在今天的VETgirl在线兽医继续教育 新闻,我们在一个由 2 部分组成的系列中回顾了猫尿道梗阻 (FUO)。 FUO 是一种常见于全科医生和急诊医生的疾病。 大多数 FUO 患者表现稳定,仅有轻度脱水或早期出现临床症状。 也就是说,大约 12% 的 FUO 猫患有氮质血症和严重的酸碱或电解质异常(如高钾血症、低钙血症和代谢性酸中毒)(Lee,2003)。 由于明显的体液不足,FUO 可导致脱水甚至血容量不足。 24-48小时内可见氮质血症; 未经治疗,可在 60-75 小时内看到死亡 (Lane, 2012)。 严重的电解质变化和氮质血症可能是肾后梗阻的结果。 电解质变化可导致危及生命的心律失常并导致心血管衰竭。 必须立即启动识别和治疗,以确保这些危重患者获得最佳结果。 在这个由 2 部分组成的博客中,我们将回顾信号/病因、临床体征、体检结果和诊断检查。 下周,我们将完成对 FUO 患者的整体治疗!

信号与病因
FUO 常见于年轻、雄性、超重的猫(年龄从 2-6 岁不等)(Reineke,2013 年)。 出现 FUO 的老年猫(> 10 岁)通常有潜在的疾病,例如尿路感染(见于约 50% 的病例)和潜在的肿瘤(Reineke,2013)。 FUO 可由尿道栓塞(如晶体、WBC、RBC、蛋白质、无定形物质等)、结石、痉挛、尿道水肿或特发性原因引起。 研究表明,大多数 FUO 病例是特发性的 (53%),而 29% 是由于尿石,其余 18% 是由于栓塞 (Reineke, 2013)。

历史发现
在 FUO 的情况下,应询问宠物主人:

• 既往病史
• 临床症状的持续时间
• 室内/室外状态
• 既往有猫下尿路疾病 (FLUTD) 或 FUO 病史
• 垃圾箱管理(例如,有盖与无盖、数量、清洁频率、垃圾箱的位置等)
• 家中猫的数量(例如,猫间攻击等)
• 猫砂的类型(例如,结块、粘土、水晶、全天然等)
• 水源
• 饮食(例如,干的还是罐头的)
• 临床症状史
• 环境因素(例如压力等)

临床体征
猫尿道梗阻的临床症状包括:

• 全身不适/嗜睡
• 食欲不振发展为厌食症
• 不适当的排尿(例如,在浴缸里、主人面前、塑料袋上等)
•呕吐
• 排尿困难
• 尿频
• 斯特兰古里亚
• 血尿
• “便秘”
• 脱水
• 腹痛
• 咆哮

体检
FUO 的常见发现包括:

• 脱水
• 因疼痛或不适而嚎叫
• 脉冲质量差
•心动过速
•心动过缓
• 呼吸急促
• 触诊时坚硬、膨胀、无法表达、疼痛的膀胱(通常扩大)
• 延长 CRT
• 坍塌
• 阴茎突出
• 过度梳理导致包皮区域发炎

通过猫尿道梗阻中的雄猫

通过猫尿道梗阻中的雄猫


诊断检查
理想情况下,基线血液工作应包括一个最低数据库,包括压实细胞体积 (PCV)、总固体 (TS)、BUN (Azostick)、血糖、静脉血气和电解质(特别是评估钠、钾、离子钙)。 如果不存在经济限制,可以进行全血细胞计数 (CBC)、生化检查和尿液分析; 由于资金有限,理想情况下,资源应用于治疗和挽救生命的护理,而不是诊断。 对于氮质血症患者或有严重电解质异常的患者,应至少每天复查血液检查(如电解质、肾功能、静脉血气等),具体取决于患者的稳定性。 理想情况下应进行 II 导联心电图 (ECG) 以评估是否存在心脏传导异常或心律失常,尤其是在心动过缓的猫中(例如,HR < 160 bpm)。 高钾血症的心电图异常包括尖峰 T 波(例如,T 波的峰值和变窄)、QT 间期缩短、QRS 波群增宽、P 波缺失、PR 访谈时间延长、ST 段压低、心动过缓和罕见的心室颤动、颤动或心搏停止。 可以进行 X 光片检查是否存在囊性或尿道结石。 可能需要进行超声(例如,FAST)以评估是否存在尿路、尿路肿块、囊性结石等。不幸的是,这不能很好地评估尿道,因为小尿石可能难以通过超声检测到。

在下周的 VETgirl 在线兽医继续教育博客中查看第 2 部分! 您还可以查看我们关于如何解锁猫的视频 点击本链接浏览.

版权所有 VETgirl, 2016

参考文献:

  • 李 JA,德罗巴茨 KJ。 尿道梗阻公猫的临床特征、电解质、酸碱度和肾脏参数的表征。 J Vet Emerg Crit Care 2003;13(4):227-33。
  • 雷内克 EL。 猫尿道梗阻:紧急治疗和稳定。 2013 年西方兽医会议,论文集。
  • 车道IF。 猫尿道梗阻的常见挑战。 2012 年西方兽医会议,论文集。
  • Francis BJ、Wells RJ、Rao S 等。 回顾性研究以表征患有尿道梗阻的猫的梗阻后利尿。 J Feline Med Surg 2010;12:606-608。
  • Drobatz KJ,Cole S。晶体类型对尿道梗阻猫酸碱和电解质状态的影响。 J Vet Emerg Crit Care 2008;18(4):355-61。
  • Cooper ES、Owens TJ、Chew DJ 等。 一种无需导尿的雄性猫尿道梗阻治疗方案。 JAVMA 2010;237(11):1261-1266。
  • Hall J、Hall K、Powell L、Lulich J。通过减压膀胱穿刺术和导尿管治疗尿道梗阻的雄性猫的结果:47 只猫。 JVECC 2015;25(2):256-262。

    只有 VETgirl 成员可以发表评论。 登陆 or 加入VETgirl 现在!

Vet Girl  VETgirl Blog

Feline urethral obstruction: Part 1 | VETgirl Veterinary Continuing Education Blog

In today's VETgirl online veterinary continuing education blog, we review feline urethral obstruction (FUO) in a 2-part series. FUO is a common disorder presenting to both the general practitioner and the emergency clinician. The majority of FUO patients present stable, with only mild dehydration or early onset of clinical signs. That said, approximately 12% of FUO cats present critically ill with azotemia and severe acid-base or electrolyte abnormalities (such as hyperkalemia, hypocalcemia, and metabolic acidosis) (Lee, 2003). FUO can result in dehydration and even hypovolemia due to significant fluid deficits. Azotemia can be seen within 24-48 hours; untreated, death can be seen within 60-75 hours (Lane, 2012). Profound electrolyte changes and azotemia can be seen as a result of a post-renal obstruction. Electrolyte changes can result in life-threatening arrhythmias and contribute to cardiovascular collapse. Prompt recognition and treatment must be initiated to ensure the best outcome in these critically ill patients. In this 2-part blog, we'll review signalment/etiology, clinical signs, physical examination findings and diagnostic work-up. Next week, we'll finish with overall treatment of the FUO patient!

Signalment and Etiology
FUO is commonly seen in young, male, overweight cats (ranging in age from 2-6 years of age) (Reineke, 2013). Older cats (>10 years of age) presenting with FUO often have underlying disease such as urinary tract infections (seen in approximately 50% of cases) and underlying neoplasia (Reineke, 2013). FUO can occur as a result of urethral plugs (e.g., aggregates of crystals, WBC, RBC, protein, amorphous material, etc.), calculi, spasm, urethral edema, or idiopathic causes. Studies have shown that the majority of cases of FUO are idiopathic (53%), while 29% are due to uroliths and the remaining 18% are due to plugs (Reineke, 2013).

Historical findings
In cases of FUO, the pet owner should be queried on:

• Previous medical history
• Duration of clinical signs
• Indoor/outdoor status
• Previous history of feline lower urinary tract disease (FLUTD) or FUO
• Litter box husbandry (e.g., covered vs. uncovered, number, frequency of cleaning, location of boxes, etc.)
• Number of cats in the household (e.g., inter-cat aggression, etc.)
• Type of kitty litter (e.g., clumping, clay, crystal, all natural, etc.)
• Sources of water
• Diet (e.g., dry versus canned)
• History of clinical signs
• Environmental factors (e.g., stress, etc.)

Clinical signs
Clinical signs of feline urethral obstruction include:

• Generalized malaise/lethargy
• Inappetance progressing to anorexia
• Inappropriate urination (e.g., in a bath tub, in front of the owner, on a plastic bag, etc.)
• Vomiting
• Dysuria
• Pollakiuria
• Stranguria
• Hematuria
• “Constipation”
• Dehydration
• Abdominal pain
• Growling

Physical examination
Common findings seen with FUO include:

• Dehydration
• Howling in pain or discomfort
• Poor pulse quality
• Tachycardia
• Bradycardia
• Tachypnea
• Firm, distended, non-expressible, painful bladder on palpation (often enlarged)
• Prolonged CRT
• Collapse
• Penis sticking out
• Inflammation of the preputial region due to excessive grooming

Passing a Tomcat in a Feline Urethral Obstruction

Passing a Tomcat in a Feline Urethral Obstruction

Diagnostic workup
Baseline blood work should ideally include a minimum database including a packed cell volume (PCV), total solids (TS), BUN (Azostick), blood glucose, venous blood gas and electrolytes (specifically evaluating sodium, potassium, ionized calcium). A complete blood count (CBC), biochemistry panel, and urinalysis can be performed if financial limitations do not exist; with financial limitations, ideally, resources should be allocated towards treatment and life-saving care rather than diagnostics. In azotemic patients or those with profound electrolyte abnormalities, recheck blood work (e.g., electrolytes, renal panel, venous blood gas, etc.) should be performed at least daily, depending on the stability of the patient. A lead II electrocardiogram (ECG) should be performed ideally to evaluate for the presence of cardiac conduction abnormalities or arrhythmias, particularly in the bradycardiac cat (e.g., HR < 160 bpm). Abnormalities seen on ECG with hyperkalemia include spiked T waves (e.g., peaking and narrowing of the T wave), shortened QT intervals, widening of the QRS complex, absent P waves, prolonged P-R interview, S-T segment depression, bradycardia, and rarely, ventricular flutter, fibrillation, or asystole. Radiographs can be performed to look for the presence of cystic or urethral calculi. An ultrasound (e.g., FAST) may need to be performed to evaluate for the presence of uroabdomen, urinary masses, cystic calculi, etc. Unfortunately, this would not assess the urethral well, as small uroliths may be difficult to detect via ultrasound.

Check out Part 2 in next week's VETgirl online veterinary continuing education blog! You can also check out our video on how to unblock cats here.

Copyright Justine Lee Veterinary Consulting, LLC, 2016

References:

  • Lee JA, Drobatz KJ. Characterization of the clinical characteristics, electrolytes, acid-base and renal parameters in male cats with urethral obstruction. J Vet Emerg Crit Care 2003;13(4): 227–33.
  • Reineke EL. Feline urethral obstruction: Emergency treatment and stabilization. Western Veterinary Conference 2013, Proceedings.
  • Lane IF. Common challenges in feline urethral obstruction. Western Veterinary Conference 2012, Proceedings.
  • Francis BJ, Wells RJ, Rao S, et al. Retrospective study to characterize postobstructive diuresis in cats with urethral obstruction. J Feline Med Surg 2010;12:606-608.
  • Drobatz KJ, Cole S. The influence of crystalloid type on acid-base and electrolyte status of cats with urethral obstruction. J Vet Emerg Crit Care 2008;18(4): 355–61.
  • Cooper ES, Owens TJ, Chew DJ et al. A protocol for managing urethral obstruction in male cats without urethral catheterization. JAVMA 2010;237(11):1261-1266.
  • Hall J, Hall K, Powell L, Lulich J. Outcome of male cats managed for urethral obstruction with decompressive cystocentesis and urinary catheterization: 47 cats. JVECC 2015;25(2):256-262.
  • One thought on “Feline urethral obstruction: Part 1 | VETgirl Veterinary Continuing Education Blog

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    From our Customers