职业女孩 在线兽医继续教育 电影,我们演示了如何进行胸腔穿刺术。 这是一名 12 岁男性绝育 DSH,表现为呼吸急促。 就诊时,猫在腹侧肺音低沉,呼吸短促、浅,与胸膜腔疾病一致。 由于呼吸困难的猫非常脆弱,应该使用温和、有限的处理来减少压力。 立即分流、氧疗、快速有针对性的体格检查(例如,灌注参数、听诊)和及时治疗是分阶段进行的。 放置静脉 (IV) 导管不是必需的,并且对呼吸困难的患者来说压力太大。 相反,在启动治疗和诊断治疗计划的同时,专注于分流和稳定。 这可能包括肌肉注射低剂量布托啡诺 (IM)、使用超声创伤 (T-FAST) 超声进行快速胸部聚焦评估,以及放入氧气笼中。

对于呼吸困难的猫,在患者病情稳定之前应避免进行胸片。 如有疑问,应首先进行诊断性/治疗性胸腔穿刺术。 如果初始 T-FAST 超声检测到胸腔积液,应立即夹住、擦洗患者并准备进行挽救生命的胸腔穿刺术。 应在第 7-9 肋间间隙 (ICS) 之间进行胸腔穿刺术,以避免心脏(第 3-5 ICS)或肝脏(第 9 ICS 的尾端)。 这个肋骨空间的捷径是从胸骨末端的剑突向上追踪手指,大约在第 8 个 ICS。 由于血管和神经位于肋骨的尾部(例如,“隐藏”在肋骨后面),因此应在肋骨的头部进行胸腔穿刺术。 应使用大小合适的针头(1.5 英寸 22 号针头,具体取决于猫的大小)、三通旋塞和 3-12 毫升注射器。 在这只猫中,取出了大约 20 毫升的胸腔积液; 进一步的诊断包括胸片和胸超声显示纵隔肿块。 看看我们的另一个 VETgirl 视频 了解更多信息!

兽医焦点脓胸西班牙语

  1. 感谢您在 2 月 AAFP 会议上的演讲,我能够(相当)成功地在 24 小时内对 XNUMX 只猫进行了两次胸腔穿刺术(正确的复数??)在一个小型 GP 实践中。 一只猫不需要镇静,对于另一只猫,我使用了你的剂量用于 torb/midazolam,效果非常好。 我使用了针头导管,而不是针头,因为我对两者都感到疲倦,并且两次由于排空一袋液体而重新定向时,导管都变成了 SQ。 建议? 谢谢!!

只有 VETgirl 成员可以发表评论。 登陆 or 加入VETgirl 现在!

Vet Girl  VETgirl Blog

How to perform a thoracocentesis in a cat | VETgirl Veterinary Continuing Education Blog

In this VETgirl online veterinary continuing education video, we demonstrate how to perform a thoracocentesis. This is a 12-year-old, male neutered, DSH presenting for tachypnea. On presentation, the cat had muffled lung sounds ventrally and had a short, shallow breathing pattern consistent with pleural space disease. As dyspneic cats are very fragile, gentle, limited handling should be used to minimize stress. Immediate triage, flow by oxygen therapy, rapid targeted physical examination (e.g., perfusion parameters, auscultation) and prompt therapy is warranted in a step-wise manner. Placement of an intravenous (IV) catheter is not necessary and is too stressful for the dyspneic patient. Rather, focus on triage and stabilization, while the therapeutic and diagnostic treatment plan is initiated. This may include low-dose butorphanol intramuscularly (IM), rapid Thoracic Focused Assessment with Sonography for Trauma (T-FAST) ultrasound, and placement into an oxygen cage.

With the dyspneic cat, chest radiographs should be avoided until the patient is more stable. When in doubt, a diagnostic/therapeutic thoracocentesis should be performed first. If pleural effusion is detected on initial T-FAST ultrasound, the patient should be clipped, scrubbed and prepared for a life-saving thoracocentesis immediately. A thoracocentesis should be performed between the 7-9th intercostal spaces (ICS) to avoid the heart (3-5th ICS) or liver (caudal to the 9th ICS). A short cut approach to this rib space is to trace your finger up from the end of the sternum at the xyphoid, which is approximately at the 8th ICS. A thoracocentesis should be performed cranial to the rib, as the blood vessels and nerves lie caudal to the rib (e.g., “hiding” behind the rib). An appropriately sized needle (1.5” 22-gauge needle, depending on the size of the cat), a 3-way stopcock, and a 12-20 ml syringe should be used. In this cat, approximately 200 mls of pleural effusion was removed; further diagnostics including chest radiographs and thoracic ultrasound revealed a mediastinal mass. Check out our other VETgirl videos to learn more!

One thought on “How to perform a thoracocentesis in a cat | VETgirl Veterinary Continuing Education Blog

  1. Thanks to your presentation at the AAFP conference in September, I was able to (fairly) successfully perform two thoracocenteses (correct plural??) on 2 cats within 24 hours in a small GP practice. One cat did not need sedation, for the other cat, I used your doses for torb/midazolam, which worked fabulously. I used an over the needle catheter, instead of the needle, because I wimped out, for both, and both times when re-directing due to emptying a pocket of fluid, the catheter went SQ. Suggestions? Thank you!!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

From our Customers