在今天 职业女孩 在线兽医继续教育 新闻, Garret Pachtinger 博士回顾了犬胰岛素瘤继发的低血糖症。 我们如何在兽医学中诊断和治疗犬胰岛素瘤?

低血糖症或低血糖是兽医学中常见的问题。 大多数情况下,我们处理的新生儿或儿科患者因营养不良或胃肠道疾病而出现低血糖的神经糖减少症迹象,包括嗜睡、虚弱、共济失调、精神状态改变和癫痫发作。 但是当一个 成年人 狗进入急诊室,摇着尾巴,很高兴……但他们的血糖水平是 35 毫克/分升?

当然……您首先重新检查该值以确保机器正常工作。 然后你拿起第二个血糖仪,看看第一个是否真的有效! 请记住,贫血或血液浓缩会影响 某些血糖仪,因此,如有疑问,请在您的化学分析仪上仔细检查此血样。

在阅读第三次之后,您开始接受 3 mg/dL 的 BG 可能实际上是真实的! 这只狗没有生病,摇着尾巴,一点也不脱水! 虽然不是一个详尽的清单,但你的思绪开始加速。 成年犬的低血糖有什么区别?

常见的差异包括伪影(例如,当您将试管送到外部实验室时,分析仪机器无法正常工作或血清分离延迟)、肝脏疾病(例如,肝功能衰竭、血管分流)、败血症、肾上腺皮质功能减退症、猎犬低血糖、木糖醇中毒,甚至 β 细胞瘤(例如,胰岛素瘤)。

所以,请记住……这可能是难以捉摸的胰岛素瘤吗?

首先,什么是胰岛素瘤? 胰岛素瘤是胰腺的一种功能性肿瘤,它产生过量的胰岛素,而身体没有适当的触发因素来分泌胰岛素。 循环胰岛素水平升高导致血糖水平显着下降。 由于胰岛素的这种不受控制的产生,患者可能会出现低血糖的迹象,包括虚弱、共济失调、嗜睡、癫痫发作、虚弱和全身无力。 在其他情况下,由于胰岛素水平升高的长期性,尽管如此低(慢性)血糖,患者甚至看起来相当正常。

虽然只能通过在探查性手术时进行活检才能做出明确诊断,但在诊断过程中需要考虑以下几个诊断:

1) 常规 CBC 和生化检查:这不仅可以确认低血糖,还有助于排除或排除其他差异。 例如,正常的肝脏值、白蛋白、胆固醇和 BUN 将有助于排除严重的肝脏疾病。 败血症不仅在快乐的摇尾犬中不常见,而且由于没有中性粒细胞增多或左移而不太可能发生。 如果没有淋巴细胞减少或任何明显的电解质异常(低钠血症或高钾血症),也不太可能出现肾上腺皮质功能减退症(经典)。 注意:请确保在给予葡萄糖之前收集任何血液样本,并在患者的血糖水平已经很低的情况下拉出一根额外的红顶血清管来测量胰岛素水平!

2) 由于肾上腺皮质功能减退症是低血糖症的一个区别,因此应考虑基线皮质醇水平。 根据文献, 基础血清皮质醇 >2 μg/dL (>55 nmol/L) 时不太可能出现肾上腺皮质功能减退症。

3) 腹部超声:虽然并不完美,但腹部超声可以作为一种非侵入性的、通常比其他先进诊断方法成本更低的测试来寻找任何异常的腹部淋巴结、胰腺的变化,甚至转移到胰腺的证据。肝脏。 不要忘记先做胸片(例如,三视图会见检查)以排除胸部转移。

4) 了解正常胰腺β细胞在血糖浓度升高时分泌胰岛素,当患者血糖浓度升高时胰岛素浓度升高 降血糖 将是身体的不适当反应。 出于这个原因,胰岛素:葡萄糖比率可能是一个有用的诊断。 成对的样本被提交给实验室并一起解释。 如果尽管血糖水平低,但胰岛素水平却很高,那是一种不适当的反应,并且对于胰岛素瘤来说非常令人担忧。 同样,请确保在患者的血糖水平已经很低的情况下,收集额外的红顶血清管以获得胰岛素水平! 在抽取血液样本之前,您不想等待您的患者再次出现低血糖!


5) 虽然有一些先进的机构会考虑额外的诊断,如 CT 扫描或 MRI 来诊断胰岛素瘤,但许多机构会采用上述信息,特别是一只快乐的摇摆犬,它具有高胰岛素:葡萄糖比率的低血糖,并建议探索性外科手术。

治疗方法:
手术治疗是犬胰岛素瘤患者的主要建议。 目标是切除/去除产生胰腺胰岛素的肿瘤。 在手术期间(和手术后),经常监测血糖很重要,因为对肿瘤的手术操作可能会增加胰岛素的产生,从而导致低血糖症恶化。

如果不选择(例如,财务等)或不推荐(例如,转移等)手术管理,则推荐医疗管理以提高生活质量和减少临床症状。 已调查的医疗管理选项包括:

  • 糖皮质激素
  • 二氮嗪
  • 经常少食
  • 奥曲肽
  • 链脲佐菌素

预后: 如果有转移的证据,不幸的是预后受到保护。 话虽如此,许多狗在手术和/或医疗管理方面做得很好,术后存活时间为 1-3 年。

Dr. Garret Pachtinger, 数字音频解码器
VETgirl 联合创始人兼首席运营官

  1. 我的小狗被诊断出患有 insoluma 肿瘤,体重只有 1.8 磅。 你能告诉我,动物越小,癌症的侵袭性就越强吗? 她在确诊后的 3 天内就去世了。

  2. 我 6 岁的比维尔梗有慢性低血糖,我们已经排除了其他疾病,正在等待她的胰岛素:葡萄糖测试和 CT 扫描的结果。

    我期待 tge 更糟......你对手术后的生活质量有洞察力吗? 手术风险有多大,恢复时间有多长,症状恢复前多长时间? 如果仅通过医学治疗,tge 预后和生活质量如何?

    • 您好,恐怕我们不会回复宠物主人的医疗问题,但我建议您咨询获得董事会认证的内科医生和外科医生(您可以在他们的网站 ACVIM 和 ACVS 上找到他们)。 祝你好运!

  3. 我们 90 磅的牧羊犬混合物突然开始癫痫发作(它们非常强壮并且靠得很近)。 我们赶紧把他送到急诊室。 他的血糖是 24,我相信应该在 100 左右。他们给他注射静脉注射并治疗他以增加他的血糖,但他们无法稳定他或预防/阻止癫痫发作。 我们希望他能坚持到早上,他们可以做 MRI 并确认他是否患有胰岛素瘤,然后进行手术,但不幸的是,他没有成功。 这听起来像是对胰岛素瘤的正常反应吗? 他没有嗜睡或食欲不振的迹象。 直到他的最后一天,他都非常健康。 我担心他可能被木糖醇中毒了。

  4. 晚上好! 我来自罗马尼亚! 是否可以在线咨询分析医疗文件——血液样本结果和核磁共振扫描,一只小狗(比熊,11 岁)胰腺胰岛素不能手术(9mmx7mm)?

    我们的重点是正确的饮食和治疗。

    期待您的回复,并在此先感谢您!

只有 VETgirl 成员可以发表评论。 登陆 or 加入VETgirl 现在!

Vet Girl  VETgirl Blog

Canine Insulinoma: When the BG is “LO” and the dog doesn’t know! | VETgirl Veterinary Continuing Education Blog

In today's VETgirl online veterinary continuing education blog, Dr. Garret Pachtinger reviews hypoglycemia secondary to insulinoma in the dog. How do we diagnose and treat canine insulinomas in veterinary medicine?

Hypoglycemia, or a low blood glucose, is a common concern in veterinary medicine. Most often we deal with neonates or pediatric patients that come into the ER with neuroglycopenic signs of a low blood glucose including lethargy, weakness, ataxia, altered mentation, and seizures as a result of poor nutritional intake or gastrointestinal illness. But what happens when an adult dog comes into the ER, wagging their tail, happy as can be...but their blood glucose level is 35 mg/dL?

Of course...you first recheck the value to make sure the machine was working. Then you grab a 2nd glucometer to see if the first one is really working! Keep in mind that anemia or hemoconcentration can affect certain glucometers, so when in doubt, double check this blood sample on your chemistry analyzer.

After the 3rd reading, you begin to accept that the BG of 35 mg/dL may actually be real! The dog is not acting sick, is wagging their tail, and not not dehydrated at all! Although not an exhaustive list, your mind starts racing. What are the differentials for hypoglycemia in the adult dog?

Common differentials would include artifact (e.g., such as the analyzer machine not working correctly or a delay in separation of serum when you send the tube to an outside lab), liver disease (e.g., liver failure, vascular shunts), sepsis, hypoadrenocorticism, hunting dog hypoglycemia, xylitol toxicosis, or even beta-cell neoplasia (e.g., insulinoma).

So, keep in mind...Could this be the elusive insulinoma?

First, what is an insulinoma? An insulinoma is a functional tumor of the pancreas that produces excessive amounts of insulin without an appropriate trigger from the body to secrete insulin. The increased circulating insulin levels cause a significant drop in the blood glucose levels. As a result of this unregulated production of insulin, patients may present with signs of hypoglycemia including weakness, ataxia, lethargy, seizures, collapse and overall general weakness. In other cases, due to the chronicity of elevated insulin levels, the patient can even seem fairly normal despite such a low (chronic) blood glucose.

