2022 年 三月

职业女孩 在线兽医继续教育 新闻,博士 Justine Lee, DACVECC, DABT 回顾了 BIG 4(例如,PCV/TS/BG/BUN)在日常兽医学中的重要性。 BIG 4,通常称为快速评估测试 (QATS) 或最小数据库 (MBD),允许对兽医患者进行快速评估。 虽然一些临床医生经常“吹嘘”这一点,但您可以从这 4 项测试中获得大量信息。

作为一名紧急重症监护专家,我使用了 BIG 4 EVERY。 单身的。 兽医急诊室的一天,因为 PCV/TS 为您提供了如此多的信息! 请继续阅读以了解更多信息!

作者:Justine Lee 博士,DACVECC,DABT
VETgirl 医学总监/首席执行官

BIG 4 PCV/TS/BG/BUN 在兽医学中的重要性

刚刚把你的血液检查送到了外面的实验室? 明天才能取血样结果? 一天后刚做完血液检查,不好意思打电话给你的主人告诉他们他们的宠物患有严重的肾功能衰竭或糖尿病酮症酸中毒 (DKA) 患者,而你直到 24 小时后才把它捡起来? 如有疑问,请在送出血液之前检查患者的 BIG 4。 这个简单的两分钟快速评估测试将通过多种方式使您的诊所受益:它不仅可以增加患者护理并帮助您快速识别患者的病情,还可以帮助您为您的所有者微调鉴别诊断并可能增加你的收入。 很简单,通过这四种快速测试,您可以在几秒钟内排除肾衰竭、糖尿病或 DKA、贫血、严重脱水、严重低血容量、失血或蛋白质丢失性肠病 (PLE) 或肾病 (PLN) 等疾病。

接下来,任何因静脉输液住院的患者都应该每天进行一次 BIG 4,因为这将有助于指导进一步的治疗和液体治疗。 人们可以使用 PCV/TS 作为每天评估水合状态的工具。 静脉输液的正常健康患者应该是血液稀释的,PCV 为 30-35%,总固体 (TS) 为 5-5.5 mg/dL。 同样,静脉输液的正常健康患者的比重应在 1.015-1.018 之间,以表明适当的水合作用。 不幸的是,某些潜在疾病会影响比重(包括糖尿病、甲状腺功能亢进、肾上腺皮质机能亢进、肾衰竭、呋塞米给药等),并阻止我们仅通过比重来准确评估水合作用。

填充细胞体积和总固体
在下表中,对 PCV/TS 初始表现(预液体治疗)的评估可以帮助微调您的鉴别诊断。

PCV/TS 的另一个好处是评估血细胞比容管中血清的颜色。 任何黄疸、溶血或脂血症的指标都将有助于微调您的鉴别诊断并有助于进一步诊断。 例如,一只厌食猫发热、呕吐,并且在最初的血液检查中血清呈黄疸,这表明存在潜在的肝脏疾病(如肝脂质沉积症、胆管肝炎或胰腺炎三联征)。 严重贫血狗的溶血血样提示免疫介导溶血性贫血 (IMHA),需要立即进行载玻片凝集试验(参见“IMHA 患者的紧急处理”程序)。 呕吐患者的严重血脂样本应使临床医生怀疑胰腺炎。 同样,在任何严重高血糖患者中,血细胞比容管中的血清可用于评估血清酮的存在(使用尿液试纸)。

PCV/TS 兽医女孩

血糖(BG)
当测量血糖作为 BIG 4 的一部分时,可以检测到血糖正常、低血糖或高血糖。 一般来说,手持式血糖仪在中高范围内是准确的,但在低范围内往往比正常运行低 10-15 mg/dL; 这种设计是为了刺激人类(患有糖尿病)进食以防止低血糖休克。

我们应该决定在谁身上检查 BG? 如有疑问,应检查任何表现出全身不适的患者的 BG。 还必须对所有出现虚弱、呕吐和腹泻的新生儿或儿科患者进行血糖检查,以确保他们没有低血糖。 也就是说,任何 BG < 55-60(取决于临床体征)都应立即进餐(如果没有呕吐或误吸风险等禁忌症)或静脉补充 50% 葡萄糖(0.5-1.5 ml)进行适当治疗/kg,用 IV 生理盐水按 1:2 或 1:3 稀释,给予 1 分钟),然后在维持液中以 2.5% 至 5% 的葡萄糖补充恒速输注 (CRI)。 成年患者绝不应仅因营养不良而出现低血糖,如果检测到,排除应包括实验室错误、胰岛素过量、良性或恶性肝肿瘤(肝细胞瘤)、胰岛素瘤或败血症。 另一方面,高血糖的证据应促使对以下差异进行进一步的诊断评估:应激性高血糖(猫)、糖尿病、不适当的葡萄糖补充和血容量不足。 对于严重高血糖(> 200 mg/dL)的患者,应考虑排除糖尿病等因素。 应进行全面的病史询问,以询问所有者是否存在多尿、多饮、体重减轻等临床症状。糖尿的存在和高血糖或糖尿的可重复记录应保证对糖尿病进行检查。 当出现轻度高血糖犬患者(即血糖 159 mg/dL)时,必须仔细评估患者的血容量不足、休克或灌注不良。 非糖尿病犬类患者出现轻度高血糖(无 pu/pd、体重减轻、糖尿等病史)高度提示“死亡压力”(SOD); 换句话说,患者严重血容量不足,因此,正在释放大量压力荷尔蒙(即皮质醇、肾上腺素等),导致这种轻度高血糖症。 如果合适,应积极稳定该患者并进行容量复苏。

偶氮棒(包子)
最后,可以使用 AZOSTICK(这是对 BUN 的粗略估计)测量初步肾功能。 轻度氮质血症的存在可能是肾前疾病或肾脏疾病,理想情况下,应在开始静脉输液之前获得尿比重 (sp. gr.) 以区分两者。 BUN > 50-80(最高读数)应立即提示进一步的血液检查(例如静脉血气测量肌酐或 BUN,或更具体的肌酐测量)。 只要没有膀胱穿刺术的禁忌症(如蓄脓、凝血障碍、腹水、血小板减少或血小板病等),sp。 克。 应该在任何液体治疗之前进行评估,以帮助评估适当的尿液浓度。 请记住,潜在的疾病如肾上腺皮质功能亢进、甲状腺功能亢进、糖尿病、心因性烦渴等都会影响判断肾脏浓度的能力。

这些快速评估测试使您作为临床医生能够快速诊断和完善您的鉴别诊断,并为客户提供更便宜的监测参数。 BIG 4 可用于一般和紧急实践,因为它可以让人们彻底评估患者。

不足之处? 做更多的四大(或任何你想称之为的)。 单身的。 兽医学的一天,特别是对于那些生病或静脉输液的患者!

  1. 我们医院不使用 Azostick,我很高兴能更多地了解它们并将其呈现给我们的实践经理,以尝试看看我们是否可以开始订购它们。

  2. 绝对让我更多地思考我们为什么要作为兽医护士进行这些测试。 我肯定会要求我的文档在演示文稿中做更多这样的事情。

  3. 哇! 这是很好的建议! 我从事急诊医学工作,我们经常检查这些值,有时一个班最多检查四次

  4. 很有帮助。 我们不在我们的诊所进行 Azostick,但我会与我的护士同事和医生核实,看看他们之前是否在不同的诊所进行过,或者我们之前是否在诊所进行过。

  5. 喜欢学习更多,这篇文章非常有启发性。 我绝对可以将这些知识传播给其他同事,让知识在整个医院传播。 谢谢

只有 VETgirl 成员可以发表评论。 登陆 or 加入VETgirl 现在!

March 2022

In this VETgirl online veterinary continuing education blog, Dr. Justine Lee, DACVECC, DABT reviews the importance of the BIG 4 (e.g., PCV/TS/BG/BUN) in every day veterinary medicine. The BIG 4, often called Quick Assessment Tests (QATS) or Minimum Database (MBD), allows for rapid assessment of the veterinary patient. While some clinicians often “blow” this off, you can gain a WEALTH of information from these 4 tests.

As an emergency critical care specialist, I utilized the BIG 4 EVERY. SINGLE. DAY in the veterinary ER, as the PCV/TS gives you so much information! Read on to learn more!

By Dr. Justine Lee, DACVECC, DABT
Director of Medicine / CEO, VETgirl

The Importance of the BIG 4 PCV/TS/BG/BUN in veterinary medicine

Just sent your blood work to an outside lab? Not going to get the blood results back until tomorrow? Just got the blood work a day later, and too embarrassed to call your owner to tell them that their pet is in severe kidney failure or is a diabetic ketoacidotic (DKA) patient and you didn’t pick it up until 24 hours later? When in doubt, check a BIG 4 on your patient before sending out that blood. This simple two-minute quick assessment test will benefit your clinic in multiple ways: not only will it increase patient care and help you rapidly recognize just how sick your patient is, but it will help you fine tune differential diagnoses for your owner and potentially increase your revenue. Quite simply, with these four rapid tests you can rule out kidney failure, diabetes mellitus or DKA, anemia, severe dehydration, severe hypovolemia, blood loss, or diseases such as protein-losing enteropathy (PLE) or nephropathy (PLN) within seconds.

Next, any patient that you have hospitalized on IV fluids should have a BIG 4 performed daily, as it will help guide further treatment and fluid therapy. One can use PCV/TS as a tool in evaluating hydration status on a daily basis. Normal healthy patients on IV fluids should be hemodilute and have a PCV of 30-35% and a total solids (TS) of 5-5.5 mg/dL. Likewise, a normal, healthy patient on IV fluids should have a specific gravity between 1.015-1.018 to indicate appropriate hydration. Unfortunately, certain underlying diseases affect specific gravity (including diabetes mellitus, hyperthyroidism, hyperadrenocorticism, renal failure, furosemide administration, etc) and prevent us from being able to accurately assess hydration with specific gravity alone.

PACKED CELL VOLUME AND TOTAL SOLIDS
In the chart below, evaluation of PCV/TS on initial presentation (pre-fluid therapy) can help fine tune your differential diagnoses.

Another benefit of the PCV/TS is the assessment of the color of the serum in the hematocrit tube. Any indicator of icterus, hemolysis, or lipemia will help fine tune your differential diagnoses and aid in further diagnostics. For example, an anorexic cat that is febrile, vomiting, and has icteric serum on initial blood work would suggest underlying liver disease (such as hepatic lipidosis, cholangiohepatitis, or the triad of pancreatitis). A hemolyzed blood sample in a severely anemic dog would suggest immune-mediated hemolytic anemia (IMHA), and warrants doing an immediate slide agglutination test (see proceedings for “Emergency Management of the IMHA Patient”). A severely lipemic sample in a vomiting patient should make the clinician suspicious of pancreatitis. Likewise, in any severely hyperglycemic patient, the serum in the hematocrit tube can be used to evaluate for the presence of serum ketones (using a urine dipstick).

PCV/TS VETgirl

BLOOD GLUCOSE (BG)
When measuring blood glucose as part of the BIG 4, one will detect either euglycemia, hypoglycemic, or hyperglycemia. Generally, a handheld glucometer is accurate in the middle to high range, but often runs 10-15 mg/dL lower than normal in the low-range; this design is to stimulate a human (with diabetes) to eat to prevent hypoglycemic shock.

Who should we decide to check a BG on? When in doubt, a BG should be checked in any patient showing generalized malaise. It is also imperative that a BG be checked in all neonatal or pediatric patients who present for weakness, vomiting, and diarrhea to ensure that they are not hypoglycemic. That said, any BG < 55-60 (depending on clinical signs) should be appropriately treated with an immediate meal (if there are no contraindications such as vomiting or risks of aspiration) or with IV supplementation of 50% dextrose (0.5-1.5 ml/kg, diluted 1:2 or 1:3 with IV saline, given over 1 minute), followed by a constant rate infusion (CRI) of 2.5% to 5% dextrose supplementation in maintenance fluids. Adult patients should never become hypoglycemic from malnutrition alone, and if detected, ruleouts should include lab error, insulin overdose, benign or malignant liver tumors (hepatomas), insulinomas, or sepsis. Evidence of hyperglycemia, on the other hand, should prompt further diagnostic evaluation for the following differentials: stress hyperglycemia (cats), diabetes, inappropriate dextrose supplementation, and hypovolemia. In patients with a severe hyperglycemia (> 200 mg/dL), rule outs such as diabetes mellitus should be considered. A thorough history should be performed to query the owner on presence of clinical signs such as polyuria, polydypsia, weight loss, etc. The presence of glucosuria and repeatable documentation of hyperglycemia or glucosuria should warrant a workup of diabetes mellitus. When presented with a mildly hyperglycemic canine patient (i.e., BG 159 mg/dL), one must carefully assess the patient for hypovolemia, shock, or poor perfusion. The presence of a mild hyperglycemia in a non-diabetic, canine patient (with no history of pu/pd, weight loss, glucosuria, etc.) is highly suggestive of a “stress of death” (SOD); in other words, the patient is severely hypovolemic, and as a result, is releasing massive stress hormones (i.e., cortisol, epinephrine, etc.) resulting in this mild hyperglycemia. This patient should be aggressively stabilized and volume resuscitated if appropriate.

AZOSTICK (BUN)
Lastly, one can measure preliminary renal function with an AZOSTICK (which is a gross estimate of BUN). The presence of a mild azotemia may be either pre-renal or renal disease, and ideally, a urine specific gravity (sp. gr.) should be obtained prior to starting IV fluids to differentiate the two. A BUN > 50-80 (highest reading) should immediately prompt further blood work (such as a venous blood gas measuring creatinine or BUN, or a more specific measurement of creatinine). As long as there are no contraindications for cystocentesis (such as pyometra, coagulopathy, ascites, thrombocytopenia or thrombocytopathia, etc.), a sp. gr. should be assessed prior to any fluid therapy to help evaluate appropriate urine concentration. Keep in mind that underlying diseases such as hyperadrenocorticism, hyperthyroidism, diabetes, psychogenic polydipsia, etc. will affect the ability to judge renal concentration.

These quick assessment tests provide you as a clinician the ability to rapidly diagnose and refine your differential diagnoses, and provide a less expensive monitoring parameter for clients. The BIG 4 can be utilized in both general and emergency practice, as it allows one to thoroughly evaluate a patient.

The short of it? Do MORE Big 4’s (or whatever you want to call it) EVERY. SINGLE. DAY in veterinary medicine, especially for those patients presenting ill or on IV fluids!

  1. We do not perform Azostick at our hospital, I am very excited to learn more about them and present it to our practice manager to try and see if we can start ordering them.

  2. Definitely makes me think more about why we’re doing these tests as a Vet Nurse. I will definitely be asking my docs to do more of this on presentation.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.