JULY 2021

职业女孩 在线兽医继续教育 新闻, 由...赞助 Purina® Pro Plan® 兽医补充剂. 请注意,本博客中的观点是作者表达的观点,并非VETgirl直接认可。

了解猫的焦虑:帮助猫应对环境变化

作者:Ragen TS McGowan 博士,雀巢普瑞纳研究中心研究科学家,密苏里州圣约瑟夫

猫通常被认为是神秘的生物——独立、个性化甚至冷漠。 然而,如果我们能更好地解读它们的行为和它们经常提供的微妙线索,我们就会意识到这些看似自给自足的宠物可能非常敏感,有时容易产生焦虑。 事实是,猫的焦虑在猫中很常见。 不幸的是,对它的研究和报道也严重不足。

不,猫不是小狗……
虽然狗和猫都可能患有焦虑症,但它们的联系方式不同。 狗是与人类密切相关的群体动物,通过我们施加在它们身上的选择压力,它们变得非常依赖我们。 因此,狗对它们与人类的社交动态的变化以及我们与它们建立的惯例的变化非常敏感。 由于他们的社会取向,狗倾向于通过公开的行为来表达他们的感受,无论是在与主人互动时摇尾巴,在陌生人走过他们家时吠叫,还是在主人离开时撕毁沙发。

相比之下,猫进化为孤独的猎人,可以远距离跟踪猎物。 他们的天性是高度适应周围环境的细微变化。 这种环境取向/敏感性意味着猫可能会产生焦虑,从重新布置家具之类的小事到搬家或向家庭添加另一只宠物之类的大事。

……是的,猫是社交的
的确,猫比狗更能自给自足,这要归功于它们的进化历史。 但是,假设他们不社交并且与他们的人类家庭成员没有深厚的联系是错误的。 众所周知,猫会吸收人类的行为,并且可以同时改变自己的行为。 在 Purina 最近对 1,000 多名猫主人进行的一项调查中,71% 的受访者表示,他们认为自己的猫在受到压力时会感到压力。 而且由于猫与人的关系密切,天生独立,当与主人分开时,它们会产生焦虑,或者当主人在身边太多时会变得焦虑。

猫的焦虑有很多方面
猫的焦虑表现可以从慢性压力反应到全面的恐慌发作。 然而,焦虑行为并不总是如此。 在 Purina 猫主人调查中,78% 的受访者经常注意到他们的猫至少有一种焦虑行为,但只有一半的主人认为这些行为本质上是焦虑的。

猫科动物焦虑的迹象可能很微妙,很容易被忽视——或者破坏性足以导致放弃。 例子包括:

姿势的变化,例如降低站姿,将耳朵向后拉或将胡须拉到一起而不是散开
不愿吃喝
过度修饰,到了拔毛的地步
隐藏、撤退缺乏社交互动,如果猫感到被逼入绝境或无法摆脱压力,有时会表现为攻击性
极度警惕 or 动荡,通常表现在过度的踱步和喵喵叫
破坏行为,例如撕碎窗帘或抓家具
房屋弄脏 当猫可靠地使用猫砂盆时

由于压力对免疫系统有抑制作用,焦虑也会导致疾病。 焦虑的猫更容易患上呼吸道感染和胃肠道问题,如呕吐和腹泻。

去肠道寻找答案
由于猫的焦虑,不仅胃肠道会受到影响,而且肠道还通过肠脑轴直接连接到大脑。 随着科学家们努力寻找新的疗法来缓解焦虑的迹象,已经在包括人类和动物在内的多个物种中研究了这种联系。 最近在科罗拉多州立大学 (CSU) 兽医和生物医学科学学院进行的一项研究调查了通过益生菌长双歧杆菌 BL 999 靶向猫肠脑轴的潜力,该益生菌已在狗身上显示有助于保持冷静的行为.

CSU 研究使用患有慢性亚临床猫疱疹病毒 12 (FHV1) 的猫进行了为期 1 周的研究。 选择该模型是因为它是一种与临床疾病相关的常见感染,会因压力而加剧。 总共 24 只猫被分为安慰剂组和 BL999 组,每天接受安慰剂或益生菌补充剂。 在研究的前六周,将猫按补充类型安置在两个具有相似丰富度的独立组房中。 在接下来的六周内,猫以两周的间隔从群舍到个体舍来回移动,以引起轻微的压力。

该研究确定,与对照动物相比,补充了 BL999 的猫经历了积极的行为和健康变化,这些变化在统计学上是显着的。 具体好处是:

行为改变:在单独饲养猫期间,那些补充了 BL999 的猫更有可能通过围栏接触记录员,并且明显不太可能踱步。
生化变化:在压力期间,补充了 BL999 的猫明显不太可能出现异常的血清皮质醇浓度。
临床变化:在压力期间,补充了 BL999 的猫出现与重新激活的 FHV-1 相关的打喷嚏的可能性显着降低。

焦虑是人类和动物常见的一种状况,尽管焦虑行为可以以不同的方式表现出来。 随着我们更多地了解引发猫焦虑的压力源以及肠道和大脑的交流方式,我们希望能发现新的方法来帮助我们的猫科动物朋友。

只有 VETgirl 成员可以发表评论。 登陆 or 加入VETgirl 现在!