While the definitive diagnosis can only be made with a biopsy taken at the time of an exploratory surgery, here are a few diagnostics to consider in the diagnosis hunt:

1) Routine CBC and biochemistry panel: Not only will this confirm hypoglycemia but help rule-in or rule-out other differentials. For example, normal liver values, albumin, cholesterol, and BUN would help rule-out severe liver disease. Not only would sepsis be uncommon in a happy, wagging-tail dog, but also less likely based on a lack of a neutrophilia or left shift. Hypoadrenocorticism (classic) would also be unlikely if there is no lymphopenia or any notably electrolyte abnormalities (hyponatremia or hyperkalemia). NOTE: Please make sure to collect any blood samples prior to dextrose administration, and pull an extra red top serum tube for an insulin level while the blood glucose level in the patient is already low!

2) As hypoadrenocorticism is a differential for hypoglycemia, a baseline cortisol level should be considered. Based on the literature, hypoadrenocortisim is unlikely with a basal serum cortisol >2 μg/dL (>55 nmol/L).

3) Abdominal ultrasound: Although not perfect, an abdominal ultrasound can be helpful as a non-invasive and often less costly test than other advanced diagnostics to look for any abnormal abdominal lymph nodes, changes in the pancreas, or even evidence of metastasis to the liver. Don't forget to do chest radiographs (e.g., a three-view met check) first to rule out chest metastasis.

4) Understanding that normal pancreas beta cells secrete insulin when the blood glucose concentration is elevated, insulin in high concentration when the patient is hypoglycemic would be an inappropriate response of the body. For this reason, an insulin:glucose ratio can be a helpful diagnostic. A paired sample is submitted to the lab and interpreted together. If the insulin level is high despite a low glucose level, that is an inappropriate response and very concerning for an insulinoma. Again, please make sure to collect that extra red top serum tube for an insulin level while the blood glucose level in the patient is already low! You don't want to have to wait for your patient to become hypoglycemic again before pulling that blood sample!


5) While there are some advanced institutions that will consider additional diagnostics such as a CT scan or MRI to diagnose the insulinoma, many will take the above information, notably a happy wagging dog that is hypoglycemic with a high insulin:glucose ratio and recommend exploratory surgery.

Treatment:
Surgical management is the primary recommendation for canine insulinoma patients. The goal is to resect / remove the pancreatic insulin producing tumor. During surgery (and post-operatively), it is important to frequently monitoring blood glucose as surgical manipulation of the tumor may increase insulin production and therefore cause a worsening hypoglycemia.

If surgical management is not elected (e.g., financial, etc.) or recommended (e.g., metastasis, etc.), medical management is recommended for quality of life and reduction of clinical signs. Medical management options that have been investigated include:

  • Glucocorticoids
  • Diazoxide
  • Frequent small meals
  • Octreotide
  • Streptozotocin

Prognosis: If there is evidence of metastasis, the prognosis is unfortunately guarded. With that said, many dogs do well with surgical and/or medical management with postoperative survival times ranging from 1-3 years.

Dr. Garret Pachtinger, DACVECC
VETgirl Co-Founder and COO

7 thoughts on “Canine Insulinoma: When the BG is “LO” and the dog doesn’t know! | VETgirl Veterinary Continuing Education Blog

  1. My pup was diagnosed with an insoluma tumor and was only 1.8 lbs. Can you tell me the smaller the animal the more aggressive the cancer? She passed within 3 days of being diagnosed.

  2. My 6 yr old biewer terrier has chronic low bg, we’ve ruled out other diseases and am awaiting results from her insulin:glucouse test and CT scans.

    I’m expecting tge worse… Do you have insight into quality of life after operation? How risky is the surgery, how long is the recovery time, and how long before symptoms return? What is tge prognosis and quality of life if medically managed only?

    • Hi, I’m afraid we don’t respond to pet owner medical queries, but I do recommend consulting a board-certified internist and surgeon (You can find them on their websites ACVIM and ACVS). Best of luck!

  3. Our 90lb shepherd-mix suddenly began having seizures (they were very strong and close together). We rushed him to the ER. His blood sugar was at a 24 and I believe it should have been around 100. They put him on an iv and treated him to increase his blood sugar, but they could not stabilize him or prevent/stop the seizures. We were hoping to get him through to the morning when they could do an MRI and confirm if he had an insulinoma and then perform surgery, but unfortunately, he didn’t make it. Does this sound like a normal reaction to an insulinoma? He had no signs of lethargy or loss of appetite. He was super healthy right up until his last day. I’m concerned that he may have been poisoned with xylitol.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

From our Customers