职业女孩 在线兽医继续教育 新闻,我们回顾了狗的尿腹。 我们还在之前的 VETgirl 博客中讨论了如何诊断尿腹 请点击此处尝试搜索。.

在您诊断出宠物患有尿腹后,您会给客户什么样的预后? 您是否推荐医疗管理或手术干预? 在兽医设施中利用常用诊断工具获取预后信息的能力对于兽医的日常实践至关重要。 可悲的是,对于我们遇到的许多宠物疾病,兽医仍然缺乏预后信息。 宠物尿路的常见原因包括骨盆的创伤性损伤、手动解阻(例如疏通)过程中的尿道撕裂以及尿路结石手术。

因此,来自 UGA 和 LSU 的 Grimes 等人希望在最近的一项名为“尿腹犬的结果:43 例(2006-2015)设立的区域办事处外,我们在美国也开设了办事处,以便我们为当地客户提供更多的支持。“

让我们重新认识尿腹背后的病理生理学和产生的生化异常。 当尿液从泌尿系统漏入腹部时,漏尿中的钾和肌酐都会积聚在腹腔积液中。 腹膜内层比肌酐更有效地重吸收钾,导致外周血钾过多。 为了去除一些循环钾,肾脏的反应是将其浓缩在尿液中。 然而,由于排尿中断,这种含钾的尿液会漏入腹部并在腹腔积液中产生比外周血更高的钾浓度。 腹腔积液的肌酐浓度将高于外周肌酐浓度,因为肌酐不容易通过腹膜吸收并滞留在腹腔积液中。 身体水分发生变化,有利于水分沿着由腹腔积液肌酐进入腹部产生的浓度梯度移动。 由此产生的液体转移导致血容量不足和脱水。

由腹腔积液中钾和肌酐的积累与外周循环浓度之间的差异产生的比率可以帮助兽医诊断尿腹。 施密特等。 al 在 2001 年 JVECC 的一篇文章中描述,“腹液评价:外周血肌酐和钾比值用于诊断犬尿腹膜”如何比较和评估这些诊断比较以诊断尿腹膜如下: 渗出肌酐 > 血清肌酐参考上限的 4 倍,渗出肌酐是血清肌酐的 2 倍或 > 2 倍,以及渗出钾大于 1.4 倍的血清钾均支持尿腹膜。 如果在您的患者中发现了 2 个或更多这些测试,Schmiedt 等。 al 说这些组合测试为诊断尿腹膜提供了 100% 的敏感性和特异性。

因此,在您确定您的患者患有尿腹膜后,您对该患者的治疗预后有何看法?

格莱姆斯等人。 追溯评估了 43 年至 2006 年间 2015 只狗的记录。 本研究的纳入标准包括以下至少一项:ESCr > 2,可识别的泌尿道造影剂外渗,或泌尿道漏尿的手术鉴定. 当评估上述生化诊断测试以识别腹尿漏时,ESCR > 2 的成功率为 90%,ESKr > 1.4 的成功率为 57%,对比成像成功率为 87%。时间。 从这些发现中得出的一个重要消息是,在对患者进行腹腔积液检查时,这些诊断方法无法 100% 检测到所有尿腹膜。 主观上,我发现早期发现的较小的漏尿不会产生上述这些特有的生化变化,但会徘徊在接近临界值的某个地方。

在本研究医疗记录审查的 9 年时间跨度内,泌尿障碍主要由外伤 (47%)、梗阻 (21%) 和医源性原因 (16%) 引起,还有 16% 的原因不明。 膀胱是最常见 (56%) 漏尿的部位,其次是尿道 (26%)、未确定 (9%)、肾脏 (5%)、输尿管 (2%) 和两个肾脏的组合和膀胱 (2%)。

本研究中的大多数犬科动物 [37(86%)] 均对其尿腹膜进行了手术治疗。 对于 92% 的手术病例,在手术时发现并纠正了泌尿系统缺损。 对于其余 8% 在手术过程中未发现缺陷的患者,他们要么接受了留置导尿管,要么被安乐死或死亡。 该研究发现,尽管大多数手术候选人接受了术前对比研究以尝试定位尿路中断,但这种方式并没有增加在手术期间发现尿路中断的可能性。 然而,作者仍然建议在手术干预之前进行对比研究。 手术治疗犬的术中并发症包括低血压、心动过缓、出血、反流和死亡。 术后并发症包括死亡、反流、持续漏尿、吸入性肺炎、DIC、切口感染、切口感染引起的脓毒性腹膜炎、尿失禁和贫血。 膀胱切开术管仅放置在患有无法解决的阻塞的患者身上。 超过一半 (58%) 接受手术治疗的患者在手术后置入导尿管。 在本研究中的两家医院之一,当诊断为尿路腹部时,在手术干预之前放置腹膜引流管是司空见惯的。 这些患者的死亡率有降低的趋势,但这未能达到统计学意义。 基于这一有利趋势,作者确实建议放置腹膜引流管,以帮助在手术干预麻醉前帮助稳定这些患者的生化异常(然而,这又没有统计学意义!)。 主观上,我建议如果不能放置腹膜引流管,临床医生应尝试将尽可能多的尿液从腹部排出,并且可能需要重复引流以帮助稳定患者(例如,古老的腹腔穿刺术 + 尿导尿)。

