职业女孩 在线兽医继续教育 新闻,博士 谢尔比·赖因斯坦, DVM, DACVO 回顾了狗和猫青光眼的手术治疗。 请务必查看我们的一般信息 兽医青光眼指南 在这里与 医疗选择 对于这些 VETgirl 博客中的青光眼!

当药物治疗无法再控制眼压时,有多种手术选择可用于治疗青光眼。 与药物治疗一样,外科手术可分为减少房水产生或改善房水流出的程序。  选择的程序将取决于患者的视觉状态和所需的美容效果。 一旦视力永久丧失,外科手术可以减轻与终末期青光眼相关的疼痛并消除对局部药物的需求。

去核
摘除术是摘除眼睛,相对便宜,并发症少。 摘除术的主要好处包括可以对眼球进行组织病理学检查、立即控制疼痛以及不需要额外的局部滴眼液。 缺点可能包括某些业主的患者术后外观、需要全身麻醉或费用。 术后恢复简单,无需长期监测。 当青光眼的原因不明时,建议进行组织病理学检查。

巩膜内假体
去除内脏(去除眼内内容物)和放置巩膜内假体硅胶球是兽医眼科医生执行的一项技术,以提供最佳的美容效果。 正确的病例选择对于获得良好结果是必不可少的,并且最常见的是患有原发性青光眼而没有明显眼睑的狗。 患有慢性葡萄膜炎、潜在的眼内瘤形成或慢性角膜疾病的球体不适合。 术后恢复需要口服药物和外用药物,需要长期随访。 术后并发症包括角膜溃疡、植入物排斥和角膜瘢痕形成。 必须让所有者意识到剩余的眼部组织(眼睑、结膜、角膜、第三眼睑)仍然容易患病,可能需要治疗。

睫状体消融
睫状体的化学消融或药物破坏是通过将有毒药物(庆大霉素或西多福韦)注射到玻璃体腔中导致睫状体坏死来实现的。 为了帮助治疗诱发性葡萄膜炎,通常在手术结束时将类固醇(地塞米松或曲安西龙)同时注射到玻璃体或结膜下。 这种技术通常可以在重度镇静下进行,并且是最便宜的选择。 手术后,局部青光眼治疗在 2-3 周内逐渐减少,葡萄膜炎的治疗(局部和口服)逐渐减少。 通常,应在停止所有局部青光眼滴剂后大约 1-1 周进行 2 个月的 IOP 复查。 所需的 IOP < 15 mmHg,但 IOP < 4 mmHg 的完全性鳞茎并不少见。 从长远来看,大多数狗都会患上白内障,但美容效果通常是可以接受的。 并发症包括眼压控制不足、前房积血、葡萄膜炎、视网膜脱离和明显的鳞茎。 长期医疗需求通常较低,通常由润滑凝胶或抗炎滴剂组成。

只有 VETgirl 成员可以发表评论。 登陆 or 加入VETgirl 现在!

In this VETgirl online veterinary continuing education blog, Dr. Shelby Reinstein, DVM, DACVO reviews surgical management of glaucoma in dogs and cats. Make sure to check out our general guide to veterinary glaucoma here along with medical options for glaucoma in these VETgirl blogs!

Multiple surgical options are available to address glaucoma when medical therapy can no longer control the IOP. As with medical therapy, the surgical procedures can be classified into procedures that reduce aqueous humor production or improve aqueous humor outflow.  The chosen procedure will depend upon the patient’s visual status and the desired cosmetic outcome. Once vision has been permanently lost, surgical procedures can alleviate pain associated with end-stage glaucoma and eliminate the need for topical medications.

Enucleation
Enucleation is removal of the eye and is relatively inexpensive with few complications. The main benefits of enucleation include the potential for histopathologic examination of the globe, immediate pain control, and the lack of additional topical eye drops. The disadvantages may include the postoperative appearance of the patient for some owners, the need for general anesthesia, or the cost.  The post-operative recovery is simple and there is no long-term monitoring necessary. Histopathology is recommended when the cause of the glaucoma is unknown.

Intrascleral Prosthesis
Evisceration (removal of the intraocular contents) and placement of an intrascleral prosthetic, silicone ball is a technique performed by veterinary ophthalmologists to provide optimal cosmetic outcomes.  Proper case selection is imperative for a good outcome and consists most often of dogs with primary glaucoma without significant buphthalmos.  Globes with chronic uveitis, the potential for intraocular neoplasia, or chronic corneal disease are poor candidates.  The post-operative recovery requires both oral and topical medications, and long-term follow up is necessary.  Post-operative complications include corneal ulcers, implant rejection, and corneal scarring.  Owners must be made aware that the remaining ocular tissues (eyelids, conjunctiva, cornea, third eyelid) are still susceptible to disease and can require therapy.

Ciliary Body Ablation
Chemical ablation, or pharmacologic destruction of the ciliary body, is accomplished by injecting a toxic drug (either gentamicin or cidofovir) into the vitreous cavity to cause necrosis of the ciliary body.  To assist with treating the induced uveitis, often a steroid (dexamethasone or triamcinolone) is injected concurrently into the vitreous or subconjunctival at the conclusion of the procedure. This technique can often be performed with heavy sedation and is the least expensive option. Post-operatively, topical glaucoma therapy is tapered over 2-3 weeks, and treatment (both topical and oral) of the uveitis is slowly reduced.  Generally, a 1-month IOP recheck performed, and should occur approximately 1-2 weeks after discontinuation of all topical glaucoma drops.  The desired IOP is < 15 mmHg, but complete phthisis bulbi with IOP < 4 mmHg is not uncommon.  Long term, most dogs develop cataracts, however the cosmetic outcome is usually acceptable.  Complications include inadequate control of IOP, hyphema, uveitis, retinal detachment, and significant phthisis bulbi.  Long term medical requirements are generally low, and often consist of a lubricant gel or anti-inflammatory drop.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *