2022 年 6 月

职业女孩 在线兽医继续教育 新闻 由...赞助 法国皇家, DVM, DABVP (Feline) Margie Scherk 博士将回顾猫下尿路疾病的新变化。 她将回顾我们如何使用血尿作为治疗猫科患者这种令人沮丧的疾病的工具! 请注意,本博客中的观点是作者的表达观点,并非由 VETgirl 直接认可。

猫下尿路疾病......再次。 什么是新的? 使用血尿作为管理工具

作者:Margie Scherk 博士,DVM,DABVP(猫科动物)

您是否曾经不确定血尿是真实的还是医源性的?

猫通常非常坚忍,因此客户经常将在不适当的位置/periuria 排尿误解为他们的猫对它们感到不安的信号。 由于不适当的消除是人们将猫放弃到收容所的首要原因,猫的小便对它们的生存至关重要(1)。 当客户将他们的“容易出事故”的猫带到兽医诊所时,我们正在与一个感到沮丧、愤怒和内疚的人交谈。 所以我们需要快速地帮助他们(和他们的猫)……希望是永久的。 除了采集尿样,我们还要询问家里有多少个箱子,在哪里,多久清洗一次,箱子有多大,垃圾多深等等,希望问题之一是纠正不良的厕所护理。 如果不是这种情况,我们会更深入地寻找可能给猫带来压力的其他任何东西。 事实上,特发性膀胱炎是猫出现下尿路症状 (LUTS) 的第一大原因 (65%),其次是尿石症、尿道堵塞或梗阻以及尿路感染 (UTI)。

下尿路疾病的迹象是尿频、血尿、淋和尿周。 这些与膀胱相关联,其本质上是一个储尿器,在正常情况下,储尿器在充满时会被排空。 然而,当“水库”因任何原因发炎并且随着尿液从输尿管进入时壁被拉伸时,它会受伤,因此猫会更频繁地排尿(尿频)以减少拉伸。 如果猫在到达适当的猫砂盆之前需要小便,或者如果它们将猫砂盆与它们所经历的疼痛联系起来,疼痛也可能导致尿周。 拉伸发炎的膀胱壁会导致出血。 事实上,任何对泌尿生殖道任何部分的粘膜表面或脉管系统造成损害的疾病都可能导致红细胞 (RBC) 渗漏到尿液中。

因此,无论 LUTS 的原因如何,血尿都是常见的发现。 当尿液 > 2500 RBC/μL (TNTC RBC/HPF) 时,我们看到的带有肉眼/肉眼血尿的红色或粉红色尿液会出现。 然而,反映炎症的血尿在我们看到之前就已经存在。 事实上,超过 90% 的患有下尿路疾病的猫存在镜下血尿 (2),但主人只有 42% 的时间能够察觉肉眼血尿 (3)。 能够检测到显微镜下血尿在许多方面都有助于监测患有影响泌尿道疾病的患者的愈合情况以及慢性问题的复发。

在特发性膀胱炎的情况下,我们可以通过检查血尿的存在来评估个体是否复发,以及评估环境和其他缓解压力的方法(包括药物辅助)的效果如何。 在易患结晶尿或尿路感染(下尿路和上尿路)的猫中,在家中发现血尿可以通过提醒客户带他们的猫来看我们来进行早期干预。 在从梗阻或泌尿道手术(例如,膀胱切开术去除结石)中恢复的猫中,在前两周发现血尿消退有助于监测愈合进展。 在患有尿路肿瘤的患者中,血尿增多有助于做出姑息治疗的决定。

患有 LUTS 的患者在就诊于兽医诊所时经常有小膀胱。 这使得收集尿样变得困难。 在进行膀胱穿刺术(有或没有超声波的帮助)时,我们可能会无意中引起血尿。 此外,在患有血尿的猫中,当我们在收集尿液样本时注意到血液中有漩涡时,我们无法知道血尿是“真实的”、医源性的,还是两者兼而有之。 发生这种情况时,我们可以要求客户使用不吸水的垃圾从垃圾箱中注射器收集尿液样本,但重要的是要注意,这个过程对主人来说既麻烦又耗时,并且会破坏猫。 我们也可以要求主人将猫带回诊所进行重复膀胱穿刺术,或者我们可以使用经过科学验证的垫料颗粒,撒在猫已经熟悉的垫料上,以检测血尿。 这些颗粒(Royal Canin Hematuria Detection,Blücare 的技术)能够检测甚至微观水平的血尿。 使用这些血尿颗粒 (Blücare),颗粒中会迅速出现明显的蓝色比色变化 - 不到一分钟 - 并且持续 2 天,这意味着客户不必看猫。

皇家犬血尿猫砂盆图片

在客户忙碌和/或不愿带猫进行常规兽医预防性兽医护理的家庭中,在家中识别和监测血尿非常有用。 相对于狗,猫没有那么频繁地接受必要的常规兽医护理,因此需要新的方法来改善获得护理的机会。 筛查也可以是对老年猫进行半年评估的一部分,这些猫与不愿带它们进行常规筛查或因为它们不识别疾病的微妙迹象的人住在一起。

与许多事情一样,早期发现是关键。 我们越早确定一只猫很痛苦,我们就能越早帮助改善它们的情况并帮助它们放松。 当血液是由晶体或尿石引起时,我们可以适当改变饮食和水合作用,以溶解或减少进一步形成结石的机会。 每 2-4 个月监测一次血尿可以让我们发现结晶尿/尿石症、感染或特发性膀胱炎的复发情况。 在特发性膀胱炎的情况下,当预期有压力(装修、搬家、访客、假期等)时,提前筛查血尿也是有意义的。 在 Covid-19 大流行的前五个月,当人们开始在家工作时,被送往两家兽医教学医院急诊科的公猫数量显着增加(论文正在审查中)。 认为不需要紧急就诊的特发性膀胱炎的非阻塞性表现也可能有类似的增加并不是一件容易的事。

通过鼓励客户在适合潜在状况的时间监测血尿,客户有动力寻求兽医护理。 我们可以让他们安心,并帮助他们积极主动地照顾猫的福利。

参考文献:
1. Salman MD、Hutchison J、Ruch-gallie R、Kogan L、Kass PH、Scarlett JM。 将狗和猫放弃到 12 个收容所的行为原因。 J Appl Anim Welf Sci.2000; 3(2):93-106。
2. Kaul E, Hartmann K, Reese S, Dorsch R. 猫下尿路疾病的复发率和长期病程。 猫科医学杂志。 2020 年 22 月;6(544):56-XNUMX。
3. Dorsch R、Remer C、Sauter-Louis C、Hartmann K. 德国猫群中的猫下尿路疾病。 对人口统计数据、原因和临床症状的回顾性分析。 Tierarztl Prax Ausg K Kleintiere Heimtiere。 2014;42(4):231-239。

脚注:
一个。 个人交流,乔安娜·芬斯塔德

推荐阅读:
• 2014 年 AAFP 和 ISFM 诊断和解决猫弄脏房屋行为的指南 (https://catvets.com/guidelines/practice-guidelines/house-soiling)
• Blücare® 颗粒:一种用于早期检测和监测猫泌尿道疾病的新工具

今天的 VETgirl 博客是由 法国皇家. 推荐多功能 Royal Canin Urinary SO® + 镇静完整和均衡的成年猫粮,有助于支持健康的泌尿道,同时为面临压力的猫提供镇静营养。 了解更多信息 我的.royalcanin.com.

皇家犬标志

  1. 我有一些同事建议放置导尿管并在阻塞之前“冲洗”有血尿的雄性猫。 我的理解是,引入导管之类的东西可能会导致更多的炎症,只有在它们已经被阻塞的情况下才应该这样做?

只有 VETgirl 成员可以发表评论。 登陆 or 加入VETgirl 现在!

June 2022

In this VETgirl online veterinary continuing education blog sponsored by Royal Canin, Dr. Margie Scherk, DVM, DABVP (Feline) will review what’s new with Feline Lower Urinary Tract Disease. She’ll review how we can use hematuria as a tool in management of this frustrating disease in our feline patients! Please note the opinions in this blog are the expressed opinion of the author and not directly endorsed by VETgirl.

Feline lower urinary tract disorders…again. What’s new? Using hematuria as a tool in management

By Dr. Margie Scherk, DVM, DABVP (Feline)

Have you ever been unsure of whether hematuria is real vs iatrogenic?

Cats are generally pretty stoic so clients frequently misinterpret voiding in inappropriate locations/periuria as a signal that their cat is upset with them. As inappropriate elimination is the top reason people give for relinquishing their cats to shelters, where a cat urinates is critical for their survival (1). When a client brings their “accident-prone” cat to the veterinary clinic, we are talking with a person who feels disheartened, angry, and guilty. So we need to help them (and their cat) quickly…and hopefully permanently. Along with collecting a urine sample, we have to inquire how many boxes there are, where they are located in the home, how often they are cleaned, how large the box is, how deep the litter is, etc., in hopes that the problem is one of correcting poor toilet care. If that isn’t the case, we delve deeper looking for anything else that could be causing stress for the cat. Indeed, idiopathic cystitis is the number one cause (65%) for a cat to present with lower urinary tract signs (LUTS), followed by urolithiasis, urethral plug or obstruction, and urinary tract infection (UTI).

Signs of lower urinary tract disorders are pollakiuria, hematuria, stranguria and periuria. These are associated with the bladder essentially being a urine reservoir that, under normal circumstances, is emptied when full. However, when the “reservoir” becomes inflamed for any reason and the wall is stretched as urine enters from the ureters, it hurts, so the cat voids smaller amounts, more frequently (pollakiuria), to reduce the stretch. The pain may also result in periuria should the cat need to pee before getting to the appropriate litterbox or if they associate the box with the pain they are experiencing. Stretching of the inflamed bladder wall causes bleeding. In fact, any disorder causing damage to the mucosal surface or vasculature of any part of the urogenital tract can result in leakage of red blood cells (RBC) into urine.

As a consequence, hematuria is a common finding regardless of the cause of the LUTS. The red or pink tinged urine we see with gross/macroscopic hematuria occurs when there are > 2500 RBC/ μL of urine (TNTC RBC/HPF). However, hematuria, reflecting inflammation, is present before we can see it. In fact, over 90% of cats with lower urinary tract disease have microscopic hematuria present (2) but owners are able to appreciate gross hematuria only 42% of the time (3). Being able to detect microscopic hematuria is beneficial in many ways to monitoring healing as well as recurrence of chronic problems in patients with disorders affecting the urinary tract.

In cases of idiopathic cystitis, we can assess whether an individual is suffering from recurrence as well as assess how well environmental and other stress-alleviating methods (including pharmacological aids) are working by checking for the presence of hematuria. In cats predisposed to crystalluria or urinary tract infection (lower and upper), finding hematuria at home may enable earlier intervention by alerting the client to bring their cat in to see us. In cats who are recovering from obstruction or urinary tract surgery (e.g., cystotomy for stone removal), finding resolution of hematuria over the first two weeks helps monitor progress of healing. In those with urinary tract neoplasia, increasing hematuria can aid in making decisions around palliative care.