只有 6 只 (14%) 的狗接受了医疗管理,包括放置导尿管和/或尿道支架以治疗阻塞性肿瘤。 这些患者最常见的泌尿障碍部位是膀胱或尿道。 大多数这些病例在放置导尿管后 3 天就解决了。 其中一只在第 4 天拔掉导尿管的狗出现了尿路复发,然后在导尿管改道的另外 8 天后消退。

总体而言,79% 的狗存活出院(死亡率为 21%)。 该研究未能显示膀胱破裂犬和尿道破裂犬的存活率存在显着差异,并且破裂的原因与存活率无关。 还需要注意的是,血清肌酐和 BUN 浓度与出院存活率无关,所以不要放弃这些患者,无论他们有多少氮质血症! 毫不奇怪,出现手术中或手术后并发症的手术治疗犬更有可能无法存活出院。 最常见的漏尿部位是膀胱,其次是尿道,最常见的尿道损伤原因是钝器外伤。 尽管在手术前放置腹膜引流管并没有显着改善死亡率,但作者建议在尿腹的情况下放置腹膜引流管以提高患者的稳定性。

如有疑问,请不要放弃这些尿腹——尽管它们的血液检查可能看起来很糟糕,但通过快速诊断、治疗和治疗,这些患者可以做得很好!

缩略语:
ESCr = 渗出液与血清肌酐比
ESKr = 渗出液与血清钾的比率

参考资料:
1. Grimes JA、Fletcher JM、Schmiedt CW。 尿腹犬的结果:43 例(2006-2015). J Am 兽医医学协会 2018;252(1):92-97.

2. Schmiedt C、Tobias、KM、Otto CM。 腹液评估:外周血肌酐和钾比值用于诊断犬尿腹膜. J Vet Emerg Crit 护理 2007;11(4):275–280.

只有 VETgirl 成员可以发表评论。 登陆 or 加入VETgirl 现在!

Vet Girl  VETgirl Blog

Outcome in dogs with uroabdomen | VETgirl Veterinary Continuing Education Blog

In this VETgirl online veterinary continuing education blog, we review uroabdomen in dogs. We've also talked about how to diagnose uroabdomen in a previous VETgirl blog here.

What kind of prognosis do you give clients after you have diagnosed their pet with a uroabdomen? Do you recommend medical management or surgical intervention? The ability to utilize common diagnostic tools in the veterinary facility for obtaining prognostic information is crucial to the veterinarian’s day-to-day practice. Sadly, veterinary medicine is still lacking for prognostic information for many of our encountered pet diseases. Common causes for a uroabdomen in pets include traumatic injuries to the pelvis, urethral tearing during manual deobstruction (e.g., unblocking), and surgery for urinary calculi.

So, Grimes et al out of UGA and LSU wanted to evaluate the prognosis of dogs suffering from spontaneous uroabdomen obtained by various causes such as trauma, obstruction, iatrogenic (ex. cystocentesis) and from unknown causes in a recent study called "Outcomes in dogs with uroabdomen: 43 cases (2006-2015)."

Let’s refresh our understanding of the pathophysiology behind uroabdomens and the biochemical abnormalities produced. When urine leaks from the urinary system into the abdomen, both potassium and creatinine from the leaked urine will accumulate in the abdominal effusion. The peritoneal lining can reabsorb potassium more efficiently than creatinine, resulting in a peripheral hyperkalemia. In order to remove some of the circulating potassium, the kidneys respond by concentrating it in the urine. However, due to the urinary disruption, this potassium-laden urine leaks into the abdomen and creates a higher potassium concentration in the abdominal effusion than the peripheral blood. The creatinine concentration of the abdominal effusion will be higher than the peripheral creatinine concentration because creatinine cannot be readily absorbed across the peritoneal membrane and remains stuck in the abdominal effusion. A shift in body water occurs, favoring movement of water down a concentration gradient created by the abdominal effusion creatinine into the abdomen. The resultant fluid shift causes hypovolemia and dehydration.

The ratios created by the difference between accumulation of potassium and creatinine within the abdominal effusion and the peripheral circulating concentrations can aid the veterinarian in diagnosing uroabdomen. Schmiedt et. al describe in a 2001 JVECC article, “Evaluation of abdominal fluid: peripheral blood creatinine and potassium ratios for diagnosis of uroperitoneum in dogs” how to compare and evaluate these diagnostic comparisons for diagnosing a uroperitoneum as follows: Effusion creatinine > 4X that of the serum creatinine’s upper reference limit, an effusion creatinine that is 2X or > 2X that of the serum creatinine, and an effusion potassium that is greater than 1.4X that of the serum potassium are all supportive of a uroperitoneum. If 2 or more of these tests are identified in your patient, Schmiedt et. al say that these combined tests offer 100% sensitivity and specificity for diagnosing a uroperitoneum.

