2020 年 12 月

职业女孩 在线兽医继续教育博客 Amy Newfield、CVT、VTS (ECC) 回顾了如何使用新的猫科动物鬼脸量表对猫进行疼痛评分。

疼痛评分:猫的鬼脸量表
艾米纽菲尔德,CVT,VTS(ECC)

猫喜欢隐藏痛苦。 他们假装自己很好,所以周围的每个人仍然认为他们是他们想成为的无畏的掠食者。 不要喘气,很少发声。 他们不发牢骚或哭泣。 相反,他们沉默地坐着,忍受着痛苦……或者他们呢?

多亏了许多敬业的兽医专业人士,猫脸量表得以开发。 猫脸量表由蒙特利尔大学兽医学院的兽医教学医院 (CHUV – Center Hospitalier universitaire vétérinaire) 开发。 该团队希望分析猫的面部表情,以识别容易被兽医专业人士打断的疼痛。

客户同意教学医院在服用止痛药前后记录他们的猫。 使用了猫友好技术。 通过观看无数小时的视频,该团队能够识别出猫在疼痛时表现出的四种独特的面部变化。 而不是明显的发声痛苦的猫会改变他们的:

• 耳朵位置
• 轨道收紧
• 口吻张力
• 胡须位置

舒适的猫:
在舒适的猫中,研究人员指出:
• 耳朵朝前
• 眼睛完全睁开
• 脸型圆润而放松
• 胡须松散且弯曲
• 头高于肩膀

轻度至中度疼痛:
• 眼睛没有完全睁开
• 耳朵稍微分开
• 口吻紧张
• 胡须略微弯曲或笔直
• 头部与肩部对齐

中度至重度疼痛:
• 耳朵变平并向外旋转
• 眯着眼睛
• 口吻紧张
• 胡须笔直向前移动
• 头部低于肩膀或向下倾斜

对于这些受影响的面部特征中的每一个,都分配一个点值。 当猫的评分大于 10 时,必须考虑使用止痛药或每 15-XNUMX 分钟对患者进行一次评估,以寻找面部标记的变化。

Feline Grimace Scale 是一种快速准确的工具,它使用数据帮助兽医团队做出决策,以更好地管理猫的疼痛。 除非猫发出声音或明显颤抖,否则通常会错过疼痛迹象。 猫是沉默的,但确实表现出疼痛的迹象。 根据量表的分数,兽医团队可以在疼痛管理方面做出更明智的临床决策。

所有兽医专业人士都应该了解并熟悉猫脸量表。 它应该挂在猫科动物患者所在的治疗区域,作为观察和评估猫科动物患者疼痛的视觉提醒。

要测试您的技能,请下载图表并阅读数据,请访问:
www.felinegrimacescale.com

猫的鬼脸得分 VETgirl 博客

  1. 这真太了不起了! 当您看到它时,您就会知道其中的一种事情,但是为猫的面部表情提出一个客观的评分系统是多么巧妙。 感谢您发布此信息,我将与与我一起工作的员工分享。

  2. 惊人的! 猫是微妙的生物,您需要微妙的参数来评估它们。 喜欢这个

  3. 我喜欢我们被教导要阅读病人以获得更好的疼痛治疗! 猫是疯狂的坚忍者,这可以真正改变游戏规则。

只有 VETgirl 成员可以发表评论。 登陆 or 加入VETgirl 现在!

December 2020

In this VETgirl online veterinary continuing education blog, Amy Newfield, CVT, VTS (ECC) reviews how to pain score cats with the new Feline Grimace Scale.

Pain Scoring: Feline Grimace Scale
Amy Newfield, CVT, VTS (ECC)

Cats love to hide pain. They pretend they are fine so that everyone around them still thinks they are the fearless predator they want to be. The don’t pant and rarely vocalize. They don’t whine or cry. Instead they sit in silence and suffer in pain…or do they?

Thanks to many dedicated veterinary professionals, the Feline Grimace Scale was developed. The Feline Grimace Scale was developed by the Veterinary Teaching Hospital (CHUV – Centre hospitalier universitaire vétérinaire) of the Faculty of Veterinary Medicine, Université de Montréal. The team wanted to analyze facial expressions in cat to identify pain that was easy to interrupt by the veterinary professional.

Clients consented to the teaching hospital recording their cats before and after pain medication. Cat friendly techniques were used. Through watching countless of hours of video the team was able to identify four unique facial changes that cats performed when painful. Instead of obvious vocalizing painful cats will make changes in their:

• Ear position
• Orbital tightening
• Muzzle tension
• Whiskers position

Comfortable Cats:
In cats that were comfortable the researchers noted:
• Ears faced forward
• Eyes fully opened
• Face was round and relaxed
• Whiskers were loose and curved
• Head is above their shoulders

Mild to Moderate Pain:
• Eyes are not fully open
• Ears are pulled slightly apart
• Muzzle is tense
• Whiskers are slightly curved or straight
• Head is aligned with shoulders

Moderate to Severe Pain:
• Ears are flattened and rotated outwards
• Eyes are squinted
• Muzzle is tense
• Whiskers are straight and moving forwards
• Head is below the shoulders or tilted down

For each one of these facial features that are affected a point value is assigned. When a cat is assigned a point scale of greater than four then pain medication must be considered or the patient evaluated every 10-15 minutes to look for changes in the facial markers.

The Feline Grimace Scale is a fast and accurate tool that uses data to help the veterinary team drive decisions for better pain management in cats. Too often unless cats are vocalizing or visibly shaking the pain signs are missed. Cats are silent, but do exhibit signs of pain. Based on the score for the scale the veterinary team can make more informed clinical decision in pain management.

All veterinary professional should be aware of and comfortable with the Feline Grimace Scale. It should be hung in the treatment area where feline patients are housed as a visual reminder to look and assess feline patient’s pain.

To test your skills, download the chart and read the data go to:
www.felinegrimacescale.com

Feline Grimace Score VETgirl blog

  1. This is amazing! Kind of one of those things you know when you see it, but how ingenious to come up with an objective scoring system for a cat’s facial expression. Thank you for posting this, I’m going to share it with the staff I work with.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *