在今天 职业女孩 在线兽医继续教育 新闻,我们讨论狗的肺叶扭转。 肺叶扭转虽然不是很常见,但在急诊室经常看到,因为患者出现急性呼吸窘迫。 尽管已知某些情况会使患者容易发生肺叶扭转(例如外伤、膈疝、胸腔积液、肿瘤、既往胸腔手术等),但其中许多病例都有 不明 扭转的原因。

虽然自发性肺叶扭转的发病机制尚不完全清楚,但一种理论认为,肺叶部分塌陷会导致肺活动性增加,从而使肺可以绕其长轴旋转。 沿长轴的旋转导致支气管和肺血管系统的扭转。

 

与其他血管器官的扭转类似,尽管发生扭转,有力且肌肉发达的肺动脉仍将继续将血液泵入器官。 当有持续的动脉血流时,较弱的肺静脉将不允许器官(肺)的静脉回流和引流。 这导致肺叶充血。

肺叶扭转患者的常见临床症状可能包括:
– 急性呼吸窘迫(呼吸急促、呼吸困难)
– 咳嗽
– 咯血
– 心动过速
– 呼吸急促
– 苍白的粘膜
– 肺音降低
– 低沉的心音
– 胸部听诊有裂纹

信号
– 肺叶扭转在包括阿富汗猎犬在内的大型犬、深胸犬中更为常见。
– 虽然在大型犬中更常见,但也有记录在案的小型犬种,包括哈巴狗、马耳他犬、约克夏犬、博美犬、西施犬和北京犬。

诊断:
尽管包括胸部超声检查、计算机断层扫描 (CT) 和支气管镜检查在内的先进诊断方法可用于诊断这种情况,但大多数实践中没有这些诊断方法可以立即使用或评估。

由于 VETgirl 教授实用医学,让我们回顾一下大多数兽医团队在实践中的诊断方法:

1) 胸部 X 射线:胸部 X 光检查最常见的变化包括:
– 犬的右中肺和左颅叶最常受到影响。
– 胸腔积液
– 一个 lobar 标志
– 受累肺叶因充血而扩大(如上所述)
– 可能是肺泡型,受影响的肺叶有空气支气管征(看得更清楚)
– 水泡状气体模式(即水泡性肺气肿)
– 受影响的支气管移位

在这张 V/D 胸片中,您可以在其他合并肺区域看到经典的囊泡气体模式。

在这张侧位胸片中,您可以看到支气管变钝,典型的是受影响的肺叶扭转

注意:请确保获得 3 视图胸片系列来帮助您!

2) 脉搏血氧仪: 虽然这不会给出具体的诊断,但这有助于客观地记录低氧血症。 请记住,90% 的脉搏牛读数是可怕的,并且与 2 毫米汞柱的 paO60 相关(非常低氧,80-100 毫米汞柱是正常的)。

3) 胸腔穿刺术:由于这些患者中有许多会出现胸腔积液,因此对诊断或治疗样本进行胸腔穿刺术可能会有所帮助。 与排除肺叶扭转相比,胸腔积液的细胞学检查更有可能排除其他疾病(例如,肿瘤)。 肺叶扭转的胸腔积液通常为血清血性至出血性,分类为改良漏出液。 虽然可能有中性粒细胞、炎症成分,但不应看到传染源。

4) 治疗方法: 虽然肺叶扭转患者可能需要药物治疗,包括液体治疗、氧疗和潜在的镇静或镇痛,但最终的治疗方法是手术切除相关肺叶。

Garret Pachtinger 博士,DACVECC
VETgirl 联合创始人

参考文献:
1) Cohn LA:肺实质疾病。 兽医内科学教科书,7 版。 Saunders Elsevier,圣路易斯,2010 年,第 1118-19 页。
2) d'Anjou MA、Tidwell AS、Hecht S:肺叶扭转的放射学诊断。 Vet Radiol Ultrasound 2005 Vol 46 (6) pp. 478-84。
3) Rooney MB、Lanz O、Monnet E:两只哈巴狗的自发性肺叶扭转。 J Am Anim Hosp 2001 Vol 37 (2) pp. 128-30。
4) Santa DD、Marchetti V、Lang J 等人:你的诊断是什么? 右肺中叶扭转。 J Am Vet Med Assoc 2006 Vol 229 (11) pp. 1725-6。

只有 VETgirl 成员可以发表评论。 登陆 or 加入VETgirl 现在!

Vet Girl  VETgirl Blog

Canine Lung Lobe Torsion | VETgirl Veterinary Continuing Education Blog

In today's VETgirl online veterinary continuing education blog, we discuss lung lobe torsions in dogs. Lung lobe torsions, although not very common, are often seen in the emergency room as the patient presents with an acute onset of respiratory distress. Although there are conditions known to predispose a patient to a lung lobe torsion (e.g. trauma, diaphragmatic hernia, pleural effusion, neoplasia, previous thoracic surgery, etc), many of these cases have an unknown cause for the torsion.

While the pathogenesis of a spontaneous lung lobe torsion is not completely understood, one theory is that a partial collapse of a lung lobe will result in increased lung mobility, allowing the lung to rotate on its long axis. The rotation along the long axis results in a torsion of the bronchus and pulmonary vasculature.

 

Similar to torsions of other vascular organs, the forceful and muscular pulmonary artery will continue to pump blood into the organ despite the torsion. While there is continued arterial bloodflow, the weaker pulmonary vein will not allow venous return and drainage from the organ (lung). This results in congestion of the lung lobe.

Common clinical signs of patients with a lung lobe torsion may include:
- Acute respiratory distress (tachypnea, dyspnea)
- Coughing
- Hemoptysis
- Tachycardia
- Tachypnea
- Pale mucous membranes
- Decreased lung sounds
- Muffled heart sounds
- Crackles on thoracic auscultation

Signalment
- Lung lobe torsion is more common in large breed, deep-chested dogs including Afghan hounds.
- Although more common in large breed dogs, smaller breeds including pugs, Maltese, Yorkshire terrier, Pomeranian, Shih Tzu, and Pekingese have also been documented.

Diagnostics:
Although advanced diagnostics including thoracic ultrasonography, computed tomography (CT), and bronchoscopy can be used to diagnose this condition, most practices do not have these diagnostics for immediate use or evaluation.

As VETgirl teaches practical medicine, let's review diagnostics that most veterinary teams have in practice:

1) Thoracic X-Rays: The most common changes seen on thoracic x-rays include:
- The right middle lung and left cranial lobes are most commonly affected in dogs.
- Pleural effusion
- A lobar sign
- Enlargement of the affected lobe as they become congested (discussed above)
- Potentially an alveolar pattern with air bronchograms in the affected lobe (seen more acutely)
- A vesicular gas pattern (i.e. vesicular emphysema)
- Displacement of the affected bronchus

In this V/D thoracic radiograph, you can see the classic vesicular gas pattern in an otherwise area of consolidated lung.

In this lateral thoracic radiograph, you can see the blunting of the bronchus, classic with a torsion of the affected lung lobe

NOTE: Please make sure to get a 3-view chest radiograph series to help you!

2) Pulse Oximetry: Although this will not give a specific diagnosis, this is helpful to objectively document hypoxemia. Remember, a pulse ox reading of 90% is terrible, and correlates with a paO2 of 60 mm Hg (very hypoxemic, with 80-100 mm Hg being normal).

3) Thoracocentesis: As many of these patients develop pleural effusion, thoracocentesis for a diagnostic or therapeutic sample can be helpful. Cytology of pleural effusion is more likely to rule out other disease (e.g., neoplasia) than rule-in a lung lobe torsion. Pleural effusion in cases of lung lobe torsions are often serosanguineous to hemorrhagic with a classification of being a modified transudate. While there may be a neutrophilic, inflammatory component, infectious agents should not be seen.

4) Treatment: While patients with lung lobe torsion may require medical therapy including fluid therapy, oxygen therapy, and potentially sedation or analgesia, the definitive therapy is surgical removal of the lung lobe in question.

Dr. Garret Pachtinger, DACVECC
Co-Founder, VETgirl

References:
1) Cohn LA: Pulmonary Parenchymal Disease. Textbook of Veterinary Internal Medicine, 7 ed. Saunders Elsevier, St. Louis 2010 pp. 1118-19.
2) d’Anjou M-A, Tidwell AS, Hecht S: Radiographic diagnosis of lung lobe torsion. Vet Radiol Ultrasound 2005 Vol 46 (6) pp. 478-84.
3) Rooney MB, Lanz O, Monnet E: Spontaneous lung lobe torsion in two pugs. J Am Anim Hosp 2001 Vol 37 (2) pp. 128-30.
4) Santa DD, Marchetti V, Lang J et al: What is your diagnosis? Torsion of the right middle lung lobe. J Am Vet Med Assoc 2006 Vol 229 (11) pp. 1725-6.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

From our Customers