山姆。
山姆 我是。
SAM 我在 HOCM 中很常见。

山姆心 1不……这不是苏斯博士的新心脏病学押韵。 SAM 是二尖瓣“收缩期前移”的缩写。 SAM 是一个术语,用于描述在收缩期间,乳头肌扩大和左心室增厚将中隔(前)二尖瓣小叶拉入左心室流出道 (LVOT) 时,如某些类型的心脏病的典型表现(特别是肥厚性心肌病(HCM)。

左心室流出道的继发性阻塞(同样是 LVOT——你很快就会发现 VetGirl 对缩写上瘾)可能通过额外的压力超负荷使 LV 肥大恶化。

 

山姆心 2收缩期前移通常在二尖瓣的 M 型评估中被记录为在早中期收缩期隔膜小叶向室间隔 (IVS) 的异常运动。

彩色多普勒叠加到二尖瓣的 M 型询问可以记录 SAM 期间的血流湍流。

 

为什么这件事情?

导致的流出道阻塞本质上是一种动态主动脉下狭窄 (SAS),它增加了通过主动脉下区域的血流速度,从而导致湍流。 此外,间隔小叶的异常位置会导致二尖瓣出现间隙并最终导致二尖瓣关闭不全。 这就是为什么患有 HCM 和 SAM 的猫会听到心脏杂音的可能原因。

这是如何诊断的?
二尖瓣 SAM 可以通过超声心动图识别。

[jwplayer 玩家=”1″ playlistid=”2460″]

[jwplayer 玩家=”1″ playlistid=”2465″]

SAM如何治疗?

治疗将取决于心脏病的程度,可能包括利尿剂,如呋塞米、ACE 抑制剂(如依那普利)、控制心率的药物(如阿替洛尔等 β 受体阻滞剂)或放松心脏的药物(如钙通道)地尔硫卓等阻滞剂)。 最终,这些将基于临床体征和诊断(血液检查、胸部 X 线片和超声心动图)。 有关更多信息,请查看我们关于在猫中使用匹莫苯的播客……以了解它是否与 HCM 一起使用!

  1. 我不是兽医。 我希望我能加入。 这篇文章帮助我了解了我的猫的心脏状况。 此外,了解他的超声心动图和多普勒。 希望我能学到更多。 我爱他,祈祷他越来越好。。
    VetGirl 你摇滚!

只有 VETgirl 成员可以发表评论。 登陆 or 加入VETgirl 现在!

Vet Girl  VETgirl Blog

Systolic Anterior Motion (SAM) and feline echocardiography | VetGirl Veterinary CE Blog

SAM.
SAM I am.
SAM I am commonly seen with HOCM.

SAM Heart 1No...it is not Dr. Seuss' new cardiology rhyme. SAM is the abbreviation for "systolic anterior motion" of the mitral valve.  SAM is the term used to describe when the septal (anterior) mitral valve leaflet is pulled into the left ventricular outflow tract  (LVOT) during systole by the enlarged papillary muscles and thickening of the left ventricle, as classically seen with certain types of heart disease (specifically Hypertrophic Cardiomyopathy (HCM).

Secondary obstruction of the left ventricular outflow tract (again, LVOT - you'll soon discover that VetGirl is addicted to abbreviations) may worsen LV hypertrophy through additional pressure overload.

 

SAM Heart 2Systolic anterior motion is often documented on M-mode evaluation of the mitral valve as abnormal movement of the septal leaflet towards the interventricular septum (IVS) in early-midsystole.

Superimposition of color Doppler to the M-mode interrogation of the mitral valve can document the blood flow turbulence during SAM.

 

Why does this matter?

The outflow tract obstruction that results is essentially a dynamic subaortic stenosis (SAS) that increases the velocity of blood flow through the subaortic region, resulting in turbulence. Moroever, the abnormal position of the septal leaflet results in a gap in the mitral valve and ultimately mitral regurgitation. This is the likely reason why cats with HCM and SAM have an audile heart murmur.

How is this diagnosed?
Mitral valve SAM can are identified with echocardiography.

How is SAM treated?

Treatment will depend on the degree of cardiac disease, potentially including diuretics such as furosemide, ACE inhibitors (e.g., enalapril), medications for rate control (e.g., beta-blockers like atenolol), or medications to relax the heart (e.g., calcium channel blockers like diltiazem). Ultimately these will be based on clinical signs and diagnostics (bloodwork, thoracic radiorgaphs, and echocardiogram). For more information, check out our podcast on the use of pimobendan in cats... to find out if it's contraindicated with HCM or not!

One thought on “Systolic Anterior Motion (SAM) and feline echocardiography | VetGirl Veterinary CE Blog

  1. I’m not a vet. I wish I could join. This article helped me understand my cats heart condition so much. Also, to understand his echocardiogram and Doppler. Wish I could learn more. I am loving him and prays he gets better..
    VetGirl you rock!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

From our Customers