In this VETgirl online veterinary continuing education blog, sponsored by Purina® Pro Plan® Veterinary Supplements. Please note the opinions in this blog are the expressed opinion of the author, and not directly endorsed by VETgirl, LLC.

July 2021

Understanding Anxiety in Cats: Helping Cats Cope with Environmental Change

By Ragen T.S. McGowan, PhD, Research Scientist at Nestlé Purina Research, St. Joseph, Missouri

Cats are often regarded as mysterious creatures—independent, individualistic and even aloof. However, if we could better read their behaviors and the subtle cues they often provide, we would realize that these seemingly self-sufficient pets can be quite sensitive and sometimes prone to anxiety. The truth is that feline anxiety is quite common in cats; unfortunately, it is also severely understudied and underreported.

No, cats are not small dogs…
While dogs and cats can both suffer from anxiety, they are wired differently. Dogs are group animals that evolved in close association with humans and, through the selection pressure we put on them, became quite dependent on us. As a result, dogs are quite sensitive to changes in their social dynamic with humans and to changes in the routines we’ve established with them. Because of their social orientation, dogs tend to display how they’re feeling with overt behaviors, whether it’s wagging their tails when interacting with owners, barking when strangers walk past their houses—or tearing up their couches when owners leave.

Cats, in contrast, evolved as solitary hunters that stalked prey from long distances. Their nature is to be highly attuned to even subtle changes in their surroundings. This environmental orientation/sensitivity means that cats can develop anxiety from something as minor as rearranging the furniture to something as major as a move or adding another pet to the household.

…and yes, cats are social
It’s true that cats are more self-sufficient than dogs, thanks to their evolutionary pasts. But it’s erroneous to assume they aren’t social and deeply bonded with their human family members. Cats are also known to absorb human behaviors and can change their own in tandem. In a recent survey of more than 1,000 cat owners that was conducted by Purina, 71% of respondents said they believed their cats were stressed when they were stressed. And because cats are both bonded with their people and independent by nature, they can develop anxiety when separated from their owners or become anxious when their owners are around them too much.

Feline anxiety has many facets
Manifestations of anxiety in cats can range from chronic stress responses to full-blown panic attacks. Anxious behaviors, however, are not always recognized as such. In the Purina cat-owner survey, 78% of respondents regularly noted at least one anxious behavior in their cats, but only half of these owners recognized the behaviors as being anxious in nature.

The signs of feline anxiety can be subtle and easily missed—or disruptive enough to lead to relinquishment. Examples include:

Changes in posture, such as lowered stance, pulling ears back or pulling whiskers together instead of fanning them out
Reluctance to eat and drink
Excessive overgrooming, to the point of pulling out fur
Hiding, retreating and lack of social interaction, sometimes manifested as aggression if a cat feels cornered or unable to escape from a stressful situation
Extreme vigilance or unrest, usually exhibited through excessive pacing and meowing
Destructive behavior, such as shredding curtains or clawing furniture
House soiling when the cat has been reliably using the litter box

Because stress has a dampening effect on the immune system, anxiety can also lead to illness. Anxious cats are more susceptible to conditions such as upper respiratory infections and GI issues such as vomiting and diarrhea.

Go to the gut for answers
Not only can the GI tract be affected as a result of feline anxiety, but the gut also has a direct line to the brain via the gut-brain axis. This connection has been researched in several species, including humans and animals, as scientists strive to find new therapies to relieve the signs of anxiety. A recent study conducted at the Colorado State University (CSU) College of Veterinary Medicine and Biomedical Sciences investigated the potential to target the gut-brain axis in cats via the probiotic Bifidobacterium longum BL 999, which has been shown in dogs to help maintain calm behavior.

The CSU study was conducted over a 12-week period using cats with chronic subclinical feline herpesvirus 1 (FHV1). This model was selected because it is a common infection associated with clinical disease that is exacerbated by stress. A total of 24 cats were divided into placebo and BL999 groups that received either a daily placebo or probiotic supplement. For the first six weeks of the study, the cats were housed by supplement type in two separate group housing rooms with similar enrichment. During the second six weeks, the cats were moved back and forth at two-week intervals from group housing to individual housing to induce mild stress.

The study determined that the cats supplemented with BL999 experienced positive behavior and health changes that were statistically significant compared to control animals. The specific benefits were:

Behavioral changes: During the times cats were housed individually, those supplemented with BL999 were significantly more likely to reach out to the scorers through the enclosure and significantly less likely to pace.
Biochemical changes: During the stress periods, the cats supplemented with BL999 were significantly less likely to have abnormal serum cortisol concentrations.
Clinical changes: During the stress periods, the cats supplemented with BL999 were significantly less likely to exhibit sneezing associated with reactivated FHV-1.

Anxiety is a condition that is common to humans and animals, even though the anxious behaviors can manifest in different ways. As we learn more about the stressors that trigger anxiety in cats and the ways in which the gut and brain communicate, the hope is to discover new ways to help our feline friends.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *