[iframe style="border:none" src="https://html5-player.libsyn.com/embed/episode/id/2897839/height/45/width/450/thumbnail/no/theme/standard" height= ”45″宽度=”450″滚动=”no”allowfullscreen webkitallowfullscreen mozallowfullscreen oallowfullscreen msallowfullscreen]

职业女孩 博客,我们回顾治疗 犬钩端螺旋体病,包括进一步治疗犬 钩端螺旋体病,以及人畜共患病风险和预防措施(例如疫苗等)。

液体疗法
在钩端螺旋体病患者中,积极静脉注射 (IV) 液体疗法 由于许多患者经常大量多尿、脱水和 氮质的. 一般而言,可在 2.5-4.5X 维持时使用平衡、维持、等渗晶体液(例如,LRS、Norm-R),可能需要监测来龙去脉以指导治疗(基于多尿的严重程度)钩端螺旋体病患者)。 应仔细评估患者以确保不会发生容量超负荷,尤其是心肺疾病患者。 液体治疗应持续到氮质血症和临床症状消退(通常 2-4 天); 静脉输液应逐渐减少,以确保多尿已解决且患者可以保持水分。

液体疗法的目标
连续体格检查对于充分评估患者的水合作用状态是必不可少的——检查皮肤弹性的恢复、适当的体重增加和粘膜的水分。 然而,体检结果是主观的,<5% 的脱水是主观的,难以通过体检评估。 PCV/TS、血糖、血尿素氮(BUN或AZO)、体重、尿量(UOP)、尿比重(USG)、口渴等指标并用,可结合体检结果,更好评估水合状态。

填充细胞体积/总固体、血糖和血液、尿素、氮(BUN/AZO)
接受静脉输液的患者应在住院期间进行每日血液检查(包括 PCV/TS、血糖、电解质、肾脏或生化检查)。 因为患者在脱水时经常会出现血液浓缩(例如,PCV/TS 55%/7.8 g/dl),液体治疗的目标是确保通过适当的治疗(与血液稀释一致)改善这些数字。 理想情况下,在海平面进行静脉输液的正常全身健康患者的 PCV/TS 应为 35%/5.0 g/dl。 事实上,在这种“血液稀释”的 PCV/TS 下,氧气输送是最大的,因为红细胞的粘度和“污泥”较少。 请注意,部分钩端螺旋体病患者可能有轻度至中度的非再生性贫血; 目标仍然是对患者进行血液稀释,在这种情况下,应使用总蛋白质/固体作为更合适的指导。 我们仍然可以评估异常、代谢不合适的患者的 PCV/TS。 通常,一只 10% 到 12% 脱水、恶病质、患有慢性肾功能衰竭的老年猫可能会出现 PCV/TS 为 28%/11 g/dl。 一旦该患者充分补水,PCV/TS 可能会降低至 20%/7 g/dl,从而揭示因缺乏促红细胞生成素而导致的贫血。

尿液比重 (USG)
在正常健康患者中,可以通过静脉输液对患者进行 USG 评估,以帮助评估水合状态。 理想情况下,应在输液前测量 USG,以评估肾功能。 尿液浓缩的脱水患者表现出足够的肾功能(猫 > 1.040,狗 > 1.025)——换句话说,肾脏正在工作并试图从尿液中吸收尽可能多的水分。 一旦开始静脉输液,正常、全身健康的患者应该有等渗尿。 静脉输液时间 > 6 至 12 小时的患者应充分稀释 USG,输液治疗和充分水化的最终目标应是静脉输液的 USG 为 1.015 至 1.018。 接受静脉输液且 USG > 1.020 的患者仍有可能脱水,如果其他脱水参数(如血液浓缩)持续存在,应更积极地进行静脉输液治疗。 水合作用可以通过评估尿液的颜色、体积和 USG 来确定。 住院接受静脉输液时仍然脱水的患者可能会出现 UOP 降低和深黄色尿液(例如,假设不存在色素沉着、肌红蛋白尿或胆红素尿)。 这是抗利尿激素释放和肾素-血管紧张素刺激的结果,导致游离水和钠的最大吸收。 不幸的是,在钩端螺旋体病患者中,由于获得性肾源性尿崩症可能会发生 PU/PD,因此利用 USG 作为水合状态的指南将是困难的。

尿量 (UOP)
应仔细监测 UOP,尤其是在患有钩端螺旋体病的氮质血症患者中。 液体治疗应根据患者的 UOP 实现水合状态和匹配的来龙去脉。 请注意,正常 UOP 为 1–2 ml/kg/小时,但许多钩端螺旋体病患者出现严重的多尿。 同样,可以通过评估尿液的体积和 USG 来评估患者的水合状态。 尿液稀释、清澈的尿液过度排尿可能表明大量或过量的静脉输液治疗,而过度兴奋可能表明持续脱水,可能需要进一步进行积极的液体复苏。 如果 UOP 降低(特别是在氮质血症患者中),应开始液体治疗和血管加压药支持(以增加肾血流量)以预防无尿(< 0.5 ml/kg/小时)或少尿(< 1 ml/kg/小时)。 如果 UOP 下降且肾功能正常(基于肌酐、BUN 和预输液 USG),应重新评估患者的水合状态,并根据指示调整输液治疗。

• 正常 UOP:1–2 毫升/公斤/小时
• 少尿:0.5–1 毫升/公斤/小时
• 无尿:< 0.5 毫升/公斤/小时

注意钩端螺旋体病等基础疾病; 梗阻后利尿(姿势性尿道梗阻); 糖尿病(由于糖尿导致二次渗透性利尿); 尿崩症; 甲状腺功能亢进(由于代谢率增加导致肾小球滤过率增加); 慢性肾功能衰竭(无法充分集中和吸收水分)可能会导致肾脏大量失水,这些患者可能需要更高的补液速度来补偿持续的流失。 同样,这些疾病过程使我们无法仅根据 USG 区分肾病与肾前性疾病,因为这些患者因代谢疾病而出现等​​血尿。 无论如何,可能需要适当的液体治疗和尿液监测(例如,“测量来龙去脉”),尤其是在氮质血症、少尿性肾功能衰竭中。

抗生素治疗
对于怀疑患有钩端螺旋体病的患者,应立即开始适当的抗生素治疗(最好在提交了治疗前的血液检查后)。 抗生素治疗的目标是消除钩端螺旋体血症和从肾小管细胞和肾携带者状态消除钩端螺旋体。 合适的抗生素包括青霉素(例如,包括氨苄西林、阿莫西林、阿莫西林/克拉维酸、青霉素等)和 多西环素. 在人类中,使用头孢曲松和头孢噻肟也是有效的。 氟喹诺酮类药物的使用存在争议,因为在仓鼠模型中的疗效未能清除肾脏和血液中的钩端螺旋体。 基于 ACVIM 共识声明,选择的抗生素是强力霉素(5 mg/kg PO 或 IV q. 12 小时,持续 2 周)。 如果未实施适当的抗生素使用,钩端螺旋体可能会在尿液中脱落数月。

肠胃支持
氮质血症患者如果是高磷酸盐血症,则应使用磷酸盐结合剂(例如氢氧化铝)以及胃肠道保护剂(例如,奥美拉唑、泮托拉唑、法莫替丁、硫糖铝等)治疗推定的尿毒症性胃炎。 应使用止吐药(例如,马罗匹坦、昂丹司琼、多拉司琼)以让患者感到舒适并治疗恶心。

止吐药:
• Maropitant:1 mg/kg SQ q。 24小时
• 昂丹司琼:0.1-0.2 mg/kg IV q。 8-12小时
• 多拉司琼:0.5-1 mg/kg SQ,IV q。 24小时
• 甲氧氯普胺:0.1-0.5 mg/kg SC,IV q。 8 小时或 1-2 mg/kg/天作为 CRI IV