So after you have identified that your patient has a uroperitoneum, what can you say about the prognosis with treatment for this patient?

Grimes et al. retroactively evaluated the records of 43 dogs between 2006 and 2015. Inclusion criteria for this study included at least one of the following: ESCr > 2, identifiable extravasation of contrast material from the urinary tract, or surgical identification of a urinary leakage from the urinary tract. When evaluating the biochemical diagnostic tests described above for the identification of an abdominal urine leakage, the ESCR > 2 was successful 90% of the time, the ESKr > 1.4 was successful 57% of the time, and contrast imaging was successful 87% of the time. An important tidbit to take from these findings is that when working up a patient for abdominal effusion, these described diagnostics are not going to catch 100% of all uroperitoneums. Subjectively, I have found that smaller urinary leakages caught early will fail to produce these pathognomonic biochemical changes described above, but will hover somewhere close to the cut-off values.

Within the 9-year time span of this study’s medical record review, the urinary disruptions were mostly caused by trauma (47%), obstruction (21%), and iatrogenic causes (16%), with 16% left from unknown causes. The urinary bladder was the most common (56%) location for urinary leakage followed by the urethra (26%), undetermined (9%), the kidney (5%), a ureter (2%), and a combination of both kidney and bladder (2%).

Most of the canines [37(86%)] in this study were treated with surgical management for their uroperitoneum. For 92% of the surgical cases, the urinary defect was identified at the time of surgery and corrected. For the remaining 8% where a defect was not found during surgery, they either received an indwelling urinary catheter, or were euthanized or died. This study found that although most of the surgical candidates received pre-operative contrast studies to attempt localization of the urinary disruption, this modality did not increase the likelihood of finding the urinary disruption during surgery. However, the authors still recommend performing contrast studies prior to surgical intervention. Intraoperative complications for the surgically treated canines included hypotension, bradycardia, hemorrhage, regurgitation, and death. Post-operative complications included death, regurgitation, continued urinary leakage, aspiration pneumonia, DIC, incisional infection, septic peritonitis resulting from incisional infection, urinary incontinence, and anemia. Cystotomy tubes were only placed in patients suffering from obstructions that could not be resolved. Urinary catheters were placed post operatively in a little over half (58%) of the surgically treated patients. At one of the two hospitals in this study, it was commonplace to place a peritoneal drain prior to surgical intervention when a uroabdomen was diagnosed. There was a trend toward decreased mortality in these patients, but this failed to reach statistical significance. Based on this favorable trend, the authors do recommend placing peritoneal drains for the purpose of helping to stabilize the biochemical abnormalities in these patients prior to anesthesia for surgical intervention (However, again, this is not statistically significant!). Subjectively, I recommend that if a peritoneal drain cannot be placed, clinicians should attempt to drain as much of the urine out of the abdomen as possible and may need to repeat drainage to help stabilize the patient (e.g., the good old abdominocentesis trick + urinary catheterization).

Only 6 (14%) of the dogs were treated with medical management which involved a urinary catheter placement and/or a urethral stent for obstructive neoplasia. The most common sites of urinary disruption in these patients was the urinary bladder or the urethra. Most of these cases resolved with 3 days after urinary catheter placement. One of the dogs with the urinary catheter pulled on day 4 had a recurrence of uroabdomen that then resolved after 8 additional days of urinary catheter diversion.

Overall, 79% of dogs survived to discharge (21% mortality rate). This study failed to show a significant difference in survival rate between dogs with rupture of the urinary bladder and those with rupture of the urethra, and cause of the rupture did not correlate with survival. Also important to note was that serum creatinine and BUN concentrations were not correlated to survival to discharge, so don't give up on these patients regardless of how azotemic they are! Not surprisingly, the surgically managed dogs that developed intra- or post-operative complications were the ones more likely not to survive to discharge. The most common site of urinary leakage was the bladder, followed by the urethra, and the most common cause of urinary disruption was blunt force trauma. Although the placement of a peritoneal drain prior to surgery did not produce statistically significant improvement in mortality rates, the authors recommend peritoneal drain placement in cases of uroabdomen to improve patient stabilization.

When in doubt, don't give up on these uroabdomens - while their blood work may look terrible, with rapid diagnosis, treatment and therapy, these patients can do well!

Abbreviations:
ESCr = Effusion-to-serum creatinine ratio
ESKr = Effusion-to-serum potassium ratio

References:
1. Grimes JA, Fletcher JM, Schmiedt CW. Outcomes in dogs with uroabdomen: 43 cases (2006–2015). J Am Vet Med Assoc 2018;252(1):92-97.

2. Schmiedt C, Tobias, KM, Otto CM. Evaluation of Abdominal Fluid: Peripheral Blood Creatinine and Potassium Ratios for Diagnosis of Uroperitoneum in Dogs. J Vet Emerg Crit Care 2007;11(4):275–280.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

From our Customers