Patients with LUTS frequently have tiny bladders when presented to the veterinary clinic. This makes it difficult to collect a urine sample. While performing cystocentesis (with or without the aid of ultrasound), we can inadvertently cause hematuria. Additionally, in cats with existing hematuria, when we note a swirl of blood while collecting the urine sample, it is impossible to know whether the hematuria is “real”, iatrogenic, or both. When this happens, we can ask the client to syringe-collect a urine sample from the litterbox using a non-absorbent litter, however it is important to note that this process can be cumbersome and time-consuming for the owner, and disruptive to the cat. We can also ask the owner to bring the cat back to the clinic for a repeat cystocentesis, or we can use scientifically validated litter granules, sprinkled on top of the litter the cat is already familiar with, to detect hematuria. These granules (Royal Canin Hematuria Detection, technology by Blücare) are able to detect even microscopic levels of hematuria. With these hematuria granules (Blücare), a readily visualized blue colorimetric change occurs in the granules quickly – in under a minute – and that lasts 2 days, meaning that the client doesn’t have to be watching the cat.

Royal Canin Hematuria litter box image

At-home identification and monitoring of hematuria is useful in cases where the client is busy and/or in families who are reluctant to bring their cat in for regular veterinary preventive veterinary care. Relative to dogs, cats do not receive necessary regular veterinary care as frequently, and novel approaches to improve access to care are needed. Screening can also be part of semi-annual assessment of the senior cat who lives with a person who is reluctant to bring them in for routine screening or because they don’t recognize the subtle signs of illness.

As with so many things, early detection is key. The sooner we can determine that a cat is distressed, the sooner we can help improve their circumstances and help them relax. When the blood is due to crystals or uroliths, we can make appropriate changes in diet and hydration to dissolve or reduce the chance of further stone formation. Monitoring hematuria every 2-4 months allows us to detect recurrence of crystalluria/urolithiasis, infection, or idiopathic cystitis. In the case of idiopathic cystitis, it also makes sense to preemptively screen for hematuria when stress is anticipated (renovations, moving, visitors, holidays, etc.). During the first five months of the Covid-19 pandemic when people shifted to working from home, there was a significant increase in male cats being presented to emergency departments of two veterinary teaching hospitals (paper under review). It is not a stretch to think that there may have been have been a similar increase in unobstructive presentations of idiopathic cystitis as well, that didn’t require emergency visits.

By encouraging clients to monitor hematuria at times appropriate for the underlying condition, clients are motivated to seek veterinary care. We can give them peace of mind and help them be proactive in their cat’s welfare.

References:
1. Salman MD, Hutchison J, Ruch-gallie R, Kogan L, Kass PH, Scarlett JM. Behavioral Reasons for Relinquishment of Dogs and Cats to 12 Shelters. J Appl Anim Welf Sci.2000; 3(2):93-106.
2. Kaul E, Hartmann K, Reese S, Dorsch R. Recurrence rate and long-term course of cats with feline lower urinary tract disease. J Feline Med Surg. 2020 Jun;22(6):544-56.
3. Dorsch R, Remer C, Sauter-Louis C, Hartmann K. Feline lower urinary tract disease in a German cat population. A retrospective analysis of demographic data, causes and clinical signs. Tierarztl Prax Ausg K Kleintiere Heimtiere. 2014;42(4):231-239.

Footnote:
a. Personal communication, Joanna Finstad

Recommended reading:
• 2014 AAFP and ISFM Guidelines for Diagnosing and Solving House-Soiling Behavior in Cats (https://catvets.com/guidelines/practice-guidelines/house-soiling)
• Blücare® Granules: A Novel Tool for the Early Detection and Monitoring of Urinary Tract Disorders in Cats

Today’s VETgirl blog is sponsored by Royal Canin. Recommend multifunction Royal Canin Urinary SO (plus) CALM complete and balanced adult cat food to help support a healthy urinary tract while providing calming nutrients for cats facing stress. Learn more at my.royalcanin.com.

Royal Canin logo

  1. I have had some colleagues suggest placing a urinary catheter and “washing out” male cats with hematuria prior to them blocking. My understanding has been that introducing something like a catheter could cause more inflammation and should only be done if they are already obstructed?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.