2021年XNUMX月

职业女孩 赞助的在线兽医继续教育 新闻 由...赞助 Purina® Pro Plan® 兽医补充剂, Maryanne Murphy,DVM,博士,DACVN,讨论了保持猫健康水合作用的重要性。 请注意,本博客中的观点是作者表达的观点,并非VETgirl直接认可。

我应该把这只猫带到水里吗? (如果我这样做,他们会喝酒吗?)

玛丽安墨菲营养普瑞纳博客

众所周知,猫通常不会摄入足量的水。 无论这是否是因为它们是从栖息在沙漠中的野猫进化而来的,猫似乎具有较低的天生的口渴驱动力。 他们似乎缺乏那种告诉他们“嘿,该喝酒的时间了!”的神经提示。

不幸的是,如果猫不能保持健康的水分,可能会出现健康问题。 一个常见的问题是尿路结石等下尿路疾病 (LUTD) 的发作,这与饮水量不足和尿量减少有关; 和猫特发性膀胱炎 (FIC),据信它具有压力和环境因素。 除了不良的饮酒习惯外,FIC 的潜在风险因素还包括肥胖、焦虑、频繁改变饮食、生活在狭窄的空间、与其他猫一起生活以及缺乏有利位置。 1,2

不消耗足够水的猫的多余水分储备有限,无法从尿液中排出,从而导致尿液比重增加。 虽然我们真的不知道猫的最佳饮水量,但我相信猫的尿液比重比它们中的许多通常自己创造的要好。 您经常听到的口头禅是“稀释就是解决方案”,对于患有 LUTD 的猫,稀释是可取的。

减轻猫的环境压力
对于任何 LUTD,尤其是 FIC,减轻压力都很重要。 这其中的关键可能是从患者的角度看房子。 问客户的问题包括:

• 家中是否有猫可以轻松逃脱的“安全区”?

• 猫是否可以爬到可以观察环境的栖息处?

• 猫是否可以接触视觉刺激源(例如鱼缸或俯瞰喂鸟器的窗户)或触觉刺激源,例如抓挠柱?

建议将满足这些需求的多模式环境改造作为预防 FIC 复发的主要方法。 我还告诉业主,在垃圾箱上吝啬是不能偷工减料的地方。 主人应该在家中的每一层至少放置一个猫砂盆,在多猫家庭中,为每只猫提供一个猫砂盆,外加一个额外的猫砂盆。 保持垃圾箱清洁至关重要,这样猫就不会在不合适的地方憋尿或小便。

通过食物增加体液
如果猫没有通过饮水摄入足够的水,有多种方法可以将更多的水分偷偷带入它们的饮食中。

• 罐头食品通常含有超过 70% 的水分,因此向猫提供罐头食品作为主要饮食或作为干粮的补充可以增加液体摄入量。

• 对于拒绝吃湿食物的挑剔猫,可以在干食物中加水。 我告诉主人,从一两滴开始,然后再增加,逐渐增加到猫能忍受的最大水量。 它可能不如罐头饮食那么有效,但我们总是会被限制在猫愿意接受的范围内。

• 喂食补充氯化钠的治疗性饮食可能是让猫多喝水的一种策略。 结果会增加尿量。

哄猫多喝水
虽然猫可能没有强烈的口渴驱动力,但有一些方法可以诱使它们摄取更多的液体。 一些主人会在宠物的水碗中加入一点金枪鱼汁或蛤蜊汁,使水更美味。 证据是轶事而不是研究支持,但其他人发誓自来水的吸引力 - 即使它像让水从水龙头滴下一样简单。 当然,水必须既新鲜又容易取用。

为了与“稀释就是解决方案”的心态保持一致,补水补充剂是一个有吸引力的选择。 水分补充剂可能对喝水不足的猫来说是可口的,并且可能有助于降低患者的尿液比重。

将猫视为个体
关于猫和补水要记住的最重要的一点之一是,您可能必须尝试不止一种方法。 对一只猫有效的方法很可能对另一只猫无效。 虽然罐头食品对于特定的猫来说可能是一种非常有效的选择,但其他人可能会拒绝考虑湿的食物,无论是切碎的还是肉馅的。 作为兽医专业人士,我们必须实事求是,考虑每个患者及其家庭环境,并回答这个问题:“我可以实际推荐什么来帮助这只猫更好地补充水分?”

我向业主和从业者推荐的资源是 俄亥俄州立大学兽医学院的室内宠物计划. 这是一个很棒的网站,其中包含有关如何在猫的整个生命中增加整体丰富度的想法。

1. Lund HS、Saevik BK、Finstad OW 等。 挪威猫特发性膀胱炎的危险因素:匹配的病例对照研究。 J 猫医学外科杂志 2016 Jun;18(6):483–91.
2. Kim Y、Kim H、Pfeiffer D 等。 韩国首尔猫特发性膀胱炎的流行病学研究。 J 猫医学外科杂志 2018 Oct;20(10):913–21.

墨菲博士是田纳西大学兽医学院营养学临床助理教授。

  1. 这是一篇精彩而简洁的文章,提供了一些重要的要点(以及对我们这些可能已经了解其中大部分内容的人的一些重要提醒)——谢谢! 我期待着访问 Indoor Initiative 网站以获取更多知识!

    祝福,
    Christine (克莉丝汀)

只有 VETgirl 成员可以发表评论。 登陆 or 加入VETgirl 现在!

April 2021

In this VETgirl online veterinary continuing education sponsored blog sponsored by Purina® Pro Plan® Veterinary Supplements, Maryanne Murphy, DVM, PhD, DACVN, discusses the importance of maintaining healthy hydration in cats. Please note the opinions in this blog are the expressed opinion of the author, and not directly endorsed by VETgirl, LLC.

Maryanne Murphy nutrition Purina blog

Should I lead this cat to water? (And if I do, will they drink?)

It’s no secret that cats often don’t consume an adequate amount of water. Whether or not this is because they evolved from desert-dwelling wildcats, cats appear to have a lower natural inherent thirst drive. They seem to lack that neural prompt that tells them, “Hey, it’s time for you to drink!”

Unfortunately, health issues may occur if cats don’t maintain healthy hydration. A common problem is the onset of lower urinary tract diseases (LUTDs) such as urolithiasis, which is associated with inadequate water consumption and reduced urine volume; and feline idiopathic cystitis (FIC), which is believed to have a stress and environmental component. Along with poor drinking habits, potential risk factors for FIC can include obesity, anxiety, frequent diet changes, living in a confined space, living with other cats and lack of a vantage point.1,2

Cats that don’t consume adequate water have limited excess water reserves to flush out in their urine, resulting in increased urine specific gravity. While we don’t really know the optimal level of water intake for a cat, I believe it’s better for cats to have a lower urine specific gravity than many of them typically create on their own. A mantra you often hear is “dilution is the solution,” and for cats with LUTD, dilution is desirable.

De-stress the cat’s environment
With any LUTD and especially with FIC, stress reduction is important. The key to this may be viewing the home from the patient’s point of view. Questions to ask clients include:

• Does the cat have a “safe zone” in the home to which they can easily escape?

• Does the cat have climbing access to a perch from which they can survey the environment?

• Does the cat have access to sources of visual stimulation (e.g., a fish tank or a window overlooking a bird feeder) or tactile stimulation, such as a scratching post?

Multimodal environmental modification that addresses these needs is recommended as the primary method of preventing recurrence of FIC. I also tell owners that skimping on litter boxes is no place to cut corners. Owners should keep at least one litter box on every level of the home and, in multi-cat households, provide one box for each cat plus an additional box. Keeping litter boxes clean is crucial so cats won’t hold their urine or urinate in inappropriate places.

Boost fluids via food
If cats aren’t consuming enough water by drinking, there are multiple ways to sneak more moisture into their diets.

• Canned food typically contains more than 70% moisture, so offering canned food to cats as the primary diet or as a supplement to dry food can increase liquid intake.

• For finicky cats that refuse to eat wet food, it may be possible to add water to dry food. I tell owners to start with just a drop or two and then increase it, working their way up to the highest volume of water the cat will tolerate. It may not work as well as a canned diet, but we’re always going to be limited to what a cat is willing to accept.

• Feeding a therapeutic diet supplemented with sodium chloride can be a strategy for getting cats to drink more. The result can be increased urine volume.

Coax cats to drink more
While cats may not have a strong thirst drive, there are ways to tempt them to lap up more liquids. Some owners add a bit of tuna juice or clam juice to their pet’s water bowl to make the water tastier. The evidence is anecdotal rather than research-backed, but others swear by the appeal of running water—even if it’s something as simple as letting water drip from a faucet. Of course, it’s essential that water be both fresh and easily accessible.

In keeping with the “dilution is the solution” mindset, a hydration supplement is an appealing option. A hydration supplement may be palatable to cats that don’t drink enough water and may help reduce a patient’s urine specific gravity.

Treat cats as the individuals they are
One of the most important points to remember about cats and hydration is that you may have to try more than one approach. What works for one cat may very well not work for another. While canned food might be a highly effective option for a particular cat, others may refuse to consider wet food, be it minced or paté. As veterinary professionals, we have to be realistic, consider each individual patient and its home environment, and answer the question, “What can I realistically recommend to help this cat better hydrate?”

A resource I recommend for both owners and practitioners is The Ohio State University College of Veterinary Medicine’s Indoor Pet Initiative. This is a great website with ideas on how to increase overall enrichment throughout the life of a cat.

1. Lund HS, Saevik BK, Finstad OW, et al. Risk factors for idiopathic cystitis in Norwegian cats: a matched case-control study. J Feline Med Surg 2016 Jun;18(6):483–91.
2. Kim Y, Kim H, Pfeiffer D, et al. Epidemiological study of feline idiopathic cystitis in Seoul, South Korea. J Feline Med Surg 2018 Oct;20(10):913–21.

Dr. Murphy is a clinical assistant professor of nutrition at the University of Tennessee College of Veterinary Medicine.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *