发兽医…… 无论如何:任何提示和技巧?

  2. 在与我最后一只被阻塞的猫度过了一段非常艰难的时光之后,我今天在尝试解锁一只猫之前把它拉了起来,它就像一个魅力!

    希望您添加有关设置收集系统的信息(必须输入 VIN)。

  3. 嗨,
    今晚我会看看我们用于系统的品牌并让你知道。 我的问题是关于一个非常虚弱的(显然是临床症状的高钾血症),其所有者负担不起。 猫已被阻止 3 天并在一天结束时呈现。 你做什么工作? 在低预算的情况下可以采取哪些最具成本效益的行动?

只有 VETgirl 成员可以发表评论。 登陆 or 加入VETgirl 现在!

Vet Girl  VETgirl Blog

How to unblock a cat | Feline Urethral Obstruction | VETgirl Veterinary Continuing Education Video Blog

This VETgirl online veterinary CE blog demonstrates how to unblock and treat a feline urethral obstruction (FUO). While there are numerous techniques or tips on unblocking, keep in mind that our ultimate goal is to:

  • Stabilize the patient
  • Treat electrolyte abnormalities (e.g., severe hyperkalemia)
  • Unblock to relieve the urinary obstruction
  • Provide aggressive IV fluid therapy to diurese the patient, resolve the post-renal azotemia, correct electrolyte abnormalities, and to hydrate the patient who has post-obstructive diuresis secondary to an obstruction
  • Flush out the bladder
  • Pain control

Treatment includes IV catheter placement, initiation of fluid therapy (No, it doesn't matter if you haven't relieved the obstruction yet!), sedation and unblocking. In feline patients with life-threatening arrhythmias secondary to hyperkalemia (including a widened T wave, bradyarrhythmia, etc.), immediate treatment with sodium bicarbonate (to push potassium intracellular) or calcium gluconate (to stabilize the heart and change the threshold potential) is imperative. VetGirl criticalists aren't huge fans of the insulin: dextrose combination - doesn't treat the hyperkalemia fast enough in our experience.

VETgirl's fav sedation: 4 mg of butorphanol total per cat, 2.5 mg diazepam, and 10 mg of ketamine IV. Sometimes this needs to be topped off with 10-20 mg total per cat of propofol. Ultimately, pick sedation that is cardiovascular sparing and allows you to safely unblock the patient.

As for the decompressive cysto. VETgirl typically does not do this unless the patient is critically ill and peri-arrest. We're pretty fast unblockers here, so can easily stabilize and unblock without having to do this. The only time we reach for a decompressive cysto is if the patient is peri-arrest or if we are having difficulty unblocking (as it relieves the back pressure on the bladder). Rarely, we've seen bladders rupture from this due to severe necrosis and ischemia to the bladder wall.

When unblocking, make sure to warn the owners of 3 main risks:

  • Sedation complications
  • Rupture of the bladder
  • Urethral injury secondary to catheterization

Most importantly, be aggressive with IV fluid diuresis. This is imperative as some patients have a severe post-obstructive diuresis. When in doubt, monitor the ins and outs. Some cats require 40-60 mls/hour of IV fluids to help resolve the azotemia, diurese, flush out the urinary catheter line (so you can pull out the urinary catheter sooner and get the cat home),

Thankfully, most cats do well, but are at risk for re-obstruction!

Interested in learning more? Check out VETgirl ELITE, a subscription-based podcast, webinar & video service where you get over 24+ hours of RACE-approved online veterinary CE a year!

One thought on “How to unblock a cat | Feline Urethral Obstruction | VETgirl Veterinary Continuing Education Video Blog

  1. Hi Vetgirl!

    Great video!
    What I’m not able to do in my clinical setting is once the cathteter is inserted, to attach a closed collection system to it! A little herbert connector and a infusion elongation set and a urinary bag (or empty iv fluid bottle) are all present but it doesn’t fit! Any which way you turn things, one of the ‘ends’ is the wrong way around.

    Maybe because I’m a blond veterinarian…. Anyhow: any tips and tricks?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

From our Customers