JUNE 2022

职业女孩 在线兽医继续教育 新闻 由...赞助 Purina Pro Plan 兽医补充剂, Andy Sparkes 博士, BVetMed, PhD, DECVIM-CA, MANZCVS, MRCVS 将回顾对我们的猫科动物患者进行良好补水的重要性。 请注意,本博客中的观点是作者的表达观点,并非由 VETgirl 直接认可。

让猫走上良好补水之路

作者:Andrew Sparkes,BVetMed,博士,DECVIM-CA,MANZCVS,MRCVS
简单的猫科动物兽医顾问和共同编辑,猫科医学和外科杂志

如果你很有说服力,你可能会把猫带到水边。 但是你能让他或她喝酒吗? 虽然我们对猫科动物患者的水合作用还有很多不了解,但如果我们花时间与猫主人讨论他们的猫的饮酒行为和偏好,我们可以从他们那里学到很多东西。 我们还可以实施早期有效的策略,以减轻慢性脱水和/或低换水率造成的损害。

外表会不会骗人?
作为兽医,当我们检查台上的猫表现出我们认为的“典型”脱水迹象时,我们倾向于怀疑脱水:眼睛凹陷、黏膜干燥和皮肤起皱。 这些迹象永远不应被忽视,但仅依靠“外观”可能会使从业者在脱水时怀疑脱水 - 或者,也许更重要的是,在脱水时会错过它。 一只脱水的中年猫可能看起来完全正常,而一只完全脱水的老年猫可能会因为缺乏皮下脂肪导致他或她的皮肤下垂而显得体液不足。

这就是为什么与主人——尤其是那些有高级宠物的主人——讨论他们猫的饮食和排泄习惯的重要原因。 猫喝水少吗? 小便少? 如果猫是湿性饮食,他或她是否吃得比平时少——因此摄入的液体少了?

这些信息,再加上尿液分析和血液检查,可以更准确地描绘出猫的水合作用状态。 如果主人愿意,他们可能还会考虑使用技术驱动的监控设备,例如给他们的猫植入微芯片来监控从水碗中摄入的水量,或者使用智能猫砂盘告诉他们他们的猫小便或排便的时间和次数。

为什么水分很重要
如果未被发现,脱水可能会造成重大伤害,特别是对于容易患上与体液流失增加相关疾病的老年患者,例如慢性肾病 (CKD)、甲状腺功能亢进和糖尿病。 8 到 10 岁以上的猫也可能会出现瘦体重的减少,这会进一步减少身体的水分储备。

保持水分对猫的健康极为重要。 众所周知,反复发作的脱水、慢性缺水或换水率低会增加人类和动物的加压素分泌,从而导致肾损伤。1 老年患者的缺水似乎也是认知能力受损的一个重要因素。 我们需要更多的证据来证明猫也会发生相同类型的损伤或变化,但我们确实知道,尽早捕捉脱水的猫不会造成任何伤害——而且我们也许能够帮助减缓某些疾病的进展。 同时,如果猫患有尿石症或猫特发性膀胱炎等疾病,增加液体摄入量以实现尿液稀释也是有益的。

这只猫脱水了。 怎么办?
坏消息是,如果猫脱水了,由于猫喝水的方式,他或她可能无法像其他物种一样快速通过自愿饮水来补充水分。 像狗一样,猫在舔水时会向后卷起舌头,但是当狗形成一种勺子时,猫只接触水面并从形成的水柱中“咬”,每次摄入的水量非常少。圈。 猫也有固定的舔舐频率,无论它们的水合作用状态或口渴程度如何。

如果喂食湿粮不是特定猫的选择,那么即使猫的饮酒行为公认复杂且研究不足,也可以实施鼓励他们多喝水的策略。 我们中的许多人向主人提供与行为相关的建议,例如将食物碗和水碗分开(理论是当野猫在非洲大草原上时,它们自然会避免从被杀死的猎物旁边的水源中饮水)或关于大小的建议和饮水碗的组成以及提供流动水的选项。 虽然一些业主对这些建议发誓,但事实是,很少有对照研究调查过这些方法,而那些已发表的研究也未能找到产生一致影响的策略。

然而,猫是个体,每只猫都有独特的偏好。 对一个客户和猫有效的方法不一定适用于另一个客户和猫。 尽管如此,如果主人愿意花时间观察它们,他们可以更好地了解自己的猫的喜好。 底线:了解你的猫!

考虑补水
在过去几年中,猫科动物水合作用的一项有证据支持的发展是使用营养补充水。 如果一只猫需要优化他或她的液体摄入量,但不愿意吃湿粮。 或者,如果需要在湿饮食的基础上额外摄入液体,补充像 Purina® Pro Plan® Veterinary Supplements Hydra Care™ Feline Hydration Supplement 这样的产品可能是一种有效的策略。 在研究中,与只喂水的猫相比,补充了 Hydra Care 的猫每天的液体消耗量增加了 50%,除了干喂之外。2,3 Hydra Care 也很美味,可以促进消耗,并且含有有助于驱动水的渗透剂进入细胞。

预防脱水:从小就开始
好消息是健康的猫通常可以保持水分,只要他或她能够获得均衡的饮食和淡水。 吃含水量为 70% 至 80% 的湿粮的猫可以仅从饮食中获取它们所需的大部分液体,而那些吃含水量约为 10% 的干粮的猫会通过多喝水来补偿。

帮助猫在一生中保持水分的最佳方法之一是在猫还是小猫的时候喂食各种食物。 从本质上讲,猫是新宠,作为小猫,它们通常愿意吃各种质地和口味。 与其坚持单一口味或食物配方,不如在生命早期给幼猫喂食各种口味的湿粮和干粮,这可以大大增加他们在以后的生活中愿意吃湿粮的机会,如果需要解决特定的健康状况。

今天,我们越来越认识到良好的水合作用对我们的猫科动物患者的重要性。 通过与主人沟通猫的饮食习惯,并在我们注意到补水“危险信号”时采取积极措施,我们可以帮助延缓甚至可能预防损伤和疾病,同时帮助维持猫的舒适度和生活质量.

1. Bouby N, Fernandes S. 轻度脱水、加压素和肾脏:动物和人体研究。 Eur J Clin Nutr 57,S39–S46(2003 年)。
2. Zanghi BM、Gerheart L、Gardner CL。 营养丰富的水对喂食干粮的健康家猫的饮水量和水合指数的影响。 我是 J 兽医水库。 (2018) 79:733-744。
3. Zanghi BM、Wils-Plotz E、DeGeer S、Gardner CL。 含有和不含家禽调味料的富含营养的水对喂食干粮的健康家猫的饮水量、尿比重和尿量的影响。 我是 J 兽医水库。 (2018)79:1150-1159。

PPVS Purina 补充剂徽标 VETgirl 博客

只有 VETgirl 成员可以发表评论。 登陆 or 加入VETgirl 现在!

June 2022

In this VETgirl online veterinary continuing education blog sponsored by Purina Pro Plan Veterinary Supplements, Dr. Andy Sparkes, BVetMed, PhD, DECVIM-CA, MANZCVS, MRCVS will review the importance of good hydration in our feline patients. Please note the opinions in this blog are the expressed opinion of the author and not directly endorsed by VETgirl.

Putting Cats on the Path to Good Hydration

By Andrew Sparkes, BVetMed, PhD, DECVIM-CA, MANZCVS, MRCVS
Simply Feline Veterinary Consultancy and Co-Editor, Journal of Feline Medicine and Surgery

If you’re very persuasive, you might lead a cat to water. But can you make him or her drink? While there is a great deal we don’t yet know about hydration in feline patients, we can learn a lot from cat owners if we take the time to talk to them about their cats’ drinking behaviors and preferences. We can also implement early, effective strategies to mitigate damage from chronic dehydration and/or low water turnover.

Are looks deceiving?
As veterinarians, we tend to suspect dehydration when a cat on our exam table exhibits what we consider the “classic” signs of dehydration: sunken eyes, dry mucus membranes and skin tenting. Such signs should never be ignored, but reliance on “looks” alone can lead a practitioner to suspect dehydration when it isn’t there—or, perhaps more importantly, miss it when it is. A middle-aged dehydrated cat may look perfectly normal, whereas a perfectly hydrated geriatric cat can appear low on fluids simply because a lack of subcutaneous fat has caused his or her skin to sag.

That’s why it is important to talk to owners—especially those with senior pets—about their cat’s eating, drinking and elimination habits. Is the cat drinking less? Urinating less? If the cat is on a wet diet, has he or she been eating less than normal—and thus taking in less liquid?

Such information, coupled with a urinalysis and bloodwork, can paint a more accurate picture of a cat’s hydration status. If owners are willing, they might also consider use of technology-driven monitoring devices, such as microchipping their cat to monitor intake from a water bowl or using a smart litter tray that tells them when—and how much—their cat urinates or defecates.

Why moisture matters
If undetected, dehydration can result in significant harm, particularly in older patients that are prone to developing diseases associated with increased fluid loss, such as chronic kidney disease (CKD), hyperthyroidism and diabetes. Cats older than 8 to 10 years are also likely to experience loss of lean body mass, which can further reduce the body’s water reserves.

Maintaining hydration is extremely important to the health of a cat. Recurrent episodes of dehydration, or chronic underhydration or low water turnover, is known to increase vasopressin secretion in both humans and animals, which can lead to kidney damage.1 Underhydration in elderly human patients also seems to be an important factor in impaired cognitive abilities. We need more evidence to prove that the same type of damage or change occurs in cats, but we do know that we will do no harm by catching dehydrated cats early—and we might be able to help slow the progression of certain diseases. Meanwhile, if the cat suffers from a condition such as urolithiasis or feline idiopathic cystitis, increasing fluid intake in order to achieve urine dilution is also beneficial.

This cat is dehydrated. Now what?
The bad news is that if a cat is dehydrated, he or she probably can’t rehydrate through voluntary water intake as quickly as some other species because of the way cats drink water. Like dogs, cats curl their tongues backwards when they lap water, but while dogs form a sort of scoop, cats only touch the surface of the water and “bite” from the water column that is formed, taking in very small amounts of water per lap. Cats also have a fixed frequency of lapping, regardless of their hydration status or thirst drive.

If feeding a wet diet is not an option for a particular cat, it may be possible to implement strategies that encourage them to drink more, even though feline drinking behaviors are admittedly complex and under-researched. Many of us offer behavior-related suggestions to owners, such as keeping food and water bowls apart (the theory is that when wildcats were on the African savannah, they naturally avoided drinking from water sources next to their killed prey) or advice about the size and composition of drinking bowls as well as the option of providing moving water. While some owners swear by these recommendations, the truth is that there are few controlled studies that have investigated these approaches, and those that have been published have failed to find strategies that make a consistent difference.

However, cats are individuals, and each cat has unique preferences. What works well for one client and cat will not necessarily work for another client and cat. Nevertheless, owners can better understand their own cats’ preferences if they are willing to take the time to observe them. The bottom line: Know thy cat!

Consider a hydration supplement
One evidence-supported development in feline hydration over the past several years is the use of nutrient-supplemented water. If a cat needs to optimize his or her fluid intake but is unwilling to eat a wet diet. or if additional fluid intake on top of a wet diet is desired, supplementing with a product like Purina® Pro Plan® Veterinary Supplements Hydra Care™ Feline Hydration Supplement can be an effective strategy. In studies, cats supplemented with Hydra Care increased their liquid consumption by 50% per day when compared with cats fed only water in addition to dry feeding.2,3 Hydra Care is also palatable, which encourages consumption, and contains osmolytes that help drive water into cells.

Preventing dehydration: Start them young
The good news is that a healthy cat typically can maintain hydration, provided he or she is given access to a balanced diet and fresh water. Cats eating a wet diet with a water content of 70% to 80% can derive most of the fluid they need from diet alone, while those eating dry food comprised of approximately 10% water will compensate by drinking more.

One of the best ways to help a cat maintain hydration throughout life is to feed a variety of foods while the cat is still a kitten. By nature, cats are neophilic and as kittens they are usually willing to eat a variety of textures and flavors. Rather than sticking to a single flavor or formulation of food, feeding young cats an assortment of flavors of both wet and dry food early in life can greatly increase the chances that they will be willing to eat wet food later in life if needed to address a particular health condition.

Today we have a growing appreciation for the importance of good hydration in our feline patients. By communicating with owners about their cats’ eating and drinking habits and taking proactive steps when we note hydration “red flags,” we can help delay—and possibly even prevent—damage and disease, while helping to maintain cats’ comfort and quality of life.

1. Bouby N, Fernandes S. Mild dehydration, vasopressin and the kidney: animal and human studies. Eur J Clin Nutr 57, S39–S46 (2003).
2. Zanghi BM, Gerheart L, Gardner CL. Effects of a nutrient-enriched water on water intake and indices of hydration in healthy domestic cats fed a dry kibble diet. Am J Vet Res. (2018) 79:733-744.
3. Zanghi BM, Wils-Plotz E, DeGeer S, Gardner CL. Effects of a nutrient-enriched water with and without poultry flavoring on water intake, urine specific gravity, and urine output in healthy domestic cats fed a dry kibble diet. Am J Vet Res. (2018)79:1150-1159.

PPVS Purina Supplements logo VETgirl blog

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.