胃酸碱度改变药物:
H2阻滞剂:
• 法莫替丁:0.5-1 mg/kg IV,SQ q。 12-24(至少 p-450)
• 雷尼替丁:0.5-2 mg/kg,IV,PO,SQ q。 8-12(中度 p-450)
• 西咪替丁:5-10 mg/kg IV、PO、SQ q。 6-8(大多数 p-450)

质子泵抑制剂:
• 奥美拉唑:0.5-1 mg/kg PO q。 24小时
• 泮托拉唑:1 mg/kg IV q。 24小时

抗溃疡:
硫糖铝 100-1 g PO q。 8小时

人畜共患病风险
在发生急性钩端螺旋体病的动物中,必须小心以防止 人畜共患 传播。 在住院期间处理患者和体液时,应采取适当的卫生措施(包括防护眼罩、防护服、手套等)。 宠物主人还应注意人畜共患风险。 10% 的漂白剂溶液、碘基消毒剂、加速过氧化氢和季铵溶液均可用于对抗钩端螺旋体。 同样,应评估家中其他宠物的临床症状,如果健康,则应接种疫苗以产生免疫反应。

预测
如果可以开始积极治疗,钩端螺旋体病的预后一般到良好。 据报道,犬的存活率约为 80%,无论是保守治疗的犬(例如,静脉输液)还是更积极地进行血液透析治疗的犬。 在那些出现肺部并发症的狗中,预后较差,报告的死亡率(来自欧洲)为 36-42%。1 宠物主人应注意慢性肾功能不全的风险,这是慢性肾脏炎症的继发后果。

预防
由于生物体的脱落可持续数周至数月(例如钩端螺旋体),因此预防势在必行。 尽管钩端螺旋体病预后良好,但仍需要对狗进行积极的预防性护理。 这将有助于将宠物主人和兽医专业人员面临的人畜共患病风险降至最低; 帮助减少狗的慢性携带者状态(可能导致进一步传播); 避免昂贵的住院治疗; 并将慢性损伤(慢性肾功能衰竭)的风险降至最低。 钩端螺旋体病预防方案应从以下内容开始:

• 环境变化:这应该包括啮齿动物控制; 适当的围栏; 和景观变化以去除积水/积水。
• 年度疫苗接种:接种疫苗的决定应基于流行地区、犬只的暴露情况和风险因素(例如,溪流/死水或城市化野生动物)。 理想情况下,应使用 4 路钩端螺旋体病菌株的疫苗接种。 疫苗接种对于帮助预防/帮助防止脱落以减少其他动物的感染和可能的人类接触很重要。

版权所有,VETgirl,2014。

参考资料
1. Skyes JE、Hartmann K、Lunn KF 等。 2010 年 ACVIM 小动物钩端螺旋体病共识声明:诊断、流行病学、治疗和预防。 J 兽医实习医生 2011 年;25:1-13。
2. Winzelberg SE。 钩端螺旋体病的治疗和预防,以及纽约市动物医疗中心正在进行的钩端螺旋体病患病率研究的数据。 大西洋海岸兽医会议论文集,2013 年。
3. Goldstein RE、Lin RC、Langston CE。 感染血清群对犬钩端螺旋体病临床特征的影响。 J 兽医实习医生 2006 年;20:489-494。
4. Ward MP、Glickman LT、Guptill LF。 美国和加拿大犬类钩端螺旋体病的患病率和危险因素:677 例(1970-1998 年)。 J Am Vet Med Assoc 2002;220-53:58。
5. Ward MP、Guptill LF、Prahl A 等。 犬钩端螺旋体病血清型特异性患病率和危险因素:90 例(1997-2002)。 J Am Vet Med Assoc 2004;224(12):1958-1963。
6. Ward MW、Guptill LF、Wu CC。 犬钩端螺旋体病环境危险因素评估:36例(1997-2002)。 J Am Vet Med Assoc 2004;225(1):72-77。
7. Lee HS、Guptill LF、Johnson AJ 等。 1970 年至 2009 年间犬钩端螺旋体病的信号变化。J Vet Intern Med 2014;28(2):294-299。
8. Stokes JE、Kaneene KB、Schall WD 等。 健康犬中针对六种钩端螺旋体血清型的血清抗体的流行率。 J Am Vet Med Assoc 2007;230(11):1657-1664。
9. Gautam R、Guptill LF、Wu CC 等。 2000 年至 2007 年美国犬的整体和血清型特异性钩端螺旋体显微镜凝集试验 (MAT) 血清阳性的时空聚类。 Prev Vet Med 2010;96:122-131。
10. Arbor J、Blais MC、Carioto L 等。 三只猫的临床钩端螺旋体病(2001-2009)。 J Am Anim Hosp Assoc 2012;48(4):256-60。
11. Zaitsev SV、Chernukha IuG、Evdokimova OA 等。 钩端螺旋体病自然焦点处土壤中波莫纳钩端螺旋体的存活率。 Zh Mikrobiol Epidemiol Immunobiol 1989;2:64-68。
12. Barr SC、McDonough PL、Scipioni-Ball RL 等。 犬的血清学反应接种了针对问号钩端螺旋体 Pomona 血清型和格氏钩端螺旋体血清型 Grippotyphosa 的商业疫苗。 Am J Vet Res 2005;66:1780-1784。
13. Truccolo J、Charavay F、Merien F 等。 用于评估氨苄青霉素、氧氟沙星和多西环素治疗实验性钩端螺旋体病的定量 PCR 测定。 Antimicrob Agents Chemother 2002;46:848-853。

想听更多关于钩端螺旋体病的信息吗? 女兽医精英 会员每年可以访问 60 多个播客,以及 20 多个小时的 RACE 批准的网络研讨会。 让学习开始吧!

只有 VETgirl 成员可以发表评论。 登陆 or 加入VETgirl 现在!

Vet Girl  VETgirl Blog

Treatment of Canine Leptospirosis: Part 5 | VetGirl Veterinary CE Blog

In this VETgirl blog, we review treatment for canine leptospirosis, including further treatment for canine leptospirosis, along with zoonotic risks and preventive measures (e.g., vaccines, etc.).

Fluid therapy
In the leptospirosis patient, aggressive intravenous (IV) fluid therapy is indicated as many patients are often massively polyuric, dehydrated, and azotemic. In general, a balanced, maintenance, isotonic crystalloid (e.g., LRS, Norm-R) can be used at 2.5-4.5X maintenance, and monitoring of ins and outs may be necessary to guide treatment (based on the severity of polyuria seen in patients with leptospirosis). The patient should be assessed carefully to ensure that volume overload does not occur, particularly in patients with cardiopulmonary disease. Fluid therapy should be continued until azotemia and clinical signs resolve (typically 2-4 days); IV fluids should then be slowly tapered to ensure that polyuria has resolved and the patient can maintain hydration.

Goals of fluid therapy
Serial physical examination is imperative to adequately evaluate a patient’s hydration status—checking for return of skin turgor, appropriate weight gain, and moisture of mucous membranes. However, physical examination findings are subjective, and <5% dehydration is subjective and difficult to assess on physical examination. The concurrent use of evaluation of PCV/TS, blood glucose, blood urea nitrogen (BUN or AZO), weight, urine output (UOP), urine specific gravity (USG), and thirst can be used in conjunction with physical examination findings to better assess hydration status.

Packed Cell Volume/Total Solids, Blood Glucose, and Blood, Urea, Nitrogen (BUN/AZO)
Patients on IV fluids should have daily blood work (including PCV/TS, blood glucose, electrolytes, renal or biochemistry panel) assessed while hospitalized. Because patients often experience hemoconcentration when they are dehydrated (e.g., PCV/TS 55%/7.8 g/dl), the goal of fluid therapy is to ensure that these numbers improve with appropriate therapy (consistent with hemodilution). Ideally, the PCV/TS in a normal, systemically healthy patient on IV fluids at sea level should be 35%/5.0 g/dl. In fact, oxygen delivery is maximal at such a “hemodilute” PCV/TS, as there is less viscosity of red blood cells and “sludginess.” Note that some patients with leptospirosis may have a mild to moderate non-regenerative anemia; the goal should still be to hemodilute the patient, and total protein/solids should be used as a more appropriate guide in this situation. We can still evaluate the PCV/TS in abnormal, metabolically inappropriate patients. Classically, a 10% to 12% dehydrated, cachectic, geriatric cat with chronic renal failure may present to you with a PCV/TS of 28%/11 g/dl. Once that patient is adequately hydrated, the PCV/TS may decrease to 20%/7 g/dl, unmasking the anemia from lack of erythropoietin.

Urine Specific Gravity (USG)
In normal healthy patients, USG can be evaluated in patients on IV fluids to help assess hydration status. Ideally, USG should be measured before fluid administration to allow for evaluation of renal function. Dehydrated patients with concentrated urine demonstrate adequate renal function (cat > 1.040, dog > 1.025) - in other words, the kidneys are working and trying to absorb as much water from the urine as possible. Once started on IV fluids, normal, systemically healthy patients should have isosthenuric urine. Patients on IV fluids for > 6 to 12 hours should have adequate dilution of USG, and the ultimate goal of fluid therapy and adequate hydration should be USG of 1.015 to 1.018 on IV fluids. Patients on IV fluids with USG > 1.020 are still likely dehydrated and should be treated more aggressively with IV fluids if other parameters of dehydration persist (e.g., hemoconcentration). Hydration can be determined by assessing the color, volume, and USG of urine. A patient that is still dehydrated while hospitalized on IV fluids may have decreased UOP and dark-yellow urine (provided, for example, that no pigmentation, myoglobinuria, or bilirubinuria are present). This is a result of antidiuretic hormone release and renin-angiotensin stimulation, resulting in maximum absorption of free water and sodium. Unfortunately, in the leptospirosis patient, PU/PD may occur due to acquired nephrogenic diabetes insipidius, so utilizing USG as a guideline for hydration status will be difficult.

Urine Output (UOP)
UOP should be monitored carefully, particularly in azotemic patients with leptospirosis. Fluid therapy should be directed toward achieving a hydrated state and matching ins and outs, based on the patient’s UOP. Note that normal UOP is 1–2 ml/kg/hour, but many of these leptospirosis patients present with severe polyuria. Again, one can assess the hydration status of the patient by evaluating the volume and USG of urine. Excessive urination with dilute, clear urine may indicate copious or excessive IV fluid therapy, whereas hypersenthuria may suggest ongoing dehydration, and aggressive fluid resuscitation may be further warranted. If UOP is decreased (particularly in azotemic patients), fluid therapy and vasopressor support (to increase renal blood flow) should be initiated to prevent anuria (< 0.5 ml/kg/hour) or oliguria (< 1 ml/kg/hour). If UOP is decreasing and renal function is normal (based on creatinine, BUN, and pre–fluid therapy USG), the patient should be reassessed for hydration status, and fluid therapy adjusted as indicated.

• Normal UOP: 1–2 ml/kg/hour
• Oliguria: 0.5–1 ml/kg/hour
• Anuria: < 0.5 ml/kg/hour

Note that underlying diseases such as leptospirosis; postobstructive diuresis (posturethral obstruction); diabetes mellitus (with secondary osmotic diuresis due to glucosuria); diabetes insipidus; hyperthyroidism (increased glomerular filtration rate due to increased metabolic rate); and chronic renal failure (inability to adequately concentrate and absorb water) may result in dramatic water losses through the kidneys, and these patients may need a higher rate of fluids to compensate for ongoing losses. Likewise, these disease processes prevent us from differentiating renal versus prerenal disease on the basis of USG alone, as these patients have isosthenuria due to metabolic disease. Regardless, appropriate fluid therapy and urine monitoring (e.g., “measuring ins and outs”) may be necessary, particularly in azotemic, oliguric renal failure.

