今天的VETgirl在线兽医CE客座博主是 西沃恩哈尼, VMD, MS, DACVR (RO), MBA, 放射肿瘤学家 希望兽医专家兽医射波刀癌症中心. 在这里,她解释了您需要了解的有关放射治疗和射波刀更新的信息!

放射治疗 101 和该领域的新进展

放射疗法在兽医学中用于治疗各种局部肿瘤。 它通常与其他治疗方式结合使用,例如化学疗法、免疫疗法或手术,具体取决于肿瘤的预期生物学行为。 放射治疗的最新趋势是更“量身定制”的治疗,这意味着更多的正常组织被排除在辐射场之外,并且肿瘤内的辐射剂量要高得多。 本文将回顾辐射的基础知识和该领域的新进展。

辐射原理和基础知识: 辐射起作用的主要机制是破坏肿瘤细胞的 DNA。 光子或电子由直线加速器产生,然后靶向患者的肿瘤。 辐射的影响取决于细胞内氧气的存在。 肿瘤将根据它们的细胞分裂速率对放射治疗作出反应,即缓慢分裂的肿瘤细胞将对辐射缓慢反应,而快速生长或分裂的肿瘤细胞将以更快的方式反应。 反应缓慢的肿瘤的例子是低级别软组织肉瘤或棘皮瘤样瘤。 快速反应肿瘤是口腔恶性黑色素瘤或鳞状细胞癌。

放射方案通常分为两类:治愈性或根治性放射,或姑息性或大分割放射。 根治性放疗用于总体预后良好的患者,可能包括每天进行少量放射治疗,这些治疗会累积到高累积剂量或肿瘤杀伤剂量。 对于传统的放射治疗装置,确定的方案通常包括在 2 周内进行的 16-20 次治疗。

姑息性或大分割放疗包括较大剂量的放疗,通常在 1 至 2 周的时间内每周进行 4-6 次。 这种类型的协议适用于预后不良的患者、肿瘤太大而无法通过手术切除,或者因为所有者的目标。 姑息性放疗对于疼痛控制也非常有效,即对于骨肿瘤患者。

放射治疗进展:

调强放射治疗:调强放射治疗 (IMRT) 是放射肿瘤学中的一项新技术,可以更精确地向肿瘤提供放射线,同时相对保护周围的正常组织。 IMRT在放射肿瘤学的大多数方面都有广泛的应用,因为它能够创建多个目标和多个回避结构,同时对不同的目标进行不同剂量的治疗,并根据其重要性对目标和回避结构进行加权。 通过提供更精确的辐射,IMRT 已被证明可以最大限度地减少急性治疗相关的发病率,使剂量增加成为可能,这可能最终改善局部肿瘤控制。 IMRT 利用多叶准直器,这些准直器由高原子序数材料的单个“叶”组成,通常 ,它可以独立地移入和移出辐射路径,以阻挡部分光束,从而定制患者的辐射区域。 IMRT 已在兽医学领域显示出前景,特别是鼻腔肿瘤和泌尿生殖系统肿瘤等。

立体定向放射外科:立体定向放射外科 (SRS) 是一种高度精确的放射治疗形式,最初开发用于治疗小脑肿瘤和大脑功能异常。 头颅 SRS 的原理,即递送精确到一到两毫米以内的高精度辐射,现在正被应用于身体肿瘤的治疗,其过程称为立体定向放射治疗 (SBRT)。 传统的线性加速器可能具有管理 SRS 的能力,或者可以修改现有的机器以允许提供这种类型的治疗。 可用于 SRS 的直线加速器示例是 TrueBeamTM 或三部曲TM Varian 或 Versa HDTM 医科达。射波刀

射波刀 TM 是 SRS 的一种形式,它允许更高的剂量输送精度和准确性。 射波刀 TM 技术允许以亚毫米的精度向肿瘤输送辐射。 它利用机械臂在 1-3 次治疗中为动物提供全部治疗剂量,而传统放射疗法最多可进行 20 次治疗。 机械臂允许在患者周围移动,以瞄准肿瘤并保护周围的正常组织。 这不仅可以在短时间内进行治疗,而且可以将副作用降低到几乎无法识别的水平。 射波刀 TM 最适用于可以用 CT 或 MRI 成像的大块肿瘤。 尚未确定其用于未完全切除的肿瘤。

尽管名称如此,SRS 是一种非手术程序,与传统放射疗法相比,它仅在一次或几次治疗中以高得多的剂量提供精确靶向的辐射。 这种治疗之所以成为可能,是因为高度先进的放射技术的发展允许在目标内提供最大剂量,同时最大限度地减少对周围健康组织的剂量。 目标是提供能够破坏肿瘤并实现永久性局部控制的剂量。

照片来源 Saginaw Future // CC

  1. pingback的: Yuki 的故事还在继续:从坏到坏——两只狗

只有 VETgirl 成员可以发表评论。 登陆 or 加入VETgirl 现在!

Vet Girl  VETgirl Blog

Radiation Therapy 101 | VETgirl Veterinary Continuing Education Blog

Today's VETgirl online veterinary CE guest blogger is Siobhan Haney, VMD, MS, DACVR (RO), MBA, a radiation oncologist at Hope Veterinary Specialists and Veterinary Cyberknife Cancer Center. Here, she explains what you need to know about updates in radiation therapy and Cyberknife!

Radiation Therapy 101 and new advancements in the field

Radiation therapy is used in veterinary medicine to treat a variety of localized tumors. It is often used in conjunction with other treatment modalities, such as chemotherapy, immunotherapy or surgery depending on the expected biologic behavior of a tumor. Recent trends in radiation therapy are towards more “tailored” therapy, meaning that more normal tissue is being excluded from the radiation field and the dose of radiation is much higher within the tumor. This article will review the basics of radiation and new advances in the field.

Principles and Basics of Radiation: The principle mechanism by which radiation works is by damaging the DNA of neoplastic cells. Photons or electrons are generated with a linear accelerator, which then are targeted to a patient’s tumor. The effects of radiation are dependent on the presence of oxygen within a cell. Tumors will respond to radiation therapy depending on their rate of cellular division, i.e. slowly dividing tumor cells will respond slowly to radiation whereas rapidly growing or dividing tumor cells will respond in a more rapid fashion. Examples of slow-responding tumors are low grade soft tissue sarcomas or acanthomatous epulides. Rapid-responding tumors are oral malignant melanomas or squamous cell carcinomas.

Radiation Protocols are typically divided into 2 categories: curative-intent, or definitive radiation, or palliative-intent, or hypofractionated radiation. Definitive radiation is utilized for patients that have a good overall prognosis and may consist of daily small treatments of radiation that build up to a high cumulative, or tumoricidal dose of radiation. With conventional radiation therapy units, definitive protocols usually consist of 16-20 treatments that are given over a 4-week period.

Palliative-intent, or hypofractionated radiation therapy consists of larger doses of radiation that are usually administered 1-2 times per week over a 4 to 6 week period. This type of protocol is intended for patients that have a guarded to poor prognosis, for tumors that are too large to remove surgically, or because of owner goals. Palliative radiation therapy is also excellent for pain control, i.e. for patients with bone tumors.

Radiation therapy advancements:

Intensity Modulated Radiation Therapy: Intensity modulated radiation therapy (IMRT) is a new technology in radiation oncology that delivers radiation more precisely to the tumor while relatively sparing the surrounding normal tissues. IMRT has wide application in most aspects of radiation oncology because of its ability to create multiple targets and multiple avoidance structures, to treat different targets simultaneously to different doses as well as to weight targets and avoidance structures according to their importance. By delivering radiation with greater precision, IMRT has been shown to minimize acute treatment-related morbidity, making dose escalation feasible, which may ultimately improve local tumor control. IMRT utilizes multileaf collimators, which are made up of individual "leaves" of a high atomic numbered material, usually tungsten, that can move independently in and out of the path of radiation in order to block portions of the beam and thus custom-shape the patient’s radiation field. IMRT has shown promise in veterinary medicine, specifically for nasal tumors and urogenital tumors among others.

Stereotactic Radiosurgery: Stereotactic radiosurgery (SRS) is a highly precise form of radiation therapy initially developed to treat small brain tumors and functional abnormalities of the brain. The principles of cranial SRS, namely high precision radiation where delivery is accurate to within one to two millimeters, are now being applied to the treatment of body tumors with a procedure known as stereotactic body radiotherapy (SBRT). Traditional linear accelerators may have the capability to administer SRS, or existing machines may be modified to allow this type of therapy to be delivered. Examples of linear accelerators that can be used for SRS are the TrueBeamTM or TrilogyTM by Varian, or the Versa HDTM by Elekta.Cyberknife

Cyberknife TM is a form of SRS, which allows even greater precision and accuracy of dose delivery. Cyberknife TM technology allows radiation to be delivered with sub-millimeter accuracy to tumors. It utilizes a robotic arm to deliver the entire therapeutic dose to an animal in 1-3 treatments, compared to conventional radiation therapy, which can employ up to 20 treatments. The robotic arm allows movement around the patient in order to target a tumor and spare normal surrounding tissue. This not only allows the treatment to be delivered in a short time, but also decreases side effects to an almost unrecognizable level. Cyberknife TM is best utilized for bulky tumors that can be imaged with either CT or MRI. Its use for incompletely excised tumors has not been determined.

Despite its name, SRS is a non-surgical procedure that delivers precisely targeted radiation at much higher doses, in only a single or few treatments, as compared to traditional radiation therapy. This treatment is only possible due to the development of highly advanced radiation technologies that permit maximum dose delivery within the target while minimizing dose to the surrounding healthy tissue. The goal is to deliver doses that will destroy the tumor and achieve permanent local control.

Photo credit Saginaw Future // CC

One thought on “Radiation Therapy 101 | VETgirl Veterinary Continuing Education Blog

  1. Pingback: Yuki’s Story Continues: From Bad to Worse – Two Dogs

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

From our Customers