2023 年 1 月

职业女孩 在线兽医继续教育 新闻, Amy Johnson, BS, LVT, RLATG, CVJ, VETgirl 内容开发经理,为兽医专业人士审查小型外来哺乳动物信息。 继续阅读,因为她概述了所有兽医专业人员需要了解的关于这些物种的一些更重要的事情。 不要忘记阅读 第 2 部分在这里 了解更多关于豚鼠、雪貂、龙猫和兔子的信息!

艾米约翰逊,BS,LVT,RLATG,CVJ
VETgirl 内容开发经理

您需要了解的关于小型外来哺乳动物的知识:第 1 部分

人们很容易认为,在小动物医学领域工作意味着你不会看到小动物(当然,小狗和小猫除外),但总有一天会出现一种小型外来哺乳动物(比袖珍宠物更好的说法) ) 将走进您需要医疗护理的门。 在这个 VETgirl 在线兽医继续教育博客中,Amy Johnson、RLATG、LVT、CVJ 概述了所有兽医专业人员需要了解的关于这些物种的一些更重要的事情。

无论您是在看到一些外来动物的小型动物兽医诊所工作,还是偶尔会看到生病的仓鼠或老鼠进门的兽医紧急诊所,或者在农场打电话的大型动物兽医被要求看病4H 兔子(第 2 部分介绍的兔子)这些小家伙会进入您的生活,您需要了解一些关于老鼠、仓鼠和沙鼠的基本知识,以帮助治疗它们并教育它们的主人。

以下是一些基本知识:

大鼠

孤立在白色背景上的一只好奇的灰色老鼠的肖像
• 寿命:2-4 年
• 妊娠期:19-21 天
• 老鼠是非常聪明且易于训练的动物,是很好的宠物! 如果推荐一种小型外来哺乳动物作为家庭宠物,我会在 100% 的情况下推荐老鼠而不是仓鼠。
• 它们也是高度社会化的动物,要么需要人类同伴的大量关注,要么需要另一只老鼠作伴。 孤独或被人类忽视会导致攻击性和其他问题。
• 老鼠的眼眶后部有一个腺体,称为哈德氏腺体(或哈德氏腺体)。 该腺体分泌称为卟啉的红色/棕色色素。 当卟啉被分泌时,它们会通过眼睛和鼻泪管排出,导致它们的眼睛、鼻子或前肢(由于梳理)上或周围呈红色。 这种情况被称为色素渗漏,通常被称为“红泪”,并且会引起主人的警觉,认为这是血液。 虽然卟啉的分泌不是一种疾病,但它表明老鼠处于某种必须解决的免疫或环境压力之下。
• 与许多其他啮齿动物一样,老鼠的门牙不断生长。 他们需要硬颗粒饮食和他们环境中的东西来咀嚼,这将有助于自然地磨掉牙齿。 如果允许他们的门牙过度生长,将导致咬合不正、营养不良,如果不矫正,甚至会导致死亡。 知道如何做的人可以修剪或锉掉太长的牙齿,但如果饮食和环境得当,就没有必要这样做。
• 约束和性行为视频 点击这里

小鼠

坐在白色背景上的棕色老鼠
• 寿命:2-3 年
• 妊娠期:19-21 天
• 小鼠和大鼠之间有许多相似之处。 尽管老鼠不像宠物那么常见,但它们有可能进入我们的诊所。
• 就像老鼠一样,老鼠是非常群居的动物,在小群体中表现更好,但要避免过度拥挤,否则你会遇到一系列完全不同的问题。
• 小鼠是非常活跃的动物,需要一些方式来发挥它们的能量。 笼子里的轮子或在里面跑来跑去的球都是不错的选择。 老鼠也很容易肥胖,这项练习也有助于肥胖。
• 小鼠的门牙也在不断生长,需要像大鼠的门牙一样进行维护。
• 约束和性行为视频 点击这里

仓鼠

在白色背景前的金色仓鼠
• 寿命:1-2 年
• 妊娠期:14-18 天
• 仓鼠背部两侧各有一个侧腺,用于气味标记。 这些腺体是黑色的,常与肿瘤混淆,尤其是黑色素瘤。 不要移除这些并送去进行组织病理学检查!

笼子底部的仓鼠,侧面腺体被指出。
• 与其他啮齿动物不同,仓鼠是独居动物。 他们独立做得更好,并且经常会杀死他们的伴侣(女性因此而臭名昭着)。
• 仓鼠是最有可能在被触摸时咬人的小型外来哺乳动物,它们是 梭菌. 由于这些原因,不建议将它们作为幼儿的宠物。
• 他们的门牙也会像老鼠的牙齿一样不断生长,需要保养。
• 可以在该视频中找到约束和性行为 点击这里

沙鼠

毛茸茸的可爱啮齿动物-中性背景中的沙鼠
• 寿命:2-4 年
• 妊娠期:24-26 天
• 沙鼠有腹侧的气味腺,看起来像胸腔中部的一小块无毛疤痕组织。 虽然这些腺体通常与沙鼠的癌有关,但不要乱动它们,除非它们的外观发生变化——如果有问题,通常会变大或溃烂。

一只雄性沙鼠被束缚,因此可以看到它的腹侧气味腺。

• 尾巴脱套是沙鼠的常见伤害,这意味着处理它们的尾巴时应小心,沙鼠只能由饲养员捡起 BASE 的尾巴。 如果有脱套伤害,它不会愈合良好,并使沙鼠容易受到感染。 为了获得最佳结果,应截去尾巴。
• 癫痫发作在沙鼠中也很常见。 不需要药物干预,只需要给他们一个安静、黑暗的房间让他们恢复。
• 与上述列表中的其他人一样,他们的门牙会不断生长,需要适当的饮食和丰富的环境来维持。
• 可以在该视频中找到约束和性行为 点击这里

这绝不是兽医专业人员需要了解的有关这些物种的完整列表,但这将为您提供基本知识,以便在它们来到您家门口时提供帮助。 别忘了在此处查看下周的第 2 部分!

在实践中遇到这些物种之前,您希望了解这些物种的什么? 在下面的评论中告诉我们!

*生命跨度和妊娠期因来源而异。 

资源

实验动物和外来宠物医学,第 3 版 Margi Sirois,EdD,MS,RVT,CVT,LAT,VTES

兽医技术人员的小动物病理学 由艾米约翰逊。 BS、LVT、RLATG、CVJ

 

 

  1. 至于适当的营养——您为我们的教育推荐哪些资源? Lafeber似乎有点老了(有些物种自2007年以来就没有更新过,但也许是因为没有新信息?)

只有 VETgirl 成员可以发表评论。 登陆 or 加入VETgirl 现在!

January 2023

In this VETgirl online veterinary continuing education blog, Amy Johnson, BS, LVT, RLATG, CVJ, VETgirl Manager of Content Development, reviews small exotic mammal information for veterinary professionals. Read on as she outlines some of the more important things that all veterinary professionals need to know about these species. Don’t forget to read PART 2 HERE to learn more about guinea pigs, ferrets, chinchillas, and rabbits too!

By Amy Johnson, BS, LVT, RLATG, CVJ
VETgirl Manager of Content Development

What You need to know about Small Exotic Mammals: Part 1

It is easy to think that working in small animal medicine means you won’t be seeing small little creatures (other than puppies and kittens, of course), but there will come a time when a small exotic mammal (a better term than pocket pet) will walk through your doors needing medical attention. In this VETgirl online veterinary continuing education blog, Amy Johnson, RLATG, LVT, CVJ outlines some of the more important things that all veterinary professionals need to know about these species.

Whether you are working in a small animal veterinary practice that sees some exotics, a veterinary emergency practice that may see a sick hamster or rat come through your doors on occasion, or a large animal vet out on a farm call asked to look at the sick 4H rabbit (rabbits covered in part 2) these little guys will come into your life and there are some basic things you need to know about rats, mice, hamsters, and gerbils to help treat them and educate their owners.

Here are some of the basics:

Rats

Portrait of a curious gray rat isolated on white background
• Life span: 2-4 years
• Gestation: 19-21 days
• Rats are highly intelligent and easily trainable animals and make great pets! If recommending a small exotic mammal as a pet for a family, I would recommend a rat over a hamster 100% of the time.
• They are also highly social creatures and either need a lot of attention from their human companions or they need another rat for companionship. Being lonely or neglected by their humans will cause aggression and other problems.
• Rats have a gland in the back of their eye orbit called Harder’s Gland (or the Harderian Gland). This gland secretes reddish/brown pigments called porphyrins. When porphyrins are secreted, they will drain through the eye and nasolacrimal duct, resulting in red color on or around their eyes, nose, or front limbs (due to grooming). This condition is known as chromodacryorrhea, commonly called “Red Tears,” and will cause alarm in owners who think it is blood. Although the secretion of porphyrins is not a disease condition, it is a sign that the rat is under some sort of immunological or environmental stress that must be addressed.
• Like many other rodents, rats have continually growing incisors. They need a hard pellet diet and things in their environment to chew on that will help file their teeth down naturally. If their incisors are allowed to overgrow, it will result in malocclusion, malnutrition, and if not corrected death. Teeth that get too long can be trimmed or filed down by someone who knows how to do it, but with the right diet and environmental enrichment this should not be necessary.
• Restraint and sexing video coming soon

Mice

Brown mouse sitting on a white background
• Life span: 2-3 years
• Gestation: 19-21 days
• There are many similarities between mice and rats. Although mice are not as common as pets, they will potentially come into our practices.
• Just like rats, mice are very social creatures and do better in a small group, although avoid over-crowding, or you will have a whole different set of problems.
• Mice are very active animals and need some way to exert their energy. Wheels in the cage or balls to run around in are great options. Mice are also very prone to obesity, and this exercise helps with that as well.
• Mice also have continually growing incisors that need to be maintained like the incisors of rats.
• Restraint and sexing video coming soon

Hamsters

Golden Hamster in front of white background
• Life span: 1-2 years
• Gestation: 14-18 days
• Hamsters have a flank gland on either side of their dorsal body, used for scent marking. These glands are black and commonly confused with tumors, especially melanomas. Don’t remove these and send out for histopathology!

Hamster in the bottom of a cage with the flank gland being pointed out.
• Hamsters, unlike other rodents, are solitary creatures. They do much better independently and will often kill their partners (females are notorious for this).
• Hamsters are the most likely small exotic mammal to bite when handled and they are carriers of Clostridium. For these reasons, they should not be recommended as pets for young children.
• Their incisors will also continually grow and need to be maintained like the teeth of rats and mice.
• Restraint and sexing can be found in this video HERE

Gerbils

Fluffy cute rodent - gerbil on neutral background
• Life span: 2-4 years
• Gestation: 24-26 days
• Gerbils have ventral scent glands that look like a small patch of hairless scar tissue mid-thorax. Although these glands are commonly associated with carcinomas in gerbils, do not mess with them unless they change in appearance – usually becoming enlarged or ulcerated if there is a problem.

A male gerbil being restrained so his ventral scent gland is visible.

• Tail degloving is a common injury in gerbils, which means their tails should be handled with care and gerbils only picked up by the BASE of the tail. If there is a degloving injury, it will not heal well and leave the gerbil open to infection. The tail should be amputated for best case results.
• Seizures are also common in gerbils. No need to intervene with drugs, just give them a quiet, dark room to recover.
• Like everyone else on the above list their incisors will continually grow and need the appropriate diet and environmental enrichment to maintain them.
• Restraint and sexing can be found in this video HERE

This is by no means a full list of what veterinary professionals need to know about these species, but this will give you the basics to help when they coming through your doors. Don’t forget to check out Part 2 next week HERE!

What do you wish you knew about these species before encountering them in practice? Tell us below in the comments!

*Life spans and gestation periods will vary slightly from source to source. 

Resources

Laboratory Animal and Exotic Pet Medicine, 3rd Edition by Margi Sirois, EdD, MS, RVT, CVT, LAT, VTES

Small Animal Pathology for Veterinary Technicians by Amy Johnson. BS, LVT, RLATG, CVJ

 

 

Only VETgirl members can leave comments. Sign In or Join VETgirl now!