Antibiotic therapy
In the patient suspected of having leptospirosis, prompt, appropriate antibiotic therapy should be initiated (ideally after pre-treatment blood work has been submitted). Goals of antibiotic therapy is to eliminate leptospiremia and to eliminate leptospires from the renal tubular cells and renal carrier state). Appropriate antibiotics include penicillins (e.g., including ampicillin, amoxicillin, amoxicillin/clavulanic acid, penicillin, etc.) and doxycycline. In humans, the use of ceftriaxone and cefotaxime are also efficacious. The use of fluoroquinolones is controversial, as efficacy in a hamster model failed to clear leptospires from the kidneys and blood. Based on the ACVIM Consensus Statement, the antibiotic of choice is doxycycline (5 mg/kg PO or IV q. 12 hours for 2 weeks). Leptospires can shed in urine for months if appropriate antibiotic use is not implemented.

Gastrointestinal support
Azotemic patients should be treated with phosphate binders (e.g., aluminum hydroxide) if hyperphosphatemic, along with gastrointestinal protectants (e.g., omeprazole, pantoprazole, famotidine, sucralfate, etc.) for presumptive uremic gastritis. Anti-emetics (e.g., maropitant, ondansetron, dolasetron) should be implemented for patient comfort and to treat nausea.

Anti-emetics:
• Maropitant: 1 mg/kg SQ q. 24 hours
• Ondansetron: 0.1-0.2 mg/kg IV q. 8-12 hours
• Dolasetron: 0.5-1 mg/kg SQ, IV q. 24 hours
• Metoclopramide: 0.1-0.5 mg/kg SC, IV q. 8 hours or 1-2 mg/kg/day as CRI IV

Gastric pH altering medication:
H2 blockers:
• Famotidine: 0.5-1 mg/kg IV, SQ q. 12-24 (least p-450)
• Ranitidine: 0.5-2 mg/kg, IV, PO, SQ q. 8-12 (moderate p-450)
• Cimetidine: 5-10 mg/kg IV, PO, SQ q. 6-8 (most p-450)

Proton-pump inhibitors:
• Omeprazole: 0.5-1 mg/kg PO q. 24 hours
• Pantoprazole: 1 mg/kg IV q. 24 hours

Anti-ulcer:
Sucralfate 100-1 g PO q. 8 hours

Zoonotic risks
In animals developing acute leptospirosis, caution must be taken to prevent zoonotic spread. The use of appropriate hygiene (including protective eye ware, gowns, gloves, etc.) should be used when handling the patient and bodily fluids while hospitalized. Pet owners should also be cautioned about the zoonotic risk. A 10% bleach solution, iodine-based disinfectant, accelerated hydrogen peroxide, and quaternary ammonium solutions can all be used against leptospires. Likewise, other pets in the house should be assessed for clinical signs, and if healthy, vaccinated to mount an immune response.

Prognosis
The prognosis for leptospirosis is fair to good, provided aggressive treatment can be initiated. The survival is reported to be approximately 80% in dogs, both with dogs treated conservatively (e.g., IV fluids) and those treated more aggressively with hemodialysis. In those dogs developing pulmonary complications, the prognosis is poorer, with reported mortality rates (from Europe) of 36-42%.1 Pet owners should be cautioned about the risks for chronic renal insufficiency as a secondary consequence of chronic renal inflammation.

Prevention
As shedding of organisms can persist (e.g., leptospuria) for weeks to months, prevention is imperative. Despite the good prognosis for leptospirosis, aggressive preventative care is warranted in dogs. This will help minimize zoonotic risk to pet owners and veterinary professionals; help minimize the chronic carrier state in dogs (which can result in further spread); prevent costly hospitalization; and minimize the risk of chronic injury (chronic renal failure). A leptospirosis prevention package should be initiated with the following:

• Environmental changes: This should be initiated to include rodent control; appropriate fencing; and landscaping changes to remove stagnant/standing water.
• Annual vaccination: The decision to vaccinate should be based on an endemic area, exposure of the dog, and risk factors (e.g., access to streams/stagnant water or urbanized wildlife). Ideally, vaccination with a 4-way leptospirosis strain should be utilized. Vaccination is important to help prevent/aid in the prevention of shedding to reduce infection of other animals and possible human exposure.

Copyright, VETgirl, LLC 2014.

References
1. Skyes JE, Hartmann K, Lunn KF, et al. 2010 ACVIM Small Animal Consensus Statement on Leptospirosis: Diagnosis, Epidemiology, Treatment, and Prevention. J Vet Intern Med 2011;25:1-13.
2. Winzelberg SE. Leptospirosis treatment and prevention with data on an ongoing leptospirosis prevalence study at the Animal Medical Center in New York City. Atlantic Coast Veterinary Conference Proceedings, 2013.
3. Goldstein RE, Lin RC, Langston CE. Influence of infecting Serogroup on clinical features of leptospirosis in dogs. J Vet Intern Med 2006;20:489-494.
4. Ward MP, Glickman LT, Guptill LF. Prevalence of and risk factors for leptospirosis among dogs in the United States and Canada: 677 cases (1970-1998). J Am Vet Med Assoc 2002;220-53:58.
5. Ward MP, Guptill LF, Prahl A, et al. Serovar-specific prevalence and risk factors for leptospirosis among dogs: 90 cases (1997-2002). J Am Vet Med Assoc 2004;224(12):1958-1963.
6. Ward MW, Guptill LF, Wu CC. Evaluation of environmental risk factors for leptospirosis in dogs: 36 cases (1997-2002). J Am Vet Med Assoc 2004;225(1):72-77.
7. Lee HS, Guptill LF, Johnson AJ, et al. Signalment changes in canine leptospirosis between 1970 and 2009. J Vet Intern Med 2014;28(2):294-299.
8. Stokes JE, Kaneene KB, Schall WD, et al. Prevalence of serum antibodies against six Leptospira serovars in healthy dogs. J Am Vet Med Assoc 2007;230(11):1657-1664.
9. Gautam R, Guptill LF, Wu CC, et al. Spatial and temporal-spatial clustering of overall and serovar-specific Leptospira microscopic agglutination test (MAT) seropositivity among dogs in the United States from 2000 through 2007. Prev Vet Med 2010;96:122-131.
10. Arbour J, Blais MC, Carioto L, et al. Clinical leptospirosis in three cats (2001-2009). J Am Anim Hosp Assoc 2012;48(4):256-60.
11. Zaitsev SV, Chernukha IuG, Evdokimova OA, et al. Survival rate of Leptospira pomona in the soil at a natural leptospirosis focus. Zh Mikrobiol Epidemiol Immunobiol 1989;2:64-68.
12. Barr SC, McDonough PL, Scipioni-Ball RL, et al. Serologic responses of dogs given a commercial vaccine against Leptospira interrogans serovar Pomona and Leptospira kirschneri serovar Grippotyphosa. Am J Vet Res 2005;66:1780-1784.
13. Truccolo J, Charavay F, Merien F, et al. Quantitative PCR assay to evaluate ampicillin, ofloxacin, and doxycycline for treatment of experimental leptospirosis. Antimicrob Agents Chemother 2002;46:848-853.

Want to listen to more about leptospirosis? VetGirl ELITE members get access to over 60 podcasts a year, along with 20+ hours of RACE-approved webinars. Let the learning begin!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

From